GIVEAWAY! Half Marathon Madness!

Hey guys!

While I was out shopping I also picked up my Kate MIddleton hat for my cousin's wedding in 2 weeks. Loving it!

So, I’m gonna get a sweet medal on Saturday for finishing my half marathon, which means you all are going to get the chance to win some sweet swag!  Seems fair, right?

First though, some facts about half marathons:

1. 1.4 million people finished half marathons in 2010, up from 1.1 in 2009
2. 59% of finishers in 2010 were women, up from 49% in 2004
3. The average age of finishers in 2010 was 35.7 (women) and 38.7 (men)
4. A half marathon is 13.1 miles (21.1 km). I’m assuming you all knew this already, but someone asked me the other day
5. The current half marathon world record for men was set 3/21/2010 by Zersenay Tadese (Eritrea) who ran it in 58:22
6. The current half marathon world record for women was set 2/18/11 by Mary Keitany (Kenya) who ran it in 65:50

Facts 1-3 taken from Running USA. Facts 4-5 taken from Wikipedia, which is a totally legit source when I’m feeling lazy.

Ok, ok, on to the good stuff!

The whole shebang

Close up of the nutrition stuff

Body Glide. Best stuff EVER!

Foot Rubz feels amazing on tired feet. I also sometimes make my husband rub it on my back because I am weird awesome.

You know you wanna be twinsies (I'm wearing my own pair, don't worry, you get a new unworn pair)!

So to summarize, you get:

1. A 14 oz bag of Starbursts
2. A medium size bag of peanut butter M&M’s
3. A 30 gram packet of Jay Rob Whey Protein powder in chocolate
4. A packet of PowerBar Energy Gel Blast chews in raspberry
5. A packet of Gu electrolyte Brew in lemon lime flavor
6. A packet of Gu Chomps in strawberry (with caffeine)
7. A Gu Roctane gel in pineapple
8. 2 Hammer gels, one in orange and one in apple-cinnamon (it tastes like apple pie filling)
9. A small Body Glide anti-chafe stick
10. A Foot Rubz ball
11. A pair of blue Asics arm warmers

To win, you have to be a follower.  I don’t care how you follow, just tell me your method in a comment (1 entry).

You can also leave a separate comment for each of the following entry methods:

1. Tweet about this giveaway (makes sure to include @runningonwords so I see it, 1 entry)
2.  Blog about this giveaway (1 entry)
3. Follow me on Twitter (@runningonwords, 1 entry)
4. Tell me which item you are most excited about and why (1 entry)

I’ll also post various bonus entry methods throughout the week, so keep your eyes peeled (off topic, but is that not one of the creepiest phrases ever?). My first guest post of the week will go up tomorrow morning.

Winner will be announced on Saturday, May 7 as soon as I have the energy to open my laptop.  Entries can be added until 8 AM EST May 7.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Gear, Giveaway. Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to GIVEAWAY! Half Marathon Madness!

  1. Brian says:

    hahaha and I entered before Kara did. I’m totally gonna win it and she won’t get any of the candy.
    I’m most interested in the Gu. 🙂

  2. Deb says:

    1. I tweeted
    2. Getting there – quit pressuring me!!!!! (j/king, but I do plan on blogging this week…)
    3. I already follow you on twitter
    4. I’m very excited about the blue arm warmers because they’re blue and they’re arm warmers!

  3. AMAZING GIVEAWAY!! I am most excited for the starburst:)

  4. Following you via subscription!!! SO EXCITED I BETTER WIN:)

  5. Kara says:

    I follow/stalk you via google reader already 🙂

  6. Kara says:

    I already follow you on Twitter (we’re tweeps, right?)

  7. Kara says:

    I thought I’d be the most excited for the candy, but now I really want arm warmers. All the hardcore serious runner people have them and I wanna pretend to be like them!

  8. amy f. says:

    I love your blog! (brownie points, right?!!) I follow you on google reader. I don’t have twitter 😦 or a blog 😦
    I love the blue arm warmers and they would totally complete my outfit as “The Blue Blur!”

  9. Oooh so fun… following you thru wordpress (but mainly because I like your blog)! 🙂

  10. Katy says:

    I’m a follower! I have you in my reader thing on my Blogger dashboard. (I know that sounds super high-tech. Reader thing.)

  11. Katy says:

    I am following you on Twitter!

  12. Katy says:

    I think I’m most excited about the arm warmers! I’ve never had any, but always been curious about them! Plus my half-marathon is in January…. and I might need them! Haha!

  13. Sara F. says:

    I am most excited about being Twinsies!!!!!!! Yay arm warmers. And all the rest of the stuff is the bizzomb, I must say.

  14. Sara F. says:

    Also, I love the hat!

  15. amanda says:

    I’m subscribed through wordpress. I’m most excited about the arm warmers!

  16. Oh crap I never commented as to which one I was most excited about! I’m excited about the starburts. MMMM…

  17. Sara says:

    I follow you on blogger! (Is that right?)

  18. Sara says:

    I blogged about your awesomeness!

