A wedding, a baby and a funeral

A wedding to my ice pack that is.  I’ve lost feeling in my knee because I keep it so numb with ice ALL THE TIME.  I jacked up my PCL in that charming fall on Monday (my knee has no shape because it is so swollen).  I have a 5 mile race scheduled for Saturday, which may be a no go, but a girl can dream and pray, right?  I’m just hoping that by next Monday I’ll be able to run without my knee collapsing.

I saw my doctor yesterday, but they can’t tell me the extent of the damage because I can’t have an x-ray.  I had a positive-ish pregnancy test (there was a purple splotch) followed by a negative one (taken later in the day and thus potentially less accurate) and I’m late, so I need to go get some blood work done to see if there’s a baby cooking in there.  I have some early pregnancy symptoms, but they are most likely in my head, so I’m trying really hard not to get my hopes up, but you never know.

I’m putting on a funeral for my thyroid, may it rest in peace.  I finally got a prescription for Synthroid and I’m hoping it will make me feel better and solve some of these fertility issues.  I felt really energetic after I took it this morning, but now I just feel grumpy and tired.  I’m hoping my mood levels out and I start to have more energy and feel less cold all the time soon.  And thanks for all the supportive comments on my last infertility post.  It really means the world to me!

So, I don’t know how to swim and anything else is too hard on my knee.  How do you not lose your mind when you can’t exercise?

Please tell me all about your work-outs for today!  I need to live vicariously through all of you.

Sorry this post is lame, I’m swamped at work, but I don’t feel comfortable talking about it on the blog and all I do at home is ice and watch tv.  Hopefully I’ll be less boring in another week.  Also, I want to have a giveaway.  Suggestions for how to have one?  What would you want to get (that won’t empty my wallet)?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Medical, Training, TTC. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A wedding, a baby and a funeral

  1. MissZippy1 says:

    Wow–that’s lots going on! I hope your body gets it all worked out in the way you are hoping. Good luck with it.

  2. Jenn says:

    Oh no!! Take care and don’t worry about the 5, take your time to heal so you can make Cap City!!!!

  3. amanda says:

    Positive-ish!! Fingers crossed for you!

  4. Kara says:

    I love the way you just casually threw in the positive-ish pregnancy thing! I hope it’s really positive!!

  5. Sara says:

    Sarah! I didn’t know you had a blog!!! How awesome – I can’t wait to read it. I am so sorry to hear about your knee – it looks painful and I really really hope it gets better soon! I’m taking Synthroid (and have been since I was in high school). It took me a VERY long time to get on the right dosage (like years), but since I got a new doctor (I see an endocronologist now) and have it monitored every three months, I have never felt better in my life! I also don’t take a generic. Let me know how it goes.

    I will absolutely hang on to a training log for you – no problem!

    I hope you don’t think I am a stalker if I read your blog all day. Not that I’m at work and have nothing else to do! I love the title!!

    Sending you well wishes for a positive pregnancy. You’re in my thoughts!!

    My first giveaway was the training logs. I ordered one for myself and a few friends (they’re like 10 bucks) and asked the distributor if I could have one to give away on my blog – he ended up sending me a whole box! Maybe you could go to FF and get a copy of Yasso’s (signed!!) book. When I was in last week, they still had a lot of copies and that was a HUGE hit on my blog. Just a little idea for you!

  6. praying it’s positive!! also hoping that knee gets back to normal quickly.

    workouts: last night i taught a strengths/cardio intervals class, yoga tonight, hopefully a nice run tomorrow AM!

  7. Oh my gosh Sarah! I’m so sorry for your knee!! 😦 You have so much going on right now! I swear if I were you I would be an emotional basket case! You will be fine though. Just remember, injuries SUCK, but they heal. Take the time to appreciate how much you love to move and when you get back into it, it will be THAT much sweeter. I hope you get feeling better, and can’t wait to find out about the baby news!!
    Sending you all my positive vibes 🙂 xoxoxo

  8. amy f. says:

    Ohhh, Sarah! Hoping for a +++ test! You will love Synthroid! I’m glad you were finally diagnosed. Hope you knee feels better soon!

  9. Candice says:

    This post is so not lame. It is one of the reasons we blog!

    Sorry about your knee. I am not the person to ask about staying sane because even though I can workout, not being able to run is driving me crazy!

    Be sure to tell us the results of the bloodwork. I need to live vicariously through other people trying to get preggo so I resist the urge to do it again myself.

Leave a Reply

