The amazing, magical goat-dog

My dog is not right.

This morning, I found this:

The face of evil

on top of this:

Not actually my refrigerator. In case you were wondering.

Delilah can officially reach all of our hiding spots.  We are so boned.

In other news, I am incredibly hormonal and exhausted, so you aren’t going to get a whole lot out of me tonight.  Waking up at 5 AM is incredibly difficult when you can’t sleep because of the sun still being up until forever.  I’ve been forcing myself to run, but it was 70 by 5:30 AM and I found it very hard to keep going and not feel like I was suffocating.  Might be time to get on Flovent again?  I blame the blasted cottonwood, which appears to be shedding itself all over my apartment and car.

So, I think I’m in a running slump.  I run with other people a lot, but I just feel so blah and I’m not enjoying it right now.  Any advice?  How do you stay motivated?  Is it just that 2 miles are a lot harder than I remember?

Alright, I’m gonna go finish this pilot episode of Switched at Birth.  Cause, ya know, I totally need something else irrational to obsessively worry about.  Can anyone recommend some summer programming that won’t make me crazy?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The amazing, magical goat-dog

  1. Kara says:

    I’m so glad my dog is too stupid to get in that much trouble. 🙂

    Start watching So You Think you Can Dance. No thinking required, I promise.

  2. RunnerMoose says:

    OK, how does a dog do that?? She IS a multi-talented wonder!

    Are you ever going to be at a Saturday morning MIT again?? THAT’s how you make running fun again – I’m sure of it!! We all need our Sarah fix!!

  3. pawsitivelife says:

    OMG! Nautica knows how to open the fridge and get in, but never on top of it. im also in a running slump, i am going to try to go for a run tomorrow morning. I have been slacking lately.I have never ran b4 work !

  4. Kim (Book Worm Runs) says:

    I seriously have no idea how your dog would get on top of your fridge??? Insane! And you didn’t get a picture!! 😉 As for the running slump we all go though them. I find I am motivated by signing up for races. Good luck!

  5. Abby says:

    Your dog jumped on top of the refrigerator? I think she should be on a tv show…

    I didn’t catch Switched at Birth, but I will admit to watching The Secret Life of the American Teenager. Oh the shame…

  6. How in the world does a dog get on a fridge!? And why didn’t you bust out the camera for a blog pic? lol!

    Have you tried taking some time off from running to see if you can get your running mojo back? Sometimes you just have to stop to see how much you miss it!

  7. Michelle says:

    I wouldn’t be mad that your dog jumped on a fridge, I’d be seriously impressed! I wish I could manage to climb that high.

    I just realized that you live in my area, you should come check out “Turtle Thursdays” at Whetstone Park, we’re a great slower bunch.

  8. Judi says:

    I’m in a running funk myself. I don’t know Michelle, but anything called “Turtle Thursdays” sounds like something I should do! In all seriousness, my asthma is hurting with the heat and humidity in ways I haven’t had in a few years. My knee recovery seems to have plateaued even though I’ve run 4 times since Cap City and they haven’t been long runs. I’m really struggling to stay motivated because I’m kind of thinking that my knee isn’t going to get any better and I can’t afford another 9K in medical bills from 4 months of treatment.

    I think sometimes putting it out there that we are in a funk or struggling is part of the process of keeping engaged. We all know that running is more than just physical, it’s mental. Telling other runners that you are in a funk keeps you engaged with other runners who have been there and done that.

    The weather has been brutal and not really runner-friendly. I’ve talked to A LOT of people who have totally dumped training at the moment because of the weather and not being able to handle it, so don’t feel alone. I think there’s a lot of us in the same boat.

  9. Sara says:

    Wait – did your DOG JUMP up on the refrigerator? SERIOUSLY!? Wow. That might be kind of impressive.

    I also feel blah when it comes to running right now. I did after my first half too – I think it is a type of post-race blues. You are so high for so long (we’re talking months here!) and then you crash and your activity level backs off too. I find running with friends gets me motivated (at least it helps make me feel better if nothing else!) and doing some other things – – like walking the dogs or hell, taking a nap if I feel like it. You will know when you feel recovered and your excitement for running will return!

    Hang in there and remember you are not alone – I’m right there with you! 😉 I heard sushi helps that………….

  10. Sara says:

    Plus, everyone loves you Sarah! Look at what an inspiration you have become to our group!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Katy says:

    I have no suggestions, since I’m still playign catchup from my deployment! Haha.

  12. Mandy says:

    I totally understand the running slump – and this heat does not help at all.

    I think in general – once you’ve run longer distances, you expect 2 miles to be extraordinarily easy. BUT, it’s still 2 miles that the majority of the population can’t or won’t run. When the feeling doesn’t match the expectation – it makes it seem a lot harder than it is. Or that’s what another runner explained to me when I said I hated 2 miles runs after my half marathon.

    OH! Delilah is not allowed to be with Cassie unsupervised anymore – can’t have her teaching Cassie those tricks! 😀

  13. Kelley says:

    Running slumps suck – I usually try to stick with my routine and hope it passes. I find the first 5-7 minutes of my runs are the worst. If I can get past that I am ok. Plus I am usually glad I did it once I’m done. You will get through it. Keep pluggin away!

  14. i’ve been all about the spinning and body pump classes right now. indoors and a break from running!

Leave a Reply

