Ouchies

Yes, that is a drying rack in the background. I air dry my clothes in the bedroom as a ghetto style humidifier.

I went down hard a minute in to my run today. I landed on my right knee, which has been throbbing ever since. I also cut my right ankle and scraped my right hand and left knee. I limped home (my right knee is rather swollen) and took pictures for my favoritest internet friends before cleaning it with water and hydrogen peroxide. H2O2 definitely burns, but not nearly as badly as I remember it burning in elementary school.

Anyhow, below are my injury pictures. They are a little bloody, so you’ve been warned.

The bad knee

The other knee

Right ankle. I definitely ruined my sock.

Hand

Good thing I already had an appointment scheduled with the sports medicine/family practice doctor this week cause my knee is getting more and more swollen and painful.

Does anyone else find injury pictures endlessly fascinating?  This must be why I ended up a scientist.  Anyone else lose some training time to being clumsy?  I have the grace of an elephant.

Posted from WordPress for Windows Phone

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Medical, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ouchies

  1. ouch!!! i hate falling. hope nothing is too wrong with the knee.

  2. Kara says:

    I’ve done that more times than I want to admit. This is why I’ve banned myself from running on sidewalks 🙂

  3. amanda says:

    I hate falling when I run and haven’t fallen in several years. My mother in law, who is still jogging 3 miles/day at 70, swears that if you can teach yourself to roll when you fall while jogging, you won’t hurt yourself when you fall. So maybe next time you jog, you can practice that. Hope you feel better!

  4. Sara says:

    Oh my gosh! (Remember: NOT a stalker 😉 ) I didn’t even know this happened!! Yes, I am completely fascinated by injury photos. Get Well ASAP!! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Pretty Muddy 2012 Race Report | Running On Words

  6. Pingback: The Buckeye Classic 10K 2012 Race Report | Running On Words

  7. Daniela says:

    I’m so pleased I came by to read this today! I’m uncertain if I disagree with any of it actually .
    .. effectively said!

    I’ll enroll for your RSS feed and bookmark your site so I could come back to check out more. Thank you a lot!

  8. Pingback: Public shaming part deux | Running On Words

Leave a Reply

