9 Miles with Bart Yasso

Ok, so I didn’t actually run 9 miles with Bart Yasso, but he did go out for a few with my running group. He passed my pace group on his way back and cheered at me since I was a little bit behins he group. For those who don’t know, Bart Yasso is the chief running officer of Runner’s World magazine and author of “My Life on the Run: The Wit, Wisdom, and Insights of a Road Racing Icon.” He’s also run on all 7 continents.

Before we went out for our long run, Yasso presented some pictures from some of his many runs and races.  We saw penguins and seals in Antarctica, rhinos in Africa (on the trail!), and a whole bunch of races in Africa and Asia.  It was very inspirational and made me a little teary (I cry easily one week a month).  I’m actually heading over to the running store in an hour to get my copy of his book signed (haven’t had a chance to read it yet).  I’ll try to get some pictures.

In other news, 9 miles completely kicked my butt.  I wanted to quit after 6, but powered through with the help of my group.  Once we were at 8.5, I kept telling myself that it couldn’t take me longer than 10 minutes and I can do anything for 10 minutes.  It worked and we finished right at 2 hours.  Then I accidentally drove home with my GPS still on.  My watch says I did 13 miles in 2 hours and 8 minutes and my max speed was 71 65 mph.  Oops!

One of my favorite things about MIT is the camaraderie.  Most of the time I feel like the faster runners are cheering for us slow newbies, which is a lot nicer than feeling like you are in their way.  Anyways, at the hydration station, a few of the fast marathoners talked to me about my bad post-long run headaches and went through some hydration tips.  It’s always nice to get advice from seasoned runners and they were so helpful.

Ok, I’ll be back tomorrow with pictures (I hope) of Bart Yasso and other fun stuff.  What are your plans for today?  Is it gorgeous where you are?  It’s 55 and sunny here.

Posted from WordPress for Windows Phone

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 9 Miles with Bart Yasso

  1. Katy says:

    Can’t wait for pictures!! 🙂

  2. Rose says:

    It’s wonderfully sunny and warm here.

    Max speed of 65mph. hahahahhahahaha

    The diet I’m on is called the SLow Carb Diet. For six days it’s no wheat, sugar, fruit, or potatoes. Day 7 is a free for all. I’m almost done with it, though. The point of the diet was to drop down to a lower weight before my ultramarathon, so I put less pressure on my joint.

  3. Sara says:

    I’m so bummed I didn’t get to actually RUN with you guys that day. I really didn’t like the killer cold! It was sooo cool to hear Yasso speak, though, and get to meet him! Did you read the book yet? I loved it!

Leave a Reply

