Mardi Gras Run

Monday was a fantastic Mardi Grad themed run at Fleet Feet Columbus.  We were given glow sticks, beads, and masks to wear and there was chocolate and champagne at the end.  The chocolate was divine, but I skipped the champagne due to having the alcohol tolerance of a teen girl at prom.  It was fun to get out and run with a few of my MIT friends, although, I will never be an evening runner.  The run was at 6:30 and I was starving and tired.

Hanging out at the store

Pre-run group photo

(Pictures shamelessly pilfered from the Fleet Feet Columbus facebook page)

After looking up the company that provided that chocolate (Le Chocoholique), I think I need to go there.  According to their list of flavors they have all kinds of chocolate covered stuff (chocolate covered gummy bears!) and a ton of flavors.  I got to sample a peanut butter cup type thing and a purple rose with hazelnuts (I think) inside.  I do believe I am in love.  Oh, and they are serving the same stuff after the half marathon in May.  Win!

Next up this week is figuring out our move, which has gotten complicated (I’ll explain in a later post) and seeing Bart Yasso speak before a 9 mile run on Saturday.   What do you all have coming up this week?  Anyone doing anything fun for Mardi Gras?

I am planning to attend an Ash Wednesday service at the hospital chapel tomorrow.  I don’t know how common it is for Protestants to go to services and do a Lent fast, but I have been for the past few years.  Now I have to figure out what to do for aforementioned fast.  Is anyone else out there giving something up for Lent?  What are you doing and how did you decide to do it?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mardi Gras Run

  1. Katy says:

    I don’t celebrate Lent, so I won’t be giving something up.

  2. Megan says:

    I am right in the middle of Mardi Gras partying, and I didn’t do a damn thing Mardi Gras related but eat a chunk of King Cake! (I hate parades!! Too many drunks on the roads.) I told myself it would be the last piece of King Cake for the season. That chocolate website looked amaaaazing. Wow.

  3. Michelle says:

    I’m giving up candy and twitter. And I’m already having withdrawals. Seriously. This is going to be a long 46 days!

  4. what a fun run!! i have such a hard time with evening runs as well. i’m not sure what to give up…i guess i better figure it out quickly!

Leave a Reply

