Tired

Delilah says "hi."

That’s pretty much the position I’ve been in all day.  I did my 9 miles, which involved some serious whining for the last 0.25 because I just wanted to stop already.  Everyone says some days are harder than others, but I don’t feel like I have any easy days yet.  Either way, 9 miles try 2 down, 10 miles to go next Saturday.  April 9 I am doing the Dam Fool 5 Miler for my fallback week and the half marathon is in 6 weeks (gulp!).

I was lucky to have good company on the trail today.  I shaved a minute off of my last 9 mile time somehow.  I wouldn’t exactly say I finished strong, but J2 got me up the last bit (a massive hill) by telling me we were “almost there.”  Thank goodness for my training group.  I’d never finish without them.

My feet are at least slightly less achy this week.  I tried using Asics Gel Nimbus shoes for the extra cushion.  I found that at times they made my right achilles a little sore/numb and my feet definitely still hurt after, but they feel like they are recovering faster.  Unfortunately, my foot spa is back at the old apartment, so I’ll have to wait until later to use that.

In the meantime, we still need to be out of our old apartment by the end of the month and the new apartment is no where near set-up.  This is contributing to my exhaustion and complete lack of blogging.  Sorry, y’all, I want to update at least 3 times a week and I am failing right now.

In other news, part of the lack of blogging is due to the wrist pain I’ve had for 2 months.  The acupuncture was helping tremendously, although it started really hurting again today.  I saw a sports medicine doctor on Thursday and he told me it is due to inflammation of my TFCC.

Behold, the glorious TFCC

Basically, I did something to injure that red area and it causes shooting pain and numbness to shoot up my hand and little finger.  This makes typing a bit uncomfortable especially since rotating my wrist leads to pain.  Blah.  The good news is it won’t require surgery unless there is a tear (unlikely), but I may need an immobilizing brace and/or cortisone shot if it doesn’t get better soon.  On the plus side, it doesn’t technically affect my running, although I definitely feel it if I rotate my wrist for some reason while running.

Wow, I apologize for being so massively whining.  I have all of these single topic posts planned out, I just haven’t gotten to them yet.  I don’t feel like I can blog at work, so that slows down my posting.  Next week will be better, pinky promise!

What did you do this week?  Anyone else ever had a TFCC injury?  Any suggestions for post-run fatigue and sore feet?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Gear, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tired

  1. Kara says:

    I find that the best thing for post-run soreness is an ice bath. Yes, it sucks, but it works wonders, plus it’s great for injury prevention. It’s only 15 min of pain for a lot of gain!

    I hope your wrist feels better soon!

  2. sorry about the pain, that sucks. my feet get achy a lot too…no idea how to fix that!

    as far as going with the crv, we just loved how open it felt inside and the great price. i wanted something bigger and wanted a new car, but didn’t want to break the bank! we also looked at the ford escape and gmc terrain, but i liked the honda the best. i didn’t try out any toyota suv’s, but i’m sure they are all wonderful!!

  3. Ashley says:

    ouch wrist pain sounds awful! And yes I love my Garmin 305 and would highly recommend it. I got it in November and have used for every outdoor run since then. Def get it!!

Leave a Reply

