Getting serious for a hot second

I have developed a strange new coping mechanism.

When bad things happen, I got to MIT.

The obvious answer to snow is to run half naked. Obviously.

A few months ago when Aunt Martha died, I went to MIT as soon as I got off the phone with my dad.

Yesterday, I had an injured-ish hip and was having what appears to have been a miscarriage causing extreme fatigue and I went to MIT.  Does this mean bad things happen on MIT day?  I’m starting to think we are mildly cursed.

ANYWAYS, that’s all neither here nor there, but something in the last few months has completely changed in my crazy little head.  I now cope by running.

My old coping mechanism was screaming, crying, lashing out, and one time a bottle of pills.  I was also a fan of drinking it off, which only ever made everything worse because I was still depressed and I had a hangover.  Alcohol did not and never will be able to solve my problems.  Unless my problem is my face isn’t purple enough.

If someone had told me a year ago that I would have been able to go off antidepressants for 9 months and not lose my mind I would never have believed them.  The thing is, running for me has been a total lifestyle change.  I sleep 8 hours (need to get up at 5 to get my run in), I eat vegetables (need some fuel), and I exercise consistently (duh).  And, honestly, hanging out with my running friends makes me laugh.  A lot.  And everyone says laughter is the best medicine, right?

Anywhoodle, yesterday was 11 miles of pure torture.  I was tired and terrified of hurting myself, but I did it and I actually felt a lot better than normal afterward (probably the giant dose of Aleeve).  Julie finished first, so she kept running for an extra 0.05 with me and then we both did another 0.05 with Jenn(iffer) so she could finish.  The best part was waiting at the top of the hill for Keri (who does not have a Garmin, so I think she was counting on us to tell her when to finish) and getting to cheer and holler for her.  Being a cheerleader is fun.  Seriously, next time you finish before someone else, go cheer them on.  You’ll love it, I promise!

The hip felt good yesterday (I left it taped and iced like a fiend).  Today, I’m incredibly stiff in my everything, but especially my blasted left IT band.  Stretching and foam rolling will commence this afternoon after we go buy me some new pants.  That’s right, it’s new pants time!  My old ones are falling off and sprouting a crotch hole (crotch holes are evil!), so I gotta buy some jeans, presumably a size smaller.  Thanks, Synthroid!

Chester is still living in my garage and we just de-ticked him (what the heck is it with me and friggin ticks!?).  He’s lovely and the fact that we have possibly found him a foster home really upset me.  I kind of assumed we’d have to keep him, although we really don’t have room for him.  Still, he loves to rub his head all over my legs and arms when I’m stretching.

So tell me, dear readers, how do you cope with life?  What did you do this weekend?  More importantly, would you run dressed like that guy up there?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Medical, Training, TTC. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Getting serious for a hot second

  1. Judi says:

    I daresay I was there for this epiphany of using MIT to cope with life. I did a variety of things in my life, before running, to cope with life….some good, some eh, some bad. Running, by far, has been the soundest. I think I just like getting out there….the rhythmic pounding seems to either allow me to think through what I need to think through or completely mesmerize myself into calmer place.

    For me, running saved my sanity going through the last year or so of my life. I don’t want to think about where I’d be without it. Despite the injuries, it’s so positive in so many ways.

  2. Kara says:

    Congrats on doing 11 miles! That’s no small feat. 🙂

    Running is my drug too, or just working out in general. I don’t feel normal if I haven’t broken a sweat. 😛

  3. Sara F says:

    So proud of you and your 11 miles! That’s awesome. I learned how to kill people with Krav Maga yesterday. It was an amazing workout too!

    Also, I am glad that you have found something to help you cope with life. Mine is yoga, and it is way better than the alternative! Can’t wait for Warrior Dash.

  4. that picture is just nuts!

    way to go on the 11 miles and yeah for new pants!! fun day 🙂

    we got new furniture this weekend! that was the highlight 🙂

  5. Mandy says:

    HAHAHA! I think I like the caption on the photo best of all.

    It’s amazing how much MIT/running and good friends can help us cope with, isn’t it? HUGS for you for having to go through things that made you need it. I’m glad you had MIT and running to help you cope.

    My lowest point in my life – I turned to animals. LOL. I think my husband has officially tried to put the “no more pets” stamp on our life at this point though. 🙂
    Running is definitely a great way to cope – running and laughing with friends.

  6. oh my goodness, we are twins! my husband just got a job after looking for a year… hang in there! it will work out!

  7. Pingback: If You Believe That Blankets Keep You Warm… [Starts With A Bang] | Digital Brain ; Science and Technology News

Leave a Reply

