It smells like a wino threw up in here

Thanks, dogs.  They smashed a red wine bottle all over the kitchen (and presumably drank some).  I should really change to name of this blog to “sh*t my dogs destroy.”  Anywhoodle, there are no pictures because I’m too sleepy and sore to have thought to take any.

Stock puggle puppy footage. How did they turn in to such monsters?

There is such a thing as too much exercise.

This morning was a 4 mile “long” run.  It was really hard because the whole thing was up giant hills (our usual trial is a bit inaccessible due to construction at the high school we park at).  I was not a super happy camper, although it got better on the way back once I felt warmed up and was going downhill.  Considering the monsoon that came out of the sky later, I’m guessing the humidity was somewhere around soaked wool blanket.

After the run I had breakfast with some of the ladies (runners eat A LOT) and Sara‘s dad at First Watch. I had scheduled my krav maga intro lesson at Ohio Krav Maga Lewis Center for 9:45 AM, so I knew I needed to keep it light. I, of course, ordered the bacado omelet with no bacon.  I have no regrets.  After a fun breakfast, I headed to my lesson.

The problem was (sorry for the TMI here, kids) that after my run I had horrible uterine cramps.  This happened on Wednesday as well, so I wasn’t sure if I was getting my period or just having problems, but considering the hemorrhaging that started during krav maga, I got my answer.  Note to self, horrible cramping+long run+krav maga=misery.

By the way, krav maga is the self defense system employed by the Israeli special forces (my people invented our own martial art!).  I like it because it emphasizes real life scenarios and teaches you how to defend yourself.  There is no sensei, no bowing and no forms, so I think I prefer it to Tae Kwon Do.

Despite the horrible pain and need to pass out, I think I could really like krav.  The instructors are awesome and I love being allowed to hit things at full force.  I ended up partnered with a guy I used to work with.  He’s a really sweet Southern boy who packs a hard punch.  He was very patient and helped me learn some cool moves and didn’t seem mad that I was struggling.  The instructor had us do crazy stuff like push-ups before combos just to make sure we got a good work-out.  My legs ache quite badly.  I strongly considered leaving early because I felt so sick, but I stuck it out and had a good time.

The female instructor, who might be “85 pounds soaking wet with a pocketful of change” thought it was awesome that I smiled when I got to punch things.  She told me women are usually very tentative for a long time and don’t like to hit hard.  Needless to say, that does not describe me.  I came there to wail on stuff and I got my money’s worth (I have a Groupon).  I’ve got 9 classes left on my pass and I’m hoping to prioritize things so I can go regularly, but it’s REALLY expensive to join because they only do unlimited class memberships.  Admittedly, with a membership I can also do Crossfit, MMA and kickboxing, but the classes are later in the evening, which might be incompatible with my sleeping schedule.  Crossfit would be awesome strength training, though, especially since I feel like I need a trainer to get started with weights and that is prohibitively expensive.  Decisions, decisions.

Now to get dressed for the bacon party.  I don’t really know what a bacon party is, so I’ll have to report back tomorrow.  What are your big Saturday night plans?  Anyone else ever tried krav maga?  What’s your favorite non-running work out?

Also, husband lost my hydration belt (why yes, there was a bit of screaming this morning), so I’m looking for suggestions on a new one.  I had a Fuel Belt.  I didn’t love it, but I didn’t hate it.  I’m considering a few different types of Amphipod belts, but I’d love to know what you are using and what you think of it.  Bonus points if it can come with a race number holder so I can stop putting holes in my tech shirts.

 

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Gear, Marriage, Medical, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It smells like a wino threw up in here

  1. Julia says:

    I imagine a bacon party is a lot like what the boys at Epic Meal Time do every week?

    My dog has destroyed sooo much, so I feel your pain. Goliath put 2k worth of damage into our first apartment.

    I don’t use a fuel belt, wish I could help!

  2. Kara says:

    I love your dog stories. 🙂

    You can get a race bib holder that’s not a belt, but I hate hydration belts and use a Nathan Quick Draw instead. So much less annoying (for me).

  3. pawsitivelife says:

    My dog prefers vodka…not even kidding…wish i was

  4. Katy says:

    A bacon Party? I’m intrigued….

  5. Mandy says:

    I want to try Krav Maga! Yet, another thing to add to my “in a few months” list. 😀

    I intend to get one of the amphipod belts, I’ve heard good things about them and I love the idea of how customizable they are. Of course – I’ve never used a hydration belt yet. Although I did buy one of the 2 bottle fuel belt ones for $8 at TJ Maxx.

  6. If it makes you feel any better- my yorkie destroys 1-2 dog beds a month. Without fail. That’s in addition to endless possibilities of other things – i.e. bathroom rug, leather couch, couch pillows. Also – why do we say “if it makes you feel better” when all it does is make me feel worse? lol jk 😉

  7. Abby says:

    Bacon party? I’m not sure what to make of that…

    I used to live with two boston terriers. Their owners (my landlords) offered them beer regularly. I was never sure what to make of that either.

  8. sara says:

    So far I like my iFitness belt and it has a race bib holder too. http://www.ifitnessinc.com

Leave a Reply

