Weight Loss Wednesday 2.23–There’s lightning in my skull

Weight: 173.4 pounds (down 3.6 pounds this week, down 31.8 pounds total)
Waist: 32.25 inches (down 4.75 inches total)
Hips: 38.5 inches (down 6.5 inches total)

On diet:  I tried a little harder, but I think I actually ate more than I had been earlier this year.  I think my resting metabolism has gone up a bit and it might be time to increase my calorie goal for the day.  I’d really like to get my resting metabolic rate tested.  I’m either asking for that or a new lens for our anniversary.  Anyways, it’s so hard to say this week, because I should have gained weight with my period and I lost it (I was down to 172 yesterday when it started).  Maybe it’s because I was drinking so much water?  I’ve had a migraine since Monday, which I originally chalked up to dehydration.  Now I’m not sure.

On cross-training:
Thursday–Cardio kickboxing (confession: I hate this class.  I tried, but it’s too much choreography that we are supposed to already know.  And I look like I’m having a seizure.)
Friday–65 minute swim lesson/practice time
Saturday–4.5 miles for the MIT opener
Sunday–Rest.  I was gonna swim, but I’d worked out everyday since the previous Sunday.
Monday–Boot camp.  I missed the last 10 minutes so I could actually boot (that’s slang for vomit).  I could barely keep up the whole class because I felt so awful (I was lapping a lot of people the week before), so I kind of knew it was coming.
Tuesday–Rest
Today–Rest.  I can’t bend over at all without feeling like my head will explode.

Umm, well, this sucks.  I was feeling SO GOOD about my workout schedule and like I’d really gained some momentum.  And now I can barely sit up.  Oh, and my intercostals felt…bad, so I couldn’t take a deep breath (thus even swimming was out).  Generic Claritin and closing my windows seem to have fixed that problem right up.

Anyways, I’ve also been binge eating a bit.  I hate that I do that on my period, but my self control goes right out the window when I don’t feel well.  Add in the horrendous migraine and very few things sound edible (the ones that do are ridiculously bad for me).  I’m giving myself a break (lie, I’m struggling not to feel bad about the pizza I just demolished, but it’s time to get the fuck over it).  Everyone is entitled to a day off from worrying about diet and no one has to (or is) perfect all the time.  I won’t gain back 30 pounds or lose all my muscle because of three bad days.  I know it sounds like I’m forgiving myself, but it’s really easy to slip into disordered thinking when you have been on a weight loss plan  for a long time and have a terrible relationship with food.

Anyways, I’m debating going and demanding a Benedryl/phenergan IV.  It burns like the flames of hell, but it works instantly.  It will make me sleep for two days (the first time I had one I slumped over on my hospital tray), so I might disappear.  I actually once had a migraine for a month (it may have started as a TSA? No one seems to agree) and had two IVs (two weeks apart) before finally clearing it up when I started seeing my acupuncturist.  She is now quite far away, so that hasn’t been an option.  I’m also looking for a new neurologist (Columbus area friends, suggestions are welcome) because mine is crazy and my meds aren’t working at all (yes mom, even the Fioricet is doing nothing).  Actually, this headache feels much worse than normal, so I should find a doctor tomorrow.  I just don’t want to go to one I’ve never heard anything about and I my neurologic history is very long and complicated, so my PCP would just send me to a neuro.

So that’s that.  My husband is home (he’s been gone for basically the last three days), so I’m going to bed.  I’ll try to post pictures next week if my head stops hurting by then.  Pray for me, because being home alone with a teething baby for 14 hours a day is really hard when it hurts to move.  Also, metabolic testing (which should include VO2 max) or new lens?  I was leaning towards the new lens, but now I’m at a crossroads with my photography and can’t decide (photonerds, I really think I need to upgrade to a full-frame camera, but I’m not doing studio work.  Thoughts?)

Yup, totally crowdsourcing my decision making.  Head hurts too much for thinking.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Food, Training, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weight Loss Wednesday 2.23–There’s lightning in my skull

  1. April says:

    You poor thing. My migraines have been back with a vengeance the past couple of months, so I get you. Ice packs have been my bestest friends. I hope you feel better!!

  2. Mandy says:

    I really hope your migraine has eased…or the fact that we haven’t talked yet today means that you went for the IV and it will be better soon!

  3. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    You are exactly right- a binge on pizza is not going to undo all your hard work. I’m glad you’re learning to forgive yourself and move forward- binges happen. The important piece is learning how to think about them in a healthy way, not get rid of them forever… and ideally, they’ll happen less and less frequently. Congrats on the awesome weight loss!

  4. Kara says:

    I really wonder about my state in life when I’m jealous of you going to take a 2 day IV induced nap.

Leave a Reply

