I’m not an addict, I can quit any time I want to.

LIES!  I totally went for a run this morning even though I knew I shouldn’t.  I stopped at 1.8 miles because my hip was locking up and then went home and foam rolled the crap out of myself.  Umm, you guys, why did none of you mention that foam rolling your IT Band HURTS LIKE THE FIRE OF FRIGGIN’ HADES!?  I’m still sore from that and I think I woke the neighbors with my yelling.  For the record, the side of my leg is still achy.

WHY IS THIS WOMAN SMILING? I want to slap her.

I suspect my IT Bands are tight and thus probably causing some of my problems.  I don’t think it’s supposed to hurt quite that much to foam roll them consider it didn’t hurt at all when I did my hamstrings, glutes, and piriformis.  Please tell me this is one of those things that will hurt less the more I do it.

I tried to take an Epsom Salt soak post foam rolling, but Delilah decided I needed company.  It’s garbage day and she thinks the safest place to hide from the garbage truck is in my bath with me.  I wish I had pictures, but no electronics near water and I was butt naked.

In awesome news, my morning running buddy texted me this morning to say her IT Band injury is feeling a lot better and she wants to meet Thursday at 5:30 AM.  YAY!  4 miles is so much better with a friend and I miss our morning talks.  I hope I grow up to be at least half as put together and savvy as her.

On a beyond unrelated note (have you guys started picking up on my ADHD?  If you think I have trouble staying on topic when I write, you should meet me in real life), our house seems to be infested with ticks.  Yes, ticks.  I have found multiple tick looking bugs crawling around in our bedroom.  I suspect a puggle brought one in and it laid eggs.  The exterminator is coming on Monday, but I might die of being completely grossed out between now and then.

Like this, but way less cuddly. I collect Giant Microbes, so if someone wants to buy this for me I'll totally be your best friend forever.

Ok, so I finally got my lady doctor (not hot Boston doctor) to talk to me.  She said she would give me Provera to start a cycle, which Provera sucks nards.  Last time I took it I threatened to divorce my husband every day and then bled so long and hard that I almost went to the hospital.  That’s not really gonna work for me.  The lady doc said she would give me Prometrium, which some patients tolerate better and then we talked about Clomid.

I’m terrified of Clomid.  My friend Sara (hey, boo!) had a friend who ended up pregnant with quintuplets when she took Clomid.  Obviously every case is different, but it still makes me nervous.  Also, they will only do 3 cycles of Clomid and then we have to move on to more invasive measures.  That’s right, only 3 chances to get it right.  Anywhoodle (I will not stop until someone uses anywhoodle in their blog), we decided to wait until my TSH (thyroid stimulating hormone) is at an ideal level to give things the best chance of working.  I was actually pretty satisfied with this visit and felt like I know what  my options are.  I’ll let you all know once I’m ready to start Clomid.  Maybe not until I get a date set for my dissertation defense just in case I end up with twins.

On a final note, since I’m teaching some of you about wonderful food (I know you are all happier after learning that DQ has cupcakes), Trader Joe’s Bananas and Cream yogurt tastes like happiness.  I have bad food allergies, which includes a lot of fruit, so a lot of the time I’m stuck eating plain yogurt, which tastes like sour milk.  I can eat bananas, so I figured I’d try the TJ’s stuff in hopes of shaking it up a little.  Consider my yogurt world successfully rocked!  Now to stop myself from eating 6 of them and calling it a meal.

Oh, fyi, I’m changing the title to “Running on Words.”  I think we can all admit “Running Towards the Future” was beyond lame.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Food, Medical, Training, TTC. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m not an addict, I can quit any time I want to.

  1. Ashley says:

    Yes rolling your IT band hurts! Typically it hurts more then any other part of the leg, even with no injuries. But if it is so painful you want to cry then you probably have overly tight IT bands. For sure keep rolling it is one of the only ways to get it to improve! And take your rest days! Running 1.8 painful miles is not going to be helpful if you are injured.

  2. amanda says:

    You should try the plain yogurt with lots of honey. Yum!

  3. Kara says:

    Everyone told me that foam rolling was painful, so maybe I had big expectations, but I thought it wasn’t bad (which probably means I wasn’t doing it right :P)

    I like “running on words” better!

  4. ahhh, foam roller hurts so bad!

    jealous of your early AM running buddy. i keep trying to find someone to run with me at 5am. no luck! want to move to TX and be my buddy?!

  5. Sara says:

    Just like I can quit reading your blog anytime I want to, right? Something about ACTUALLY knowing you just makes your blog so much more fun!!

  6. Sara says:

    p.s. – I LOVE the title!!! It’s perfect!

Leave a Reply

