Bleeding Heart Alert!

Umm, you guys, I was totally gonna do a book review or some other kind of actually useful post, but on our way back from Marshall’s we found this:

20110415-082204.jpg

20110415-082230.jpg

20110415-082244.jpg

Chester (we think he kinda looks like Chester A. Arthur.  It’s the wicked scowl, although in retrospect, Wilford would have been an even better choice), is disease free and in the process of being wormed.  He’s living in my 2 car garage that is currently devoid of cars so he has room.  My dogs and cat, however, are going to murder me in my sleep if I don’t get him out of here soon.

Side note: I have tried to name the last 3 cats General Tso or Chicken and my husband absolutely won’t go for it.  I am inappropriate.

We found him under my car (I left it parked outside of the garage because we don’t have an automatic opener and I’m lazy).  We got him out by knocking on the hood, but instead of bolting he walked right up and started nuzzling our legs.  He climbed right in the cat carrier for us, although he regretted that once we started driving to the vet.

The bad news is none of the no-kill shelters will help us.  I’m not really sure how none of them ever have room, but whatever.  Anywhoodle (ha!  2 people used it in internet correspondence today and I love them the most.  Thanks, Judi and Jenn!), any advice on placing this little guy or information for foster homes would be greatly appreciated.  I’m kind of in love and I CANNOT have another pet.  Especially since we think Chester is the one that tried to eat Pitch (our cat) when we moved in a few weeks ago.

Any one else have a stray animal problem?  What would you do with him if you were me?  What’s the stupidest/awesomest pet name you’ve ever heard?

Thankfully, my husband is completely used to my strays and was extremely supportive.  I don’t think a whole lot of other men would put up with my shenanigans, so it’s a good thing I locked him down before he wised up.  Sucker.

Now we watch Community (best comedy on tv!) and go to bed.  I’ve taped my entire hip up with KT Tape in hopes of making my 11 miler tomorrow.  We’ll see what happens.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Marriage, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bleeding Heart Alert!

  1. Judi says:

    Ok, so does the tape work? I’ve never heard of taping a hip!!

  2. Kara says:

    Um, I kinda love you for taking care of that poor cat! My husband does NOT understand my desire to do stuff like that. I’d try to see if any of my facebook people/friends want a cat, but other than that, I’d keep him.

    I think my dog’s name (Peanut) is pretty ridiculous. Everyone always asks “why?” and I try to explain how it made sense when she was a puppy.

  3. Mandy says:

    I love that I am not the only one that collects strays. If I didn’t already have 1 dog and 2 cats (that my husband said no to initially – LOL), I’d help you out. I’ll ask around to see if anyone else needs a Chester cat. 🙂

    Favorite pet name? I had a hamster named Fido. I do think General Tso would be hilarious. 🙂

  4. Mandy says:

    OH! Even better – I just saw a friend’s cat is named Toaster. Love it.

  5. Sara says:

    I LOVE HIM!!!! I can’t have him! 😦 My husband would murder ME. He is deathly allergic to cats and we already have two dogs.

    I also have a problem with strays, as in, I bring them all home. Do any of your friends want a kitty? I bet you have already tried that, though! I’ll ask around too.

    P.S. – GREAT JOB on your 11-miler! You ROCK!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

