In your cupboardz, eatin’ your Peepz

Today was a perfect running day.  I met M at 5:30 despite being sleepy and it being windy as all get out.  The thing is, it wasn’t the “perfect” weather or trail conditions (huge storm meant downed branches EVERYWHERE), it was just the perfect state of mind.

We met for 5 miles, and I’ll admit I was absolutely exhausted at the half way point, but we kept going.  I took a Gu at 2.5 miles and I think that probably did make a huge difference.  Anyways, we got to watch the sun rise over the lake that is right off the trail.  Gorgeous.  We also just talked.  She told me about her stuff and I told her about mine and I think we both felt better getting stuff off our chests.

The best part was the last quarter mile hill that normally KILLS me.  Last 5 miler we went back out on the trail rather than run up the stupid thing.  Today it felt almost effortless.  Definitely easy.  Between my super speed yesterday and my hill awesomeness today, I feel like a real runner, not just a nerd dressing up in tech clothing.  Too bad I’m tapering and only have 5 more runs before the big half!

Did I mention I’m going to have a giveaway for my half?  I am, but I can’t tell you what it is because I haven’t bought anything yet!  I am so not on the ball these days.  Work is kicking me in the teeth and I have a secret.

Too bad I can’t keep a secret to save my life!

I have tickets to see this fine man tomorrow night

Yup, totally spent a boatload on John Stewart tickets as a surprise graduation gift for my husband.  The man loves The Daily Show and he has absolutely no idea that John Stewart is going to be in town.  Somehow I’ve managed to not ruin the surprise for over a month.  He knows we are going to dinner at a restaurant of his choice and then “picking up his gift” downtown tomorrow night.  I’m really excited, although kind of dreading how tired I will be on Saturday morning for my six miler.

In other news, I may have fed my dogs pink peeps.  I stuck one in my mouth before realizing they taste like suck, so I spit it out and fed it to the dogs.  Mature, I know.  But the photo opportunities were priceless!

Feed Me NOW!

Om Nom Nom (the hot pink is peep, not his tongue)

What is it?

I'ma cut you if you touch ma Peep

I win!

Sorry guys, I really have nothing today, so dog pictures it is.  I’m just in a horrid mood because work sucked and rush hour made me stabby.  I may have screamed in frustration on the way to acupuncture because NO ONE WILL LET YOU IN TO A LANE IN THIS G-D FORSAKEN PLACE.  Whew, now I feel a little better.

So, what constitutes your perfect run?  Anyone ever seen John Stewart live?  What stupid crap have you fed your dogs?  Before we all judge me for being a terrible dog owner, I would like to point out that I caught Rufus eating cat poop this morning and they both eat styrofoam out of the garbage if I don’t pay attention.  I guess a better question is what is the weirdest thing your dog has ever eaten?

Also, Google Reader has been down for an hour, so I may not get to read your blogs tonight.  This is pretty much the saddest thing ever.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Marriage, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In your cupboardz, eatin’ your Peepz

  1. Kara says:

    Confession: I think John Stewart is kinda dreamy. I’m mucho jealous of you right now.

    My dog eats rocks, tree branches, anything the baby drops, grass, her own tail, but god forbid she eats a baby carrot I drop. No, that’d be helpful. Damn dog.

    🙂

  2. ooo, i bet the show will be awesome! fun, fun, fun.

    enjoy your weekend!

  3. pawsitivelife says:

    I think every day should be dog picture day (in case you couldnt tell from my blog). The craziest thing my dog ate was a wicker basket which resulted in an emergency vet visit. She also ate my prescription (the paper not the pill) for medicine I sat for 4 hours in a walkin clinic for. Almost had a boston terrier shaped rug that night

  4. kunde says:

    Lots of fantastic reading here, thanks! I had been browsing on yahoo when I discovered your publish, I’m going to add your feed to Google Reader, I look forward to a lot more from you.

  5. Katy says:

    My favorite runs are with friends. I always run faster and the miles don’t seem as awful. I am loving the peeps pictures. I have NEVER likes Peeps (and since I usually love anything made of pure sugar, this is odd…) and don’t get the fascination everyone seems to have with them! Haha.

Leave a Reply

