I don’t trust anyone in a sweater vest

Quote from Jon Stewart regarding the local football coach who is enmeshed in a rather public scandal.

I agree, Mr. Stewart.

OMG, I love Jon Stewart! He was hilarious and I laughed so hard I almost peed. No, really, one should always use the restroom before a stand-up show. I was miserable trying not to wet myself. Stupid full bladder.

Wow, this blog has turned in to the TMI zone. I am awesome.

Anywhoodle, our afternoon/evening went something like this:

School for the Deaf Topiary Garden. Yay, spring!

This is what the topiary garden is supposed to look like. Ya know, except real life instead of blurry impressionist watercolors.

Pet monkey! I've been begging for a helper monkey for years, but my husband swears it would bite my fingers off and eat my face like lunch meat. He's special.

After the topiary garden, we headed to a retaurant we had never been to called Tip-Top.  It was basically hipster gourmet food and absolutely delicious!  I wolfed down a plate of the Greek pasta and drank something called Commit to be Lit, which was basically a sherbet flavored drink (sherbet is spelled very strangely.  Thanks spell check!).  Finally it was time to head to the theater for Jon Stewart!

And then we waited.  People seemed a little confused by the idea of butts in your seats by 7:30.  Sheesh.

20110430-084440.jpg

C'mon, Jon, I'm getting bored waiting!

20110430-084446.jpg

We are that couple that cannot both look normal in a picture. The last nice picture I have of us is from our wedding almost FOUR YEARS AGO. Ridiculous.

20110430-084457.jpg

I have no memory of taking this? I found it on my camera roll just now and recognize the ceiling of the theater. WTF?

I may have also photobombed someone who was being particularly annoying with the flash and self portraits. She had it coming. And I was gonna be in the picture either way, so I felt entitled to making strange faces. I just wish I had a copy.

So yeah, Jon Stewart is phenomenal. I was worried it would be too political (politics are kind of not my thing. They make me stabby and sad), but he had plenty of hilarious material about computers and his kids. He also does a fantastic Barack Obama impression. I would try to tell you some of the jokes, but they require facial expression and gestures to really be funny.

Oh, and the best news of the night?

Yahtzee! I cannot wait to see this with K and Sara

Today was a quick (hahahaha, I never imagined I would say quick about any run over 2 miles) 6 miler, followed by trying to eat everything in sight all day. I had a blast with Sara W and accidentally made her laugh so hard she couldn’t keep running. I don’t know my own strength sometimes. You guys should go check her out if you don’t already read her blog. She’s awesome and about to kick the city of Pittsburgh square in the teeth when she kills the marathon! Also, I never imagined that 6 miles would feel nice and easy. Ridiculous.

So, tomorrow kicks off my Half Marathon Extravaganza! I officially had my first race nightmare last night (it was too weird to even attempt to type up). I’ll be posting a giveaway tomorrow that will run through Saturday and I have guest posts scheduled for just about every day this week (hopefully it will be every day). I’m really excited, so I hope you will all stick around, even if you’ve already run a million half marathons.

What’d you do so far this weekend? Who is your favorite person to run with and why? Anything you think I should throw in to my giveaway gift bag? Do you like seeing guest posts on blogs? Have you seen The Evil Dead Musical?  Tell me all your secrets so we can be bff!

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Friends, Marriage, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I don’t trust anyone in a sweater vest

  1. Kara says:

    My favorite person to run with is my neighbor. She’ll bitch and moan the whole time about how out of shape she is, but she’s running my pace AND talking, so yeah….. 🙂

    Whatever goes in your giveaway bag, I hope it’s sugary. Really, I tend to mostly enter giveaways for candy and cookies.

    Guest posts are fun, especially well written ones 😉

  2. pawsitivelife says:

    I am trying to teach my dog to run with me otherwise I jog alone :(, but that means I can take a ton of breaks

  3. thank you for stopping by my blog! Your comment was seriously my favorite of the day. I cracked up!

    My favorite person to run with his my husband. I don’t really know any other runners other than my dog (and she taps out after two miles!).

  4. I am so glad I found your blog! BUT – no one in a sweater vest? What about Mike Ditka? Sorry, Bears fan here. 🙂

    My favorite running partner is my mom. Otherwise, I prefer to run with my iPod.

  5. Sara says:

    Cracking me UP!

  6. I hope you had a blast running your half!! I can’t wait for the details.

    And as always, you are HILARIOUS.

Leave a Reply

