Some days even my lucky rocketship underpants won’t help

Today was rough.

You’ve been repeatedly introduced to my monster, Delilah.  Well, last night she got in to the trash, which we didn’t think anything of because Hubby Esq had taken it out that afternoon.  Well, Hubby Esq has an obsession with corn on the cob.  Like eats himself sick obsession.  It must be an Iowa thing.  Anyways, there were cobs in my trash can and Delilah must have eaten one.  It got stuck where her stomach meets her intestine.

After watching my poor, sick puppy vomit (and try to devour it, of course) all morning and look pathetic, we decided that husband would take her to the vet while I went to class.  He called me to let me know the x-rays looked bad and she’d be staying all day.

Sick Delilah

When I picked her up, the vet said the new x-ray looked much better and she might not need surgery in the morning.  We’ve chosen to bring her home for the night because the vet hospital isn’t staffed at night and I think she’s happier and safer with us.

I’ve also got a sick husband and we are still moving in 2 weeks.  Thank goodness I’ll have my 8 mile run on Saturday morning to clear my head.  I got to talk to M this morning on our run about infertility and the crazy thoughts and feelings it inspires.  I love the way you can connect with people on the trails.  I tend to open up to these people very easily because running that far, hard, and long together makes me feel so open and close to people.  That’s probably really weird.

Do you tell your fitness buddies all your deep dark secrets?  I hope it isn’t just me!

I’m going to go nurse this sore throat and pray it isn’t a bad cold or the flu.  Anyone have any advice for staving this off?

My "patients." Hopefully they survive my cruddy nursing.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Grad School. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some days even my lucky rocketship underpants won’t help

  1. Katy says:

    Awww, I hope you, your hubby, and your puppy feel better!!

  2. Rose says:

    I hope both your puppies feel better soon.

    I ran my first marathon with a guy who was in my broader circle of friends, but with whom I’d never had major one-on-one time until he expressed interest in running a marathon with me. Our long runs were filled with amazing conversations, and comfortable silences. He’s now one of my closer friends. Thank you running!

    I know in the past I have needed races to keep me motivated to continue to run. I don’t know how my motivation will go in the future, since I still have races on the horizon that I “have” to keep running to be prepared for. I’m hoping that once my race schedule is clear I’ll still have the get-up-and-go to get up and go, but only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

