Wedding Bells and Post-College Blues

Well, I am officially wiped out!  This weekend was the wedding of two of my college friends/fraternity brothers and I stayed up hours past my bedtime.

Wait, did you all know I am in a fraternity (brotherhood is for life!)?  Well, I am a proud brother of

Yup, I am basically a giant flippin’ nerd.  Anywhoodle, although we were  a nerd club, we also had a very social fraternity and I had some good friends and good times with it my last 2 years of college.  I was so stoked to see a few of my favorite brothers (although, not my little who is off at USAF basic) and watch my friends get married.  Bif and Tater (real names not used to protect the guilty) are one of those couples that just belong together.

Here’s the thing, though.  You can’t go back.  I miss being in college every day because it was such a relatively carefree time in my life and I had so little responsibility.  I loved my TA job and I really didn’t need to spend a lot of time on school.  The thing is, as much as I miss college, that’s just not who I am anymore.  A lot of my old friends (not the people I saw this weekend) really ride my last nerve because they still haven’t grown up.  Or, they refuse to acknowledge that I’ve grown up.  Yes, I understand that some of you met me when I was a 15 year old freshman in college, but I’m now a 25 year old PhD student and I’ve been married for almost 4 years.  Please don’t treat me like I’m still a teenager that you can boss around and condescend to.

I get a big jumble of mixed up feelings every time I visit my parents because I grew up in the town my college is in.  They still live near campus.  I actually did my Saturday 2 miler from their house through the campus, which looks nothing like I remember.  Have I mentioned Western PA is a giant hill?  I though my calves were going to explode, but it was sort of strange to be running around town.  When I was in college, I assured people I didn’t run unless chased, which is obviously not true anymore (although, I do see endurance running as a good way of making sure I survive the zombie apocalypse).  I’m well aware that most people I used to know would probably laugh at the idea of me doing half marathons.  Hell, me of 2 years ago would probably laugh at the idea.

I really want to post pictures from this weekend, but I don’t feel comfortable posting pictures of other people who don’t even know about my blog.  What’s your take on it?  Do you ask before you post someone’s picture?  The wedding was beautiful and they looked ecstatic.  I loved seeing everyone, I just wish I’d fit in some sleep somewhere.

The cake smash wasn't quite this dramatic, but they certainly managed to get each other pretty good.

This post is all a jumble because I’m exhausted, but I feel obligated to update at least every 2 days.  How do you all find the time to update once or multiple times a day?  How was your weekend?  Do weddings make anyone else all shmoopy and sentimental?  I always love my husband a tiny bit more when we go to a wedding.

And no, we didn’t smash cake in each other’s faces.  I assured him that if he smeared my make-up, I’d break his fingers.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Friends, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wedding Bells and Post-College Blues

  1. Mandy says:

    YAY! I’m not the only nerd! Oh wait…hehehe. Glad you had fun – go get some sleep!

    Weddings can make me sentimental too. Mark and I always are comparing things to what we did – 10 years ago….and then act surprised about how long it’s been. And – we didn’t smash cake in our faces either. At the time I was in law school, and assured my husband he’d set the record for how quickly one can get divorced if he smashed any cake. LOL.

  2. Sara says:

    Heh. Clearly I’ve never asked anyone if I can put their picture on my site. I need to come with a disclaimer (especially at MIT!) – ‘If you know me, talk to me, see me, ask me a question or even see a camera – warning! – you might get blogged about.’ Good thing you were all okay with that (I hope!).

    Ha! Western PA one giant hill!? Didn’t notice….

  3. I always thought cake smashing was disrespectful and informed Rich of that fact before our wedding! 🙂 Weddings always make me feel sentimental, too! Get caught up on your sleep and I hope your AC is up and running by now! Hope to see you soon!

  4. We didn’t even do a cake cutting, so there was definitely no smashing. We had hundreds of cupcakes instead of cake, so we just made an announcement during dancing that people could help themselves. I didn’t actually get one until the next morning (cupcakes for breakfast? heck yes!).

  5. Michael says:

    I am a total, total sucker for weddings!! Everything wedding, I love it.

    I have been lucky to post once or twice a week lately. It’s hard to keep up!

  6. Kara says:

    Woah, back up a minute. You went to college at 15? I think this might need a post. 🙂

  7. pawsitivelife says:

    WOW 25 and a PhD student? I was doing my masters at 25…you make me feel old. I miss school as well. I am intrigued by the American Fraternity system. Dont you have to be a boy for fraternity and a girl for sorority…We dont have the greek system in Canada, and movies can only teach you so much

  8. Katy says:

    I don’t usually ask, but I always mention my blog and how I always post my pictures there. But that’s for my friends… I probably wouldn’t post acquaintances or friends of friends without mentioning it at least.

  9. we had an exhausting wedding weekend as well! in new jersey – and it was freezing cold. i was so ready to be back in steamy texas. i get totally emotional at weddings and always end up going through our wedding pictures again 🙂

Leave a Reply

