Kiss my frostbitten butt

I’m definitely sitting on an ice pack as I write this.  Apparently my piriformis decided to throw a tantrum because my knees are changing my stride slightly.  Petulant little muscle.

My doctor, who is on his way to run Boston this week, told me it should be fine in a few days, but he can always do A.R.T. (active release therapy?) on it when he gets back from RUNNING THE FREAKING BOSTON MARATHON.  Have I mentioned my doctor is a total bad@ss?  I’m hoping things will clear up on their own (it’s getting better and I’m using stretching and a foam roller with the ice) and I can not go to his office for a fourth time in as many weeks because people are starting to recognize me.

It’s never good when your orthopedist recognizes you.  The one I saw in college accused me of being in an abusive relationship because he saw me so much.  Honestly, you guys, my husband is a total wimp (love you!), so I really am that friggin’ clumsy.  Although, he did totally break my toe that one time by running it over with a desk chair, but that was genuinely an accident.

Anywhoodle (this word will catch on if it kills me), I got a new toy yesterday.  I’ve been a T-Mobile customer for a billionty years (or 6, whatever), but they are being bought out by AT&T, which is the most expensive company considering the data caps.  I absolutely refuse to give up unlimited data, but Verizon will also be introducing data caps sometime this year.  You can, however, sign a contract now for unlimited data and keep it once the caps are put on.

Oh, hello!

Oh yeah, I sold out and totally bought an iPhone 4.  And I love it.  I would totally have it’s babies except for the whole being sterile thing.  I’m totally turning in to a Mac geek, but I promise not to get all high and mighty about my Apple products.  I picked iOS over Android because I wanted to stream Netflix and Hulu Plus and because then my husband could have my iTouch, which he so desperately wanted.  For the record, I will not be using my iPhone during running.  Mostly cause it is heavy and made of glass.  And as we previously established, I am super clumsy and like to throw myself down the stairs when I run.

Also on my list of happy things:

Oh Starbucks, how I love to earn free drinks with purchases of tea and then redeem them for super biggie lattes.

I’m slightly ashamed of that.  Mostly because last week the barista thanked me for always being pleasant, which means they are starting to recognize me.  I am a consumer whore!

And now to finish my Dairy Queen cupcake from last night (it was 80 degrees and I wanted ice cream).

It's basically a personal sized ice cream cake. Amazing!

What’s your favorite frozen dessert?  Anyone else made any exciting purchases recently?  What kind of phone do you use?  Any advice for piriformis issues?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Medical, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Kiss my frostbitten butt

  1. Jenn says:

    I am SO getting one of those cupcakes 🙂

  2. Deanna says:

    aw I hope you feel better! ps I love anywhoodle 🙂

  3. amanda says:

    My favorite dessert is my peanut butter pie. Email me if you want the recipe. Your mouth might have a big O from the deliciousness of it.

    And, I got an Iphone 4 today too!

  4. Sara says:

    I have an Android. I hate it. It makes me angry. Just like my computer. And blogger sometimes. All are slow and like to freeze up. I love those Snicker’s Ice Cream Bars. I think I could literally eat a box all at once.

    Keep icing! I hope you feel better soon. Don’t worry – what is really creepy is when you run into fellow MITers at the doctor’s office, but don’t recognize them because they are dressed normally! I think he sees half our pace team as it – you fit right in!

    P.S. Did I mention I love your blog? IT CRACKS ME UP!!

    • So I’ve definitely stared REALLY HARD at a few people trying to figure out if I recognize them. I’m such a creeper! Also, I can’t recognize Dr. Bright outside of his office, so I know he’s at MIT, but I can’t tell which gazelle he is. Probably because he’s moving so fast.

      Thanks for telling me how much you like my blog. It’s definitely encouraging me to write more! =)

  5. i love my iphone4! i swore i would never give in, but it felt so good once i did 🙂

    i’ll eat any frozen dessert, but i’m trying to be good and convince myself frozen blueberries are as tasty as icecream. my taste buds aren’t buying it yet…

  6. Kara says:

    Whoa….hold the phone. DQ has CUPCAKES?? Why didn’t I know about this? This is what I get for living 2 hours from a DQ.

    I love having a doctor that runs, it makes them better docs for those of us with running injuries!

  7. Sara F says:

    I am jealous of your new phone! I think I will end up with one once I finally get rid of my 3-year old phone.

    This post makes me happy. I have 2 Sbux free coupons to use, which I am saving for when I can have coffee again in a week and a half.

    Yes, I totally decided to start stalking your blog, and I think it is fabulous!

    I hope your butt feels better soon.

Leave a Reply

