Race for Ellie 5K 2011 Race Report

Date: June 12, 2o11
Location: Olentangy Liberty High School, Powell, OH
Distance: 3.1 miles
Time: 38:40 (PR!)
Gimmick: Fundraiser for Ellie, a local girl with mitochondrial disease.  For more information about Ellie and mito disease, read this.

I have to admit that I have absolutely no pictures from this race.  Sorry.  My husband didn’t want to go and the rest of my friends were kind of busy running.  I hope you all will forgive me.

Race for Ellie was the first race in the Fleet Feet Columbus Race Club schedule.  I was actually not in the mood for this race at all, but if you do 7 of the 10 races, you get a free jacket and you all know how much I love free stuff.  It was super cloudy and blah when I left my house, but the sun came up so I slathered on the sunscreen and got ready to run.

I'm trying to hide behind some dude on the right because I did not have my official singlet and am thus wearing a teal tank top. Didn't want to ruin the picture.

Before the 5K, there was a kid’s fun run, which was kind of amusing to watch.  The kids seemed to really enjoy it, but I just wanted to get the darn race over with and the kids run started when I had been told the 5K would start.  Luckily, the kids run was very short.

The race started and ended on a track at a local high school, but we actually spent a lot of time in the neighborhood.  People did not seem happy to see us (this seems to be common at most of the races).  The volunteers in the neighborhoods were great, though, and very encouraging.

I started the race out with Sara, but she was not having a good day, so I ended up finishing by myself.  I always feel bad leaving someone, but I just wanted to be done so badly that I took off.  I was a bit more restrained in this 5K than at Rescue Run, so my splits were more consistent and my fastest was actually my last 1.1 mile.  I think I finished a little stronger, although it was hot and the last 0.75 was around the track, which made me miserable.  I hate track running because it feels so far from start to end because you can see the whole way around it.

I finished in 38:40, which is technically a new PR.  My feeling on this is that I’m not yet pushing myself as hard as possible during 5K races, so I’m hoping to really see what I’m made of at some point this summer.  Thanks to race club, I’ll be doing a lot of 5Ks this year.  Like Kara said, 5Ks are the run until you puke distance.

The best part of the race was the post-race food!  There was Jet’s Pizza, Buffalo Wild Wings, Rita’s Italian Ice and the usual bananas and water.  I grabbed wings before I saw the pizza, but I convinced someone else to eat them so I could devour a slice of delicious pepperoni.  I also had some green apple Italian ice, but resisted the rest of the food.

After the race, we went to MILF’s house for breakfast.  Note to self, always bring change of clothes after summer races if not going straight home.  I was grr-oss!  I felt bad for MILF’s husband because he had a house full of stanky runners and had to make us pancakes.  The food was amazing, for the record.

Next up, Westerville Rotary 5K on July 4.  Should I hope for another PR?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Race Recap, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Race for Ellie 5K 2011 Race Report

  1. Michelle says:

    Congrats on setting a PR, that is awesome! I agree, running around a track seems like more work than regular running, I try to avoid it at all cost. Let me know if you are doing any 5ks in July, I’m looking to drag my friends out for one.

  2. Judi says:

    OMG….that’s exactly what my problem with running on a track is and I just didn’t know what bothered me about it. Yes….it’s so daggone far around!

    “5K….run till you puke”…..yeah, that sounds about right. It’s so funny that I told someone that my favorite length race is the quarter marathon. She just looked at me like I was nuts.

  3. Emily says:

    Yeah I don’t know if I can forgive you for the lack of pictures. I mean GEEZ.

    Congrats on the PR! And, yes, always hope for another on your next race. Let the post-race food be your motivation 🙂

  4. Sarah says:

    Awesome job on the PR!! You should always hope for a PR! Work hard and stay focused you they will keep on coming!

    I love pizza at the finish line!!

  5. Kim (Book Worm Runs) says:

    Woo-hoo!!! Yay for PR’s!! 🙂 Congrats girl!!

  6. I love running races when they benefit such a great cussed it makes paying the entry fee so easy.

  7. Katy says:

    Yay PR! That’s exciting! Sorry the race wasn’t more fun, though.

  8. Jenn Murray says:

    You are so much better at these race reports than I am! I need to take lessons.

    Great job on the PR!!! I was borderline puke on this race. I’ll miss you for the Rotary but am doing the beerathalon, then Wellness in the woods?

  9. Kara says:

    Wait, you went to the MILF’s house? Is that a Freudian slip for MIL? 🙂 You can admit if you think your mother in law is hot, this is a safe place. 😛

    Doing the last .75 of a 5K on a track sounds miserable, I hate track running because I have high school flashbacks. Congrats on the PR!

  10. Nice job! I hate the run til you puke races, but they are fun to see how fast you are 🙂

  11. Awesome job on the PR!!! I say go for another PR because what do you have to lose?

Leave a Reply

