Foot Pain and Injury Prevention

My feet are still in bad shape after yesterday.  Apparently running 8 miles with puddles in your shoes leads to some discomfort.  I think the bottoms of my feet might be chafed?  It’s kind of hard to tell.  Needless to say, I had a hot date with my foot spa and pumice stone today.  And of course, I flooded the bathroom with the foot spa, because I am totally the queen of graceful.

I have this horrible fear of getting plantar fasciitis after seeing my mom and hus

 

band suffer with it.  To that end, I have stopped wearing heels and other bad shoes (except my Uggs cause I refuse to have cold feet) and started babying them with such ridiculous products as the Foot Rubz Massager and the Step Stretch.  I think the Step Stretch is really helping with my calf cramps at least.

The other thing I’ve been using lately is Zensah Compression Sleeves.  These things are comfy as all get out (I sleep in them a lot) and supposedly help prevent shin splints.  I don’t know if they work, but my husband thinks they looks hilarious and I feel like my shins aren’t getting worse, which is a major plus.

You don't get a full body shot because I wasn't wearing pants (I hate pants, also, feel free to ignore the pile of clothes in the corner).

I’ve also tried KT Tape on my shins, which helped some, but my allergy to adhesive made it less than fun (if you want to try it, they have instructional videos here).  I suppose proper stretching is essential and I keep meaning to get a foam roller.

Any other suggestions for keep the dreaded shin splints and plantar faciitis at bay?  Do you have any lingering injuries?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Gear, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Foot Pain and Injury Prevention

  1. Ashley says:

    I think compression sleeves madeva huge difference with my shin splints! And religously icing them

Leave a Reply

