I’m famous! Or, don’t feed the trolls.

I’ve finally made it in the blogging world:

I know they say not to feed the trolls, but I’ve been telling my husband for months that you haven’t really made it as a blogger until you have a troll.  And according to a google search of the IP address, this person is major forum troll.

Is it weird that I find this kind of exciting?  How do you handle trolls and negative comments?  It’s probably time for me to decide on some kind of comment policy.  This one is still sitting in the old spam filter until I decide how to handle it.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I’m famous! Or, don’t feed the trolls.

  1. Kara says:

    I’ve only gotten one negative comment (when I said I let Faith cry for a few minutes in her crib) and it was funny to me. I still haven’t gotten a troll.

    Will you troll my blog? 🙂

  2. Wendy says:

    They must be a frequent commenter on the Columbus Dispatch.

  3. OH man. *jealous* I totally want one of those trolls. I hope mine has spiky pink hair. 😉 I didn’t even know people who left comments like that were called trolls until this post!

  4. Katy says:

    I’ve never had a troll. Haha. What an ass. 🙂 Glad you’re taking it so well. I agree. You’ve not made it in the blog (or internet in general) world without one. So I guess you’re famous! 🙂

  5. Kiki says:

    Same principle applies to reading the comments from a newspaper article that quotes you. Silly people making snap judgments based on a few sentences.
    You’re wonderful, sweetie!

  6. pawsitivelife says:

    I think I would cry if I get a negative comment and then I would delete it pretend like it doesnt exsist…just like the pile of laundry by my bed

  7. blegh what a brat. I probably would be like pawsitivelife, cry and delete it and then maybe even hide. Negativity is so unnecessary.

  8. bobcb518 says:

    I got that same comment twice. Today, as a matter of fact.

  9. Samantha says:

    I come to blogger to escape the real world (that has negativity in it), so when trolls pop my oober-positive-blog-bubble I really don’t appreciate it lol. You’re handling it well though!

    p.s. – Are they really a self-labeled idiot? (It’s kind of small, but I think that’s what it says). I’d say that person described themselves pretty well.

  10. Abby says:

    Um, clearly I’m not a very good blogger, because I have no idea what a troll is 🙂

  11. lol how sad is it that we’re all jealous?

    No negative comments here yet!

  12. HA! you are totally famous 🙂

  13. Sara says:

    Okay, super-savvy-techy-always-helps-me-and-makes-me-feel-not-quite-so-technologically-challenged-friend – that’s cool!! I think? That you’re famous, I mean. I have never left or received a negative comment for that matter – does this mean I am, in fact, not famous anymore?! Haha….

    How do I know if I have a troll? And if I do, should I be scared? Like a creeper? Because maybe we already know your troll…………just sayin’………….

  14. Michelle says:

    Isn’t it amazing how negative some people need to be! You are taking it well – haven’t experienced a troll yet.

    By the way – thanks for the follow!

  15. themadbohemian says:

    Wow….I’m with Sara….you sure it’s just not a creeper??? 🙂

    ANYWHOODLE….congrats on your very own troll! Don’t be too tempted to comment on him. Something tells me it’d be a little like a cat (you) batting around a mouse…just for the heck of it.

    Glad your race went well too!!!! Missed you this weekend!

  16. hilarious!!

    Hate on haters.

  17. Mandy says:

    “oober-positive-blog-bubble” – I absolutely adore this phrase. Just saying.

    I’m with the rest – didn’t realize they were called trolls. Do the live under bridges? Have jewels for belly buttons?

    Congrats on being famous! I always knew you would be famous first!

Leave a Reply

