Mishmash and assorted oddities

Good day: Pitch (the cat) left me a present
Bad day: Pitch’s idea of a present is a faceless baby bunny.  He’s mad that we threw out his leftovers.

Good day: I won the Strong Body by Rebecca Cyber Training contest!
Bad day:  I have to take pictures in spandex and post them on the internet (sorry if your laptop screens break).

Good day: I got in a good long cuddle with Delilah
Bad day: Delilah has fleas (glad we bothered to Frontline her 2 weeks ago).  Being a mature adult, I held her at the top of the stairs, shoving her at my husband, announcing, “this dog has fleas.”

Good day: Yeah, screw this, I’m over it.

Alright, moving on to regular format because I’m no longer in the mood for Good day/Bad day (Sidenote: does anyone remember the Animaniacs “Good idea/Bad idea” skteches?  Those this were hi-freakin’-larious).

Can I admit I do not get the song “California King Bed”?  Seriously, Rihanna, how do you always find random inanimate objects to sing about?  Will the next song be dedicated to a toilet?

My run today was HARD.  I found the aforementioned baby bunny on my way out the door (barf) and things didn’t get much better from there.  I didn’t feel like running, so I forced myself to do a double hill workout.  When I got home and realized that the dew point was in the high sixties, I realized that might not have been the best choice.  I have never sweat so hard in my life.  It was just pouring (ick).  My newfound speed is dying a slow (ha!), painful death due to heat and humidity.  I still haven’t figured out what to do about my miles this week.  I’m going to be in North Carolina from Friday-Sunday, so I’m not sure if/when to fit my long run in.  Truthfully, I’ll probably skip it since it is only 5 miles and I just feel plain run down and burnt out.  Shh, don’t tell on me.

In other news, I skipped krav maga tonight because I felt headache-y and I’m pretty sure they don’t have AC.  I’ll probably drag my lazy butt tomorrow, but no promises.  I wish it was closer and a bit earlier in the evening.  Actually, I wish they had a 5 or 6 AM class for the days I’m not running.  That would be awesome!

So tell me, dear blogger friends, how do I get my groove back?  Also, how do you not lose your mind when the weather blows?  One minute sun, next minute pouring rain.  My sinuses no likey.  Any dog people know what to do about Frontline resistant fleas?

I need some new books.  Any suggestions?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Dogs, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mishmash and assorted oddities

  1. Kara says:

    Frontline only kills the flea eggs, not the fleas themselves. You’d need to get some flea soap and bathe the dog (probably both). Also, you may need to get some flea stuff for your carpet. I’m making your day better, huh?

    If I get in a funk workout wise, things that make me feel better are (not in any order):

    Taking time off
    Bribing myself with cake
    Buying new songs for my iPod
    Signing up for a race
    Bitching about it on my blog

  2. Katy says:

    The Help by Kathryn Stockett (I think!) is fantastic. 🙂 I hope yourday gets better. 🙂

  3. Coco says:

    When my puppy left me a bunny “present” at our back door, I used the front door until my mom could come over and take care of it for me. I was married with kids of my own (husb was out of town) but I just can’t deal with dead animals. 😦 I liked “The Help” too. Have you read Tina Fey’s “Bossypants.” That should get you laughing.

  4. I agree with Katy above! I’m in the middle of the Help right now. It’s soooo good.

    Also, I’m so glad my animal doesn’t leave me presents other than tumbleweeds of hair.

  5. Abby says:

    How about combining book suggestions with getting your groove back?

    When I’m in a running funk, I like to read a book about crazy endurance pursuits to get my motivated. Have you ever read Swimming to Antarctica? A friend loaned it to me last year – it’s one of my favorites (not the best writing, but a fantastic story).

  6. I love the good day / bad day! LOL Actually, we found A flea on one of our dogs the other day too. I freaked out, told my husband to put the dog outside until further notice. LOL We never saw a second one so she was allowed to come back in after I calmed down, but still YUCK!

  7. Mandy says:

    I totally remember the good idea/bad idea sketches! Love it!

    I don’t use Frontline for that reason. I’ve always had bad luck with that brand – fleas/ticks. We treated Cassie with Advantix II this time around….I admit I’m totally a sucker for the mini-Cassie in their commercials!

Leave a Reply

