Lent and other fun stuff

Well, I made it to a 10 minute church service at the Childrens’ Hospital yesterday. We said a prayer, read a Bible verse, and I let some lady smear ashes on my forehead. Does anyone else feel guilty washing them off at the end of the day? I don’t want to go to bed with a dirty face, but I always feel like washing the ashes off goes against the purpose.

Anyways, I decided my fast his year will be cursing. Any time I accidentally break my fast, I will donate $0.25 ($1 if it involves taking the Lord’s name in vain) to Montaña de Luz in Honduras. Montana de Luz is an orphanage for HIV positive children that my church supports. I’d really like to go there someday as a volunteer, but it’s around$1000 for a week, so I can’t afford it yet.

For Lent I am also going to knit squares for Warm Up America. I like to knit when I watch TV or have nothing to do, so it should be easy to focus on more charitable efforts. I feel called this her to be more charitable and help people more.

Tonight I will be attending the Lady Gaga concert in town because a close friend from out of town has an extra ticket.  Lee Ann and I met in college and have been close ever since. She was even in my wedding. I’ll try to recap it tomorrow. Hopefully with good pictures!

Today’s run was a quick 2 miles with M. We couldn’t use the trail because it is badly flooded (it just keeps raining), but we had un running around town and catching up (I hadn’t seen her in a week). M is starting to look like she’s lost quite a bit of weight and I’m a little jealous.

I really want to get to know my readers! Please tell me something about yourself! Where are you from? What do you do for a living? What book do you love (I could use some suggestions)? I admit I got the idea to ask from almostrunner, but I sincerely want to know!

Posted from WordPress for Windows Phone

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lent and other fun stuff

  1. hey lady! gaga sounds so fun 🙂

    i’m from houston, tx (well, born in england, but i live here now) and i’m a personal assistant. most random/fun job ever! i love all graham greene books and i also love to read cookbooks 🙂

  2. i love your lent idea! what a great cause… hopefully you (don’t) get to donate a lot? haha

  3. Rose says:

    My favorite book series in the entire world is the Thursday Next series, by Jasper Fforde. Soooooooooo funny and interesting.

    And I LOVE flip flops. I could live in flip flops, but then I’d never get to wear my knee socks. hahahah.

Leave a Reply

