Conquer the Creek 4 Mile Trail Run 2011 Race Report

Location: Delaware, OH
Distance: 4 miles (also a 6.5 mile option)
Time: 1:04:20
Gimmick: Messy, difficult trail run

Oh my gosh, you guys, this may have been the hardest run of my life! I believe, although I’m not certain, that we were actually running in a creek bed for part of this. We went through (freezing!) standing water and more mud than I have ever seen in my life! And I almost missed it!

We were running late this morning. I’m not going to rehash whose fault it is or how it happened, but I wanted to give myself plenty of time because packet pickup was only available at the race. Then we got lost. A lot. I was frantically calling M trying to figure out how to get there and to see if she could pick up my stuff so I could slap on a number and go. Luckily, we made it with 2 minutes to spare and M had my number. Unfortunately, I did not get to drink water or go to the restroom before we started like I’d planned on.

The first part of the race wasn’t so bad, just a quick 0.6 mile loop near the front of the trail that went right back past the start line.

Going back by the start line. Only 3.4 miles to go! I'm in the neon yellow/green and M is in the orange.

Then, the torture began.  I wish I had taken pictures during the race so you all could see how ridiculous this trail was.  It felt like we were constantly going uphill on mud so slick we were afraid of falling.  The ankle deep water could not be avoided, so we plowed through it.  On the last giant mud puddle, M said we were going to just plow through it and not stop running.  And then her shoe came off.  I laughed so hard it got me through the last half mile!  The last quarter mile or so had a few of the finishers cheering us on, which was awesome!

Finally approaching the finish line!

Crossing the finish line! M's kids gave us high-5s as we finished.

The aftermath

And the aftermath from the back

M and I enjoying our post-race bagels and coffee (I just now noticed that our race numbers don't match. Weird.

Now hopefully I can get my clothes at least somewhat clean.  I wore compression socks and my running shoes and still found a decent amount of mud between my toes.  I’m going to try washing my running shoes on cold and air drying, so hopefully they won’t die.

Overall, this was a fun race and I’m glad I did it, but I have no intention of doing it again next year.  It also felt very slapdash, but in a good way.  It was a small race with very little on the trail, but it was kind of fun because we weren’t overwhelmed by other people.  I will say that we felt like some of the least fit people there, so perhaps this is for more serious runners?  Either way, it was fun in the I-can’t-believe-we-are-doing-this sort of way.

Anyone else ever done a crazy trail run?  How’d you get your stuff clean?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Race Recap, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Conquer the Creek 4 Mile Trail Run 2011 Race Report

  1. Natalie says:

    That looks intense! But fun too. One of those things you can say that you tried — because the mud in your toes thing sounds a little off-putting!

  2. oh man…what a race!! congrats 🙂

  3. Kara says:

    I’ve never done a run THAT muddy! I am doing the Warrior Dash in May which is a mud fest 🙂

    Great job on finishing anyway!

  4. Sara says:

    As you know, I did THIS crazy trail run last year and the only thing harder was the Buckeye Classic trail run at High Banks (read: hills). This race was so much fun though! I put my shoes on gentle cycle in the washer and stuffed them with newspapers to dry. I’m sure you have yours cleaned by now though. Congrats on finishing this race (again!). Don’t you feel so HARD CORE? Because you are! 🙂

Leave a Reply