  19. Sara says:

    I like the arm warmers too – and I think I would give them to the Blue Blur because she NEEDS THEM! 🙂

  20. Elle says:

    I just subscribed to your RSS post feeds. Will follow you there.

  21. Elle says:

    I am pretty stoked about the M&Ms. but what I really need is the Foot Rubz. Awesome.

  22. Elle says:

    I am putting a link to your giveaway post in my blog sidebar.

  23. Elle says:

    And have a wonderful race, too.!!

  24. Judi W. says:

    1) I tweeted about you
    2) I follow you on twitter (and in that non-specific beige car that is always two back from you, but don’t worry about that…I’m not remotely dangerous….just interested. Yeah, we’ll go with that…interested)
    3) I blogged about you (and, yes, I sent you the blog address, so feel WAY loved because I’d only do that for you).
    4) I’m digging the Starburst and M&M’s because what’s not too love about those? You got your fruits and nuts (or legumes, as the case may be)….and i’m thinking that pineapple gel is going to be a little summer party for me!!!

  25. Pingback: How to Half: Sam from fitness food and faith | Running On Words

  26. i’m a follower through google. duh 🙂

  27. just blogged about your giveaway!!

  28. i totally need the body glide…totally.

    best giveaway ever!!!!

  29. I am most excited about the packet of PowerBar Energy Gel Blast chews in raspberry. These are my favorite fuel snack!

  30. Jenn Murray says:

    You’re in my Google Reader!

  31. Jenn Murray says:

    You know I want to be twinsies and HAVE to have those sleeves.

  32. Jenn Murray says:

    tweeted {maybe}. I’m not really sure I know how. 🙂

  33. Dave P. says:

    I’m following you on Twitter and I’m tweeting out the contest. I’m thinking the M&M’s are a good post-race reward to myself. 🙂 Good luck!

  34. Jay Stancil says:

    1. I tweeted
    2. I will soon.
    3. I follow you now.
    4. The Foot Rubz … I could soooooooooo use that

  35. I follow you on google reader

  36. I follow you on the twitter

  37. I literally cannot pick one item to be most excited about. I want them all (call me greedy)!

  38. Pingback: How to Half: Kara from It’s a Dog Lick Baby World | Running On Words

  39. Ashley says:

    I Subscribe to your blog!

  40. Ashley says:

    And i follow you on twitter

  41. Ashley says:

    And I tweeted at you

  42. Ashley says:

    And Im most excites about the arm warmers!

  43. Jenn Murray says:

    Love the new guest post!

  44. Erin says:

    I follow you on Google Reader 🙂

  45. Erin says:

    I am most excited about the peanut butter M&M’s…..I love those with all my heart and soul LOL!

  46. ledawnb says:

    i really dont like the arm warmers but i want everything else!!!

  47. I am following via Google Reader

  48. I am excited about the arm sleeves because I have never owned a pair!! (but I did look at some at my local running store today!)

  49. Kiki says:

    I follow by the Almighty Google Reader. I tweeted. I miss ya. And I really love arm warmers.

  50. I just read Kara’s half marathon tips! I totally agree not to try anything new on race day!

  51. Erica says:

    i added you to my google reader 🙂

  52. Erica says:

    I follow you on twitter @erica_h

  53. Erica says:

    Most excited about the GU Brew

  54. amy f. says:

    Just read Kara’s blog post!

  55. amy f. says:

    Just read all of Megan’s tips…the best is the husband arm tickle…just saying…! 🙂 Anywhoodle…do I get extra credit for using that…can’t believe we have 3 days left!

  56. Sara says:

    I read Kara’s tips – good stuff!! 🙂

  57. Sara says:

    Megan talks about corework, stretching, and strength training – all important things to a healthy runner, which I love!

  58. Pingback: How to Half: Tara from Dashing in Pearls | Running On Words

  59. Nutrition tip bonus entry: I have a super hard time eating breakfast pre-race, (I get nervous stomach) so a traditional breakfast that might work pre-run, doesn’t work for me pre-race. I have found that the sample size Clif bars that are often handed out at racing events are perfect for me! They taste great, and are small enough that I can finish the whole thing. If you can’t get your hands on the sample size. CUt a regular one into smaller bits and put them in a zippy bag and eat what you can and save the rest for post race. I use Gu along to way to help give me the calories I could not consume that morning!

  60. here’s my last entry for being a guest blogger 🙂

  61. I’m a new follower!!!

  62. I tweeted ~ windyrunner

  63. I posted the giveaway on my sidebar on my blog.

  64. I follow you on Twitter ~ windyrunner

  65. I’m excited about the arm warmers.

  66. Bonus Entry ~ Megan Tip

    Do core work, stretches, etc.

    Get plenty of rest.

  67. Mandy says:

    YAY! I am no longer computer-less and was able to see all the fun things y’all were talking about. LOVE your hat! And that foot ball looks like awesome!!!!!
    Of course I follow your blog – you’re too funny not to. LOL! I have you bookmarked on my browser and visit every day I don’t have a broken computer! 😀

Leave a Reply

