Winner, winner, chicken dinner!

Guess who won another giveaway!

The answer is me, if you missed that.

Hmm, what could be in this tiny box?

Nuun sticker under the address label!

My mom taught me to always read the card/note first. It says that Kelley included a few extras she thought I'd like. ❤ her!

OMG, food! My winnings include sports beans (4 packs!), Shot Blox, a Lara Bar mini, a PowerGel and 2 tubes of Nuun!

Thanks, Kelley!  I’ve been dying to try Nuun, because it may be a good solution the next time I’m at a race where the sports drink tastes like pee.  I can’t wait to have a long enough race to try it out!  Anyone ever used Nuun?  Tell me what you think!

I really do have a bunch of blog posts planned out, I just have to get around to it.  I have a feeling I’m going to have quite a bit to do as far as work for the next few weeks, but I want to recap my Sunday race (another PR!) and finish the survey Kara sent me.  I am not ashamed to admit that I drank way too much wine at book club last night and was not up to drafting any posts.  It was our first book club and at my house.  I was worried it would be awkward because everyone there knew me, but not everyone knew each other.  I should have know better because everyone seemed to have a great time (I know I did) and I have WAY too much food left over!

We read “Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.”  I didn’t actually like it, but for some reason I’m reading the second one.  The books are really gritty and make me sad, but I can’t stop reading them.  I also did this with the Twilight books and the tv shows Nip/Tuck and Heroes.  I cannot explain my love of a good train wreck.  I think the real problem with the book is that there isn’t much to discuss without making some people really uncomfortable.  There’s a lot of sexual violence in the book and I know it brought up some unpleasant memories for a lot of people, including me.

Rufus is a brazen trollop and was very busy hitting on the ladies.

On an unrelated note, Abby asked why I switched from history to biology in college.  I’d actually flirted with pre-medicine as I changed to a history major, but an amazing professor in the history department introduced me to the study of history of medicine and I was hooked…until I had to write my senior thesis.  Turns out I like to read about history in my spare time (and I can recite a surprising amount of random facts), but when it comes to researching it, it just wasn’t my bag.  I also felt like the job opportunities weren’t there and I didn’t want to spend 10 years on a PhD.  I went back to pre-med/biology because I knew I loved learning about diseases.  Turns out I belong in med school like a cat belongs in a bath, so I dropped the pre-med and went for the PhD.  Also turns out I just hate research period.  Lessons learned.

Can I admit I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up?  I have yet to hold a job I love that makes me excited to get out of bed in the morning.  Can I get a job that involves running and watch lots of tv?  What’s your job?  Do you love it?  Would you recommend your career?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Gear, Grad School. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Winner, winner, chicken dinner!

  1. chelsea says:

    a) I loooooove tri-berry nuun. I drink it almost everyday! And it’s a staple on my long runs.

    b) I miss my old job – I was a books buyer. I’m now a vendor manager, which means I still work with the publishers, but work with them as it relates to marketing, etc. I miss cutting POs and estimating demand. I like the numbers part of that job.

  2. LUCKY! I want some of your giveaway luck over here!

  3. Christine Jensen says:

    I love nuun! It is my favorite post run drink. I make myself up a bottle after almost every run!

  4. Kara says:

    I like Nuun! I got a ton of free Nuun at my 50K 🙂

    I have yet to have a job I love (other than what I’m doing now) and even I had my “dream job” and it wasn’t all peaches and sunshine when I started and after a year and a half, I wasn’t too sad to resign when we moved. Work just sucks, I like being unemployed. 🙂

  5. Man, you have all the giveaway luck! I’m jealous.

    I’ve tried nuun but I didn’t like the fizziness very much. Meh.

  6. themadbohemian says:

    I want to try nuun, so let me know if you like it.

    As for my career, well, speaking of train wrecks….. 🙂

  7. Kate says:

    I’m jealous of your giveaway skills! Bah. I won a book once, so I shouldn’t be bitter : )

    I also don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. My dream changes almost every week. But I always come back to being a stay-at-home-mom. That’s contingent on me finding a husband and having babies though. I have a list as tall as me of other ideas if that doesn’t work out for me (and it will, cause I’m being positive and projecting good energy)!

  8. Abby says:

    Thanks for the follow-up 🙂 I finished my PhD (and JD) in May of 2010. After six long years of grad school, I got incredibly lucky and landed a tenure track job right out, so now I’m a history professor and spend my days working at something that doesn’t feel like “work.” It’s a pretty remarkable feeling, but it sure took a long time to get here!

    My husband’s getting his MA in history and currently working on a state-of-the-field paper about the social history of disease. Fascinating stuff.

  9. Amy says:

    I love being a teacher! 🙂 I never saw myself teaching preschool, but here I am!

  10. Tracy says:

    I swear by nuun. You do have to remember to defizz it before you take it out on a run (otherwise the shaking of the handheld bottle will build up the pressure… I’ve choked myself as the water shot up into my nose). But it’s well worth it for the lack of sweetness. Other electrolyte drinks I’ve tried are much too cloying, but not nuun!

  11. Sarah says:

    Woohoo! I love winning stuff! I have some nuun but don’t drink it all that often. To be honest I forget that I have it. I would love to have a job that just involved running and watching tv 🙂

  12. emily says:

    I’m a graphic designer and I do love it. Although, if I could get paid to eat and work out every day, I’d choose that instead, and then freelance on the side…and walk dogs. Oh and I’d rock at being a professional nap-taker too.

  13. I can’t wait for you to try Nuun so you can tell me how you like it! I have always wanted to try it too. Congrats on your winnings!!

    I don’t know what my career is either. I want a job that involves running and/or coaching. I applied for that position with Premier Races (I also enjoy event planning, the little I have dabbled in it in my current job), but have not heard anything yet. Keep your fingers crossed for me!? I, unfortunately, do not love my current job. Is it bad that I enjoy blogging even more than my job!?

  14. Mandy says:

    Yay for more winnings! I want your luck! And – book club was awesome!

    As for train wrecks and changing careers – I may win that race some day. Hehehe. I currently have 3 degrees, not because I’m smart, but because the first didn’t work for me. I was a lawyer and hated it. Got my Chemistry degree – enjoyed that – but now sitting at home in anticipation of being a stay at home mom. HA! I do plan to teach chemistry some day though because of all the things I’ve done – teaching has been my favorite. I absolutely LOVED being a Chem TA!

  15. I originally wanted to into history as well! But I switched to Biology. I had no idea what to do with a history degree (work in a museum?). I still love it, but I am happy in Biology. I dont do research anymore (thank the lord cause I hate it) but I write a lot so I get to nurture my creative side too!

  16. Kelley says:

    Winning is so much fun!

Leave a Reply

