Bart Yasso and Daylight Savings Time

You guys, I loathe daylight savings time. Especially this stupid spring forward. I barely slept last night and felt like death when the husband tried to roll me out of bed at 6:30 for church. Needless to say, I fell back asleep until 11:30. Not an auspicious start to the day.

Anyways, Bart Yasso was awesome. I, of course, am a terrible blogger and completely forgot to take pictures. Can you ever forgive me? Anyways, armed with my copy of My Life on the Run: The Wit, Wisdom, and Insights of a Road Racing Icon I went with Lee Ann to Fleet Feet to get my book signed.

Fleet Feet was insane!  They are also in the midst of their anniversary sale, so the store was packed with people and I think the entire staff might have been there.  Lee Ann wanted to get fit for her first real pair of running shoes, so we were prepared to be there for a while.  While Lee Ann tried on her first few pairs of shoes, I went over and had Yasso sign my book.  We chatted briefly about my burning desire to go to Antarctica (he ran a race there) and he told me I need to go.

It was a nice conversation, but what really made it a memorable experience was when he was watching Lee Ann on the treadmill while she tested out the shoes she eventually bought (Asics Gel-DS 16).  He told her she had a “perfect, natural running stride.”  She then asked me about the nice, nosy fellow.  It took a number of people to convince her that Bart Yasso is A BIG DEAL and she should be extremely flattered that he likes her running.  Once she realized what “Runner’s World” is a few hours later she was quite excited.

Lee Ann (left) and I with our signed books

Lee Ann is super stoked to start running, unfortunately, she got a late start leaving her brother’s, so I didn’t get to see her before she headed home.  I’m not really sure when I’ll get to see her next, which is lame, but not uncommon in grad school.

So, next on the agenda is moving.  Apparently we actually will get our keys on Tuesday, which means we have to be out of our current apartment by the end of the month.  We currently have about 3 boxes packed.  My MIL is coming Thursday to see my husband’s moot court competition and help us move, so hopefully she can figure this mess out.  However, we haven’t explicitly talked about the TTC thing, so I might need to hide the bag of 100 pregnancy tests I got off of amazon.com (fine, I admit I’m a little crazy).  I also have a 4 mile trail race on Saturday.

What do you have planned this week?  When is your next race and how long is it?  How long do you run before you start worrying about gels?  I normally take them on runs over 5 miles, but I’m wondering if I’ll want one for this race.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Training, TTC. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bart Yasso and Daylight Savings Time

  1. Katy says:

    That’s so funny that your friend needed convincing that he was a big deal. It made me laugh.

  2. Rose says:

    Moving can be a great workout, with all the box lifting, and cleaning up afterward. Get to it!

    I think the Slow Carb Diet can be more dangerous is a person is still paying attention to how much they eat during the week. Part of it is not counting calories or trying to eat smaller amounts of food. It’s about eating when you’re hungry, just eat good stuff.

  3. sounds like fun! i don’t normally do gels unless i’m running more than a half marathon, but that could be awful!

  4. Awesome! So glad you were able to run with Bart!!

Leave a Reply

