8 mile monsoon

The weather this morning was bad.  Like pouring rain, can’t always see the car in front of you bad.  My perfectly appropriate response to this was to haul my butt out of bed and run 8 miles.  And I secretly kind of loved it!

One of my awesome trail friends, J1 (there are a lot of Js in our group), was really sick, but she still showed up, because she’s amazing and we ran the first 3 miles on the trail with our pace group before hitting a huge muddy mess.  The rest of the group decided to go through the swamp, but J1 and I are smart and decided to turn around and do our extra 2 miles through town so we didn’t get jungle rot on our feet.  I feel this was an excellent decision, although, my feet were soaked anyways, along with the rest of me.  My ponytail made a huge splash when I pulled it out.

I’m not gonna lie, there was totally hugging after we finished.  You can’t kick each other’s butts for 8 miles without hugs.

In other news, my devil dog seems to be pretty well recovered.  I was informed yesterday that there was a piece of metal visible in her stomach on the x-rays.  This was as I observed her trying to devour my bathroom counter.  I’m starting to think my dog has pica.  Or is terminally stupid.

Does anyone else get incredibly sore feet after a run?  The bottoms of my feet ache after anything over 5 miles, but they always feel better the next day.  Thoughts?

Today we are going to tour our new apartment and sign our new lease.  I’m really excited!  I’ll hopefully find the camera charger and be able to post pictures while we are packing.  I also kind of want to go check out the Arnold Expo, but I’m not sure I want to deal with crowds that big.  Also, if you look at the bodybuilders here, they are scary.  And their heads look photoshopped on.

Side note: yesterday at work (a children’s hospital), there were a ton of people in the lobby waiting to see Arnold, but he never came.  I was so disappointed cause I had all these fantasies of the grainy cell phone pictures I’d be able to post of him on here.  Bummer.

What are your plans for the rest of the weekend? Any one else have a long run?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 8 mile monsoon

  1. Katy says:

    That run sounds like SO. MUCH. FUN. But, I’m one of those weirdos who never grew up, and loves playing in the rain. I would probably gt blisters from wet socks, though. Haha!

  2. Natalie says:

    That sounds amazing. It rained here last Saturday and I loved it. I just stood in the grocery store parking lot and did sun salutations. Which probably made me look more than weird, but oh well!

  3. Sara says:

    Oh man! I was looking for someone to go to the Arnold with, and I didn’t end up going since I didn’t want to go fight crowds alone.

Leave a Reply

