Dirt Tea

Hey, wanna know what I learned today?

Chinese medicinal tea smells like weed.

Mmm, looks like sludge. And the floating seeds look like tiny bugs.

Smells like college.

Yeah, I definitely was still swallowing my first sip in this picture. I hope you appreciate that I felt you needed pictures of this experience.

Yeah, it definitely tastes the way dirt smells. I still feel a little nauseated. Oh, and yes, that is a tongue ring. I've had it for almost 9 years.

Even though I’m undecided on if I want to get pregnant right this minute, I figured I would try the tea because I have a textbook case of low progesterone and it’s making me feel like garbage. Also, it makes me mean. The assistant swears that I will get used to the nasty taste and stop minding it in a few days. I hope she’s right.  She also told me I was drinking tree bark, so yay.

In other news, guess what came in the mail today…

20110519-074453.jpg

Getting this thing straight was redonkulous.

Oh yeah, I definitely got an Allied Medal display from my husband for running Cap City.  I put it right by the front door so all who enter will know my awesomeness.  It’s really nice, although it’s kind of sharp!  Every time I handled it I felt like I was going to get a cut (I’m so accident prone I once paper cut my eyeball).  They do warn you of this repeatedly on the packaging, but I didn’t expect it.  It could use a few more medals, though, which brings me to my next point.

I think I’ve decided to run 2 halfs (or should it be halves?) this fall.  I know, I know, that’s crazy talk, but there are two that sound awesome about a month apart and the first falls quite appropriately in the training schedule for the second.  I’ll need to make some adjustments to the schedule for the week of, but I think this will work perfectly.  Also, Duane, my other pace coach said it’s totally doable.  And he knows this stuff.

This weekend is going to be crazy-town because husband graduates from law school on Sunday, so Mr. Big Pants and his wife, my mom and my in-laws will all be here.  This is a little too much excitement for me since I still feel like poo left to bake on a hot sidewalk in the middle of summer.  I really shouldn’t forget to take my high iron pre-natal vitamins for two days when I’m bleeding massively.  At least things seem to be starting to calm down on the lady bidness front.

Oh, and the one doctor says it was probably another miscarriage.  I don’t want to talk about it, so we aren’t.  Ok?  Good.

Speaking of Mr. Big Pants, he’d like to say hello:

Yeah, I can't explain this picture. Let's just say being weird runs in the family.

Aaaaaaand, I’m out!  I am officially unable to keep up with all of the blogs I like to read and my Hulu queue has 21 items.  Oh, and I’m still finishing a paper that he wants to publish in July (that is a very short turnaround).  It took a turn for the worse, but I really want to have it done by Monday at the latest.  And I need a nap. Sam totally told me to take one. She’s awesome, so I feel that I must take this advice. Also, I stayed up way too late having deep thoughts with Sara, so I’m wiped out. Worth it, but I can’t do so many late nights in a row.

So, my lovely e-friends, am I crazy to take on two halfs? How exactly should I be spelling that anyways? Anyone else ever try alternative medicines that make them barfy? Tell me about your day!

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Family, Marriage, Training, TTC. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Dirt Tea

  1. Wendy says:

    Nah, you’re not crazy for wanting to run two halfs this session. Which ones are you planning on running? I ran Emerald in September (horrible time) and then came back to PR at Cbus in October. Sara and Duane both did the same two as well.

    I wish you were here. I need someone to make fun of things/peeps with and I think I need your humor!

  2. that tea does not look or sound pleasant…is there anyway you could mix it in something? like brew it and then throw it in a smoothie??

  3. Katy says:

    I think its great and you should totally do it! And I love your medal hanger and I wonder why they are so sharp?

    Your comment about poo left on the sidewalk was hilarious! Haha.

  4. Hey! Haha…I LUV your pictures documenting your tea experience…it cracked me up. And it’s certainly cemented my decision to NOT try it myself. 🙂 I’m happy I found your blog too…and looking forward to more posts. AND finally you are not crazy for tackling two halves…you’ll do great! 🙂

  5. Kara says:

    One of my kung fu teachers also does chinese medicine and once he was burning something that made the whole kung fu school smell like weed. I’m pretty sure it was actually weed.

    2 half marathons sound doable to me, but I’m pretty crazy and my perspective is warped.

  6. Kate says:

    You’ll totally kick those halves to the curb! And I think you’re very brave for trying that tea. I’m fascinated by alternative/complementary medicines so I’m glad you’re sharing that experience with us. A few years ago my roommate had this crazy coffee that was so dark and thick and you were supposed to put cardamom seeds in it while you drank it – it made our whole apartment smell and I was super creeped out by the seeds in coffee business. Your tea makes me think of that, but I suppose your tea is much…grittier? I can’t imagine.

    I so want to have some medals so I can justify buying a medal display like that. Someday.

  7. Mandy says:

    Ew. I can’t believe you drank a tree. That just sounds funny. 🙂
    I think two races is doable….since they are a month apart. Which two are you looking at?
    LOVE your medal display and your placement of it!!!! I’m sorry I forgot to warn that the edges are a little sharp. I cheated and used a level to get it straight. HA!
    I hope you feel less like poo soon. ((HUGS))

  8. Mandy says:

    NM. I read the comments. (Wow – that helps – huh) I did those two last year – although I only did a quarter at Emerald City since Columbus was my first. Definitely doable. 😉

  9. Abby says:

    I wonder if the tea has the same effect if you mix it with something like chocolate milk 🙂

  10. LeDawnB says:

    Two haves mean more bling for your new thing. Hey that rhymes. YES do two! Anywhoodle I liked the weed- smells like college comment hahaha…& I have done this colon cleansic protocol with herbal tea. But the tea didn’t make me throw up…I did need to stay close to the toilet..hahah…Herbal meds are great. Hope it makes you Feel better!!

  11. Marcia says:

    Sorry the tea is so gross. Hopefully it’ll do the trick.
    2halves…yes do them….no problemo!

  12. themadbohemian says:

    2 halves? what the hell? why not? I did the Emerald Quarter and then the Cbus Half and it was a good match for me. I’ll likely do that again seeing as the doc will KILL me if I tell him I’m running 2 halves….or 1 full in October…man, he’d really kill me!

  13. That medal holder is awesome, I love it! And go for it, you’ll rock those 2 halfs!

  14. just now catching up on life/blogs…love that you mentioned my command!!

Leave a Reply

