Well, ok then

So, I kind of quit my job today. I’m employed through my PhD program, which means that I work for a laboratory doing research for my degree and they pay me a pittance and provide health insurance. I’m in the fourth year of a five year program, meaning I’ve been in my lab for almost 3 years and should be graduating in one. Unfortunately, due to a lot of circumstances, some being my fault, others not so much, my lab didn’t work out. I told my supervisor today that I felt like it was time to go our separate ways. The program is allowing me to find a new lab, but at this point I’m not sure I want to. The problem, of course, is that I’m the breadwinner and provide the health insurance for myself and my husband.

So what now? I can find a new lab. I can go to a new program (maybe an MHA?). I feel like the world is wide open and I’m scared out of my mind! The only thing I do know for sure is that I have a 7 mile run on Saturday, which should give me plenty of time to myself to think and plenty of friends to talk to about what to do next.

Change is incredibly scary. And hard. I just wish I knew what I wanted to do with my life. 25 seems really old and really young at the same time.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Grad School, Science. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Well, ok then

  1. Good for you girl! I wish I had the guts to make a major change like that! I’m in the same boat as far as making more money than my husband, so that definitely adds pressure.

  2. Pingback: 7 Links (Does this make anyone else think of sausage?) | Running On Words

Leave a Reply

