Jakestrong 5K Race Report

Date: June 1, 2013
Location: Powell, OH
Distance: 3.1 miles
Time: 33:15 (PR)
Gimmick: Jake is a kid that had (has?) cancer, so it’s a fundraiser for pediatric cancer and my former employer (the local children’s hospital)

My father-in-law came to visit and we both like to run 5Ks.  Friday morning I suggested we do one and he agreed, so we actually registered the day before the race at the local running store. It was surprisingly easy to do and we got our packets at the same time.  I’ll be honest, we picked this race because it was closer than the other option and Mandy was doing it.  Mostly because Mandy was doing it.  I’m such a wannabe.

The race started at 8, which made me happy because I didn’t have to get up at 5 AM, but I knew it would be hot.  We rolled the baby out of bed at 6:40, dressed her in her “See Mom Run” shirt, and were out the door before 7 so we could pick up my father-in-law and Starbucks (fact: coffee and a veggie breakfast sandwich will make you faster).  I am very familiar with the road we needed to take to the race, but I wasn’t so sure about the park, so I wanted to be early.

Do. Not. Like.  Also, you can see that she has three top teeth coming in.  The three matching bottom ones are already in.  The pediatrician says he’s never seen a baby who has all her teeth come in as pairs.

We found Mandy pretty much immediately after arriving and Mandy and I did a quick warm-up loop.  I don’t know pace or distance because I didn’t start my watch.  They are going to take my runner’s card away.  After the warm up we hit the port-a-potties (bleck) and lined up.  Our friend Lynne didn’t have a goal in mind, so she agreed to pace me to a sub-35 while Mandy and my father-in-law lined up further up since they are faster.  We were joined by Mandy’s husband with the stroller and Avery, and a friend of theirs who was running her first 5K.  You may recognize Lynne as Mandy’s running wife.  I’m a homewrecker and I’ve been trying to weasel in on this for months.  I keep telling Lynne just to let me know when she’s ready for a new spouse.

I swore I was going to stay with Mandy’s friend and go out slow.  That was a fail.  I meant to start at an 11:15ish because it was SO humid, but I got excited and took off with Lynne. This is nothing new for me.  I hate crowds and being passed tends to speed me up a little, even when it shouldn’t.  Mostly I just wanted some open space.

Must navigate around jogging stroller.  Also, that girl must have been DYING in that long sleeve shirt.  It was so humid.

Mile 1 was a 10:16.  It was too fast, because mile 2 was a 10:28.  I do tend towards mile 2 being my slowest mile anytime I’m not running with a pacer.  I have no idea why.  Mile 3 we got excited and Lynne was kind enough to share her water bottle with me, so I went back down to a 10:17.  The last 0.24 miles (ugh) was around a 9:38.  I assumed I ran the course long, but I heard a lot of complaints that it was 0.15 miles long, so I don’t know.  What’s the normal amount people run 5Ks over?  I try pretty hard to follow tangents, but it’s not an exact science when you are trying to run, especially around other people.

I believe this was right after we realized we could walk to the finish line and still be sub-35. There may have been a sweaty high 5.

I perk up for spectators. Especially really adorable ones.  I’m also really lucky that skirt didn’t fall off.  All of my clothing is HUGE.

I assume I left a prime lens on my camera and that’s why these are all so far away. Or my husband doesn’t know how to use my zoom lenses. Could be either.

There is absolutely no way I could have done this well without Lynne.  It was so hot and humid and she chatted with me the whole way.  I run much faster if I’m talking to someone that is running a faster speed because I want to keep up and keep talking to them.  She also rescued me with her water (time goals mean I’ve stopped using the water stops during 5Ks and I have a leaky handheld).

After talking to Mandy, I think my new goal is a sub-3o by the end of the year (she has offered to run it with me, which will help).  I’d say end of the summer, but my only other scheduled 5K is August 3 (it only costs $10) and I think it will be awfully hot.  I also don’t know how well measured the course will be because it’s local (but $10!).  I think I will speed up this summer because I’m training so much and hope to lose more weight (although I’m comforted by the noticeable increase in muscle mass this month).

In summation, I finally got my sub-35!  And it was awesome!

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Race Recap. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jakestrong 5K Race Report

  1. Nita says:

    Congrats! Glad you met your goal!

  2. Michael says:

    Congrats on a new PR!!! I so want a sub 30 5k and I know I have it in me…I just don’t know how hard I want to train on short distances to get there….I do love my half marathons, and well now I’m starting marathon training so probably no this year. Go for it girl!

  3. Holly says:

    Congrats girl!

  4. Mandy says:

    You will totally nail a sub-30. I can be a mean pacer if need be. Muwahahaha. Kidding! You’ll nail it without that and enjoy doing it. :)

    I smiled reading this. That’s blog success as far as I’m concerned.

  5. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    Wow! Fantastic job, especially for a humid day! That sub-30 is definitely in your reach… I’m excited to see you go after it!

  6. Terzah says:

    Catching up late! CONGRATS on your big PR and really sailing through that sub-35 threshold. You can get the sub-30, I know it.

    By the way, I’m just back from New Jersey and my hat’s off to all of you who regularly run in that humidity. Give me 5,000 feet of altitude any day!

  7. Army Amy says:

    A new PR! Yeay! Congrats! A speedy one at that. You look like and sound like you were having fun – the sign of a truly good race.

    I think sub-30 is realistic. You just have to keep working at it. But it wouldn’t surprise me considering the amount of working out you’ve been doing lately. As long as you don’t overdo it, I bet you can get that goal time.

Leave a Reply

