Why I’m so special (and by special, I do mean crazy)

I’m sort of out of things to say these days. Lately I just feel lost and adrift. I’m really unhappy about still being in grad school and I can’t quite figure out what to be when I grow up (if I ever grow up that is).  So, I’m going to use 500 words to answer a question from any earlier post

Kara asked me about going to college at 15. I was a precocious (wow, I want to slap myself reading that) and incredibly bored child, so the parental units suggested to the elementary school that I skip 4th grade and go straight from 3rd to 5th. My mother had skipped a grade, so she thought it was the best solution.

Turns out people notice these things and I was bullied a lot. It got worse when my parents split up and my mom moved us to a much more rural town in NW PA. I was way ahead of the 7th grade curriculum so the school wanted to move me to 8th grade after a few weeks. My mom wanted to say no, but I realized that the sooner I graduated, the sooner I could get out of this awful new place, so I begged her to agree. Thus I entered the 8th grade with much notice and an incredible amount of bullying by my new classmates who did not take kindly to my presence. It probably would have helped if my awkward phase hadn’t been so dang awkward.

Anywhoodle, Junior year I was finally fitting in and feeling like I could be happy. My mom had gotten married the previous June, but she and my stepdad had a long distance marriage because he lived near my hometown (where my dad still lived), so when she got a job offer in his town at the beginning of Junior year, she took it. At the time, I hated her for it, but with some time and now being married myself, I understand her decision even if I didn’t like it.

So basically, I decide to say eff it and apply to go to college instead of my senior year.  The original plan was I would live with my dad, but the Honors College at my undergrad was residential, so I moved in after a few weeks.  15 year olds probably do not belong unsupervised in a dorm.  Especially not 15 year olds that have just been diagnosed with clinical depression.  Whatever, I survived, and after 6 years I got my BS and my MRS.  It took me 6 years because I changed my major a gabillionty times.  I was actually a history major for the majority of college and then became a biology major my 4th year.

The thing about being 15 is you have no sense of self.  Add that to my complete lack of common sense and it was kind of a disaster.  I don’t think I was a bad kid, I think I was lost and some much older people took advantage of me in ways I couldn’t understand and certainly couldn’t cope with.  I still fail to understand the inherent badness of some people.

So there you have it, the explanation of college at 15.  Any questions?

Do you like when bloggers do these long background posts or are you not a fan?  Also, unrelatedly, is it sweltering where you live?  It’s supposed to be 96 here tomorrow and I feel like I can’t breathe!

And if you got through all that, here’s a cute old picture of Delilah as a puppy.  You are welcome.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Grad School. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Why I’m so special (and by special, I do mean crazy)

  1. Keri says:

    Love this. For many reasons. We have a lot in common. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  2. Kim (Book Worm Runs) says:

    I personally love when I get to learn more about Bloggers and their past…thank you so much for being open and sharing!! 🙂 I was not prepared for college at age 18 so I can’t even imagine how difficult it must have been at 15. Wow. I loved junior high but once I entered high school I wanted to be done so I wouldn’t have to go anymore. I hated it! In that sense I am jealous you got to skip your senior year and move on…

  3. Kara says:

    I love background posts, which is why I ask nosy questions 🙂

    I can’t imagine college at 15, I’m pretty sure I shouldn’t have been left alone at the age even for a few hours. 😛

  4. Mandy says:

    I love background posts!!! And I love the cute little puppy picture reward too. Thank you for sharing both!

  5. Ummmm, very cute puppy pic!!! I think you are very special (in a good way)!!!!

  6. I think that was interesting to read, thanks for sharing! And I think this reinforces why I think parents shouldn’t push kids up a grade.

  7. Katy says:

    Love this post! I love background posts! I feel bloggers share much of their lives and if we didn’t want to hear about the past, we probably wouldn’t blog. Haha.

  8. Erin says:

    Noooo. WAHS flashbacks!

  9. Well as long as you got your MRS ;). Wow, I cannot imagine going to Uni at 15! I was 19, the legal drinking age in Canada. I didnt finish grad school till I was 25, but then again I dont have a Phd. About switching scools, i also did that and kids were cruel i wish I could type more but the dog keeps swatting at me hand and I retyped this already several time

  10. emily says:

    Great background post! I do like them. It lets you get to know someone, even if it’s just a little.

    I didn’t go to college at a young age, but I kind of felt the same way you did, attending at the age of 15 (which seems like total nuts! Kudos to you for surviving 🙂 My mom even told me recently that she thinks I was a lot more “naive” than most 18-year-olds when they go to college. (Yeah, ouch). I never really felt like I fit in and I was so glad when I finally graduated!

    Also, love the puppy picture!

  11. Wow. I really enjoyed reading this post. You’re probably right about 15 year olds living unsupervised :). I love finding out more about people. Like we know about you now, but how did you get here!?

  12. i loved learning more about you! more long posts, please! or we should just grab coffee and chat. i’d like that.

    yes, it’s close to 100 degrees here. and yet my office is still 58 degrees. how does one dress for that?!

  13. Abby says:

    I do like it when people post stories about how they got to be who they are today. Maybe it’s the historian in me – I like context.

    Speaking of which – how did you end up switching from history to biology?

  14. Pingback: Confessions (I have run out of ideas) | Running On Words

  15. Alyssa says:

    Wow, just read this since you linked to it, and you are a super genius! I don’t know how you survived though….I barely made it through freshmen year at 18. It worked out in the end, so all’s well that ends well, or something.

  16. Pingback: 11 things because I am too sick to breathe | Running On Words

Leave a Reply

