Bangles, candy and lawyers

Oh man, this weekend was CRAZY! My mom, dad, stepmom and parents in-law were here for some reason. Hmm, wonder why.

Oh, right, husband is now husband, JD. THOSE HATS ARE SO GOOFY!

Do I know you? (I can't friggin believe I'm posting such an unflattering picture on here. I must really like you guys)

Meanwhile. before the ceremony I got bored, so my mom and I went for a walk. We found this:

Why, yes, that is a black bra on a fountain. I am so proud of my city!

Another picture for my mom to add to her collection of me in front of things. It's a large collection, but she loves those pictures!

So yeah, graduation with a raging case of ADHD is umm, interesting. K managed to get hooded despite being quite a bit taller than the professors doing the hooding (my husband is 6’4″). I think we are both a little freaked out that he is done since the student loans are now due and the job market is more barren than I am (what, too soon?). Anywhoodle, my mom already told Facebook that she can now say “my son-in-law the lawyer,” so I think it is safe to say our parents are thrilled. I’m glad we are done with the school part, but the bar is scary.

Also, can I get a high five for defying the odds and staying married through law school? If we listened to the statistics, we’d be divorced 3 times over already.

In other news, the mail today was AWESOME!

I won a give away from Running Like a Girl!  I got a Kate Spade bracelet and some gummy candy.  That candy isn’t gonna survive the night at the rate I’m going because it tastes SO GOOD!

It's the "Draw the Line" bangle. I think I need the reminder sometimes.

Also in the mail a $25 reward certificate for my favorite running store, Fleet Feet Columbus, and:

I am OBSESSED with The Hunger Games and really excited to see if it works as a movie. If you haven't read the books, DO IT NOW!

In other exciting news, I had my first post-half run with MIT on Saturday and it was glorious, but really hard.  How did I run 13.1 miles at once and then forget how to run 2?  It was great to see everyone and there are lots of new faces.  I think my goal is to talk to at least 2 new people every week until I know them all.  After MIT I had a spontaneous breakfast with a few people, which was really fun.  I’m quickly realizing that my running friends are my closest friends (that includes you, Sara F!).  It really is quite the bonding experience.

I also did 2 miles this morning in a lightning storm.  I am finally at the point of having no common sense, which means I’m ready for my PhD.  It was an ok run, but I went out way too hard and paid for it later.  I did manage to sprint the last 0.1, but it knocked the wind out of me.

In other running news, I’m running a 5K for homeless pets this weekend.  If you are interested in donating, my fund raising page is HERE.  Thanks for your consideration!  I’m running in honor of Chester, who found a home with my MIL this morning!  Yay!

Alright, I’m off to drink some dirt tea (I walked through a lawn this morning and realized it smelled identical to the tea) and eat some ice cream.

What did you do this weekend?  I’m still catching up on blogs.  Anyone else find random undergarments?  Anything exciting in your mailbox?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Marriage, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bangles, candy and lawyers

  1. pawsitivelife says:

    I am sooo excited for my hunger games EW to come in the mail. Im pobsessed with that book. I bought a box set and its still in its original wrapping cause I dont want to finger print it. Btw Lawyers are totally employable..just in case you wanted to know! You guys will be a super couple!

  2. Wow so jealous of that bangle, I love it! Yay Hunger Games! 🙂 And congrats to hubby!

  3. Katy says:

    I need to find a running group… It might keep me motivated. 🙂 Congrats to your hubs!!!

  4. Kara says:

    Yay for your husband!

    I won stuff from I Run like a Girl (or running like a girl, whatever). Mine was just candy, so I’m a happy lady. 🙂

  5. Sara F says:

    Yay for graduation, and props to you for staying married! Haha. Love the bra on the fountain. I ate way too much and the in-laws made me do it. Nothing else fancy to report. Also, I’m glad that Chester found a home!

  6. juliaaaah! says:

    Congrats to the spousticle! That is so exciting!

    I wish I got mail like that, my inbox only brings me sorrows.

  7. Abby says:

    We got that EW in the mail this week, too! Brent read the books a couple years ago, and I decided to give them a short just a few weeks ago. I read the first one in about a minute, and am now nearing the end of #2. So captivating!

    And congrats to the husband – and to the two of you for making it through! Brent and I met in the middle of my second year of law school and got married ten days after my graduation. Definitely a challenge to balance relationship and work… The best is when he passes the bar and you get to call him Esq 🙂

  8. High five, Sarah!!! Glad you survived the weekend! See you soon!

  9. You had quite an eventful weekend! Congrats to your husband…and to you for your winnings!

  10. congrats to your husband!!! yay for smart boys. my mom does the same thing with me in front of things – crazy women 🙂

    i always laugh about bras hanging on trees below the ski lift when we are skiing. i mean, really?!

  11. Congrats to your grad husband and to both of you for defying the odds! Hope the 5K is fun!

  12. i find socks everywhere! does that count? ha.

  13. Sara says:

    I do love the dress on you and that bangle is fabulous!

    Congrats to the husband! I hope dinner was good and I hope he finds a job here so you can stayandwecanbestfriendsforever, K? 😉

    Hehehe……

  14. Mandy says:

    YAY for awesome mail! Congrats to your hubby! And to the both of you. Mark and I got married during law school – so I know how tough that can be on a relationship!

    I just found the Hunger Games a couple of weeks ago – AWESOME books. As a movie??? Interesting! We’ll have to get a group together to go! 🙂

    And an extra yay for Chester!

Leave a Reply

