The monster at the end of this post

I have absolutely nothing to say today.  I don’t know what’s come over me, but I’m bumming hardcore.  I really don’t want to do anything, including the race I’m signed up for on Saturday (donate here), but all these people donated a decent chunk of change, so I guess I’m doing it. I think it’s the doing it alone part that I’m really dreading.  This is one of those times it would be useful for husband to be a runner.

My knees are also still freaking out.  My right knee is now hurting on the inside above the patella.  I think it’s from foam rolling, because it started to really hurt when I was rolling out my left IT band.  The foam roller is officially my nemesis.  At least the knees aren’t hurting too badly when I run, but I think a trip to the doctor’s office may be in order next week if they still hurt.  I made it 3 whole weeks without seeing him (although I did stop by the office last week to drop off some test results).

I got negative splits again this morning and I realized the reason things felt so darn hard is because my last half mile was around a 12-12:30 pace.  Progress?  I think so.  BTW, I don’t think there is such a thing as too slow, but I felt like other people were criticizing us slow folk and I didn’t care for it.  I will admit to losing my temper with a few walkers when they walked 6 abreast during the half, but I feel like that’s reasonable.  If you walk, go to the side.  I run towards one side because I know there are fast people trying to pass me.  It’s just common courtesy.

I admit there’s other stuff making me nuts, but I don’t dare talk about other people negatively on my blog.  You never know who will stumble across this and I know I would be heart-broken if someone was bad mouthing me via the internet.  Actually, some to think of it, that’s happened 3 times that I can think of and each time I was horrified and upset and usually what someone was saying was unfair or untrue.  So yeah, no bad mouthing here.

Oh, I guess in other news, I’ve decided to participate in Alicia‘s virtual 5K for autism.

It’s a great cause and there’s going to be a sweet raffle at the end!  Also, virtual means you get to run it in your own time.  I hope you’ll join me!

Ok, here’s your monster:

Mr. Big Pants all verklemmpt again at my husband's graduation last weekend. Sometimes I like to pretend I don't know him. And yes, that is a Freemason ring he is wearing.

Ok, time for my last dose of dirt tea.  I get to try a new flavor tomorrow.  I’m absolutely terrified.

So, what are your rules of the road?  Anyone else doing the virtual 5K? How do you feel about running for charity?  How do you choose what charities you run for/donate to?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Family, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The monster at the end of this post

  1. Kara says:

    I’ve never done a virtual race. Can I lie about my time to make myself feel special?

    Trashing talking on your blog is half the fun of having a blog.

    I think the rules of the road (for racing at least) are the same as driving. Slow traffic to the right, leave the left open for people to pass.

  2. Keri says:

    I’m with you. People walking with several of their closest friends in a line blocking everyone behind them are inconsiderate and deserve our wrath.

  3. Doing a race you’re not in the mood for is the worst. I did a half marathon that I wasn’t’ into at all and I hated the whole thing. I was proud that I completed it afterwards of course, but I wasn’t mentally there the whole time.

    One of my BIG rules when racing…if you’re running and you’re going to stop to walk at any time – I look over my shoulder to make sure I’m not stopping dead in front of someone. I can’t tell you how many times that’s happened in a race to me.

  4. runnermoose says:

    Boo! I wish I was in town this weekend – I’d run the race with you!! I know, I’ll virtually run it with you! Does that count? I’ll run here at the same time and text you snarky comments!!

  5. Abby says:

    I did two marathons through Team in Training, and thought it was great. Insta-community, great support, and a worthwhile cause. I haven’t fundraised for a race in awhile (yikes! four years!), and I don’t think I’ll do TNT again because there are other issues about which I feel more personally invested, but I’m sure that I’ll do another one with a different organization before too long.

  6. Alicia says:

    Thanks so much for posting my race here! You rock! I had never run for charity before I found Train4Autism. My son was diagnosed 6 yrs ago (he’s now 9) so I absolutely felt like this organization was for me. It’s been an amazing journey. 🙂

    So happy to get to know you here. Good luck with your 5k! Thanks again for the support!

  7. Mandy says:

    “I’m with you. People walking with several of their closest friends in a line blocking everyone behind them are inconsiderate and deserve our wrath.”
    I agree 1000%. This is my pet peeve w/r/t walkers. 🙂

    I’ve talked Mark into doing the Rescue Run thing this weekend – but I had to concede that we would walk it. (With his IT band, my belly and the dog’s newly diagnosed hip dysplasia – his condition makes sense, I guess.)

  8. Oh I’m sorry to hear that. I hope that it goes great anyways, maybe you’ll get there and everything will get you in the right mindset. Good luck!

  9. themadbohemian says:

    I don’t remotely mind sharing the course with walkers…get out and get healthy, but part of any sport is learning some game rules. As others have written, don’t walk 6 across so that others have to all but go off the course to get around you. I’m a slow runner and I stay off to the side and try to stay out of the way. I don’t care that I’m slow, I just care that I get out there.

    Sorry I can’t run with you this weekend. Before MIT, I ran all my races alone and it’s not all together a bad thing…just have to shift your mindset. At least it’s a 5k and that will be over in a flash.

    I’ve had the blah’s the last few days myself….sending a big dose of sarcastic dark humor your way!!!

  10. Katy says:

    I’m with a hundred percent on trashing people via the internet. It’s not my style. I get so annoyed on Facebook when I see people spilling all their drama, including names! all over my feed. I’m like, weren’t you taught not to air your dirty laundry?! Lol.

    I’m sorry you are having such an “off” time. I hope everything gets better!! 🙂 Sending super-awesome good feeling vibes your way!

  11. Sara says:

    YOU! Are wonderful – that’s all! I am so sorry to hear you are down. See you at MIT? That makes everything better – especially then you are there!

    If your knee still hurts, please go to the doctor. I have found that earlier really is better when it comes to running injuries, but you know that too!

    Every once in awhile I do enjoy running a race alone – typically a 5K, but I did run a half alone once, that was kind of miserable because I wasn’t feeling good. Thank the Heavens (oh, wait, or you) I didn’t have to run 26.2 by myself as previously thought!

Leave a Reply

