Are there any good songs with North Carolina in the title?

My weekend in North Carolina was off the hook.

I was there for a memorial service for my great aunt who you may recall died in February almost two weeks past her 97th birthday.  She was the family matriarch and loved by everyone.  I hope when I die that even half that many people say that I touched their lives in some meaningful way.  There was definitely some serious sobbing from me during the service.

The memorial turned in to a giant family party.  I “met” some family for the first time (that I can remember) and spent time with family I rarely see.  Aunt Martha was the family matriarch, so we all knew we needed to be there.  I bonded with cousins I previously really didn’t have a relationship with (we even exchanged phone numbers!).

The party really capped off with a midnight Bojangles run:

Giant bag of Southern fried chicken made by what I can only assume is a child molesting clown named Mr. Bojangles

Cousin G, me, sister. It was 1 AM and we were starving!

Turns out Bojangles is the name of a tiny clown which in unleashed upon your GI tract when you consume the food.  I felt like I was being stabbed in the gut for a full day and my stomach still isn’t quite recovered.  Since it was the South, the sweet tea and biscuits were included.

I did not feel so great when I had to be up at 6 for my flight, but whatever.  I was not happy, though, when they opened up the full body scanners at Raleigh right when they got to us in line (seems like most places use metal detectors until a certain time in the morning).  I refused to put my baby maker through that kind of radiation and politely requested a pat-down.  The TSA agent was pissed and repeatedly informed her colleagues that she was not returning to work when she was done with me.  The pat-down was nothing I haven’t had from them before.  I think I’m gonna send my new girlfriend roses since she basically went to second base.  We are *likethis* now.

The flight from Raleigh to Charlotte was amazing.  We were on an international jet (it’s finally destination was Turks and Caicos.  Yes, we did consider stowing away in the bathrooms) in the exit row.  Behold the magical foot room:

Best seats ever!

Husband is 6'4" and he still has some room.

We landed in Charlotte with an hour before our next flight.  Our gate happened to be next to something magical.

So excited! I've been wanting to try Pinkberry forever (and yes, I did use the Puma diaper bag)

My awesomely delicious creation. Watermelon yogurt with watermelon chunks, gummy bears, animal crackers and crepe pieces. It tasted like rainbows and happiness.

Husband's significantly healthier creation: watermelon yogurt with raspberries, watermelon and kiwi

If you see a Pinkberry try it!  The watermelon is nice a mild (a lot of real yogurt is too tart for my tastes) and the toppings are incredible!

And then we got back to the real world.  Boo.  I think the plane rides aggravated my piriformis strain (I cancelled my run Monday because it hurt to move).  Running today was not painful, but I felt so tight and couldn’t breathe.  The dew point was so high that my sweat was not evaporating (GROSS!).  I’m ok, but a little sore and stiff, so I foam rolled and stretched this morning and I’m icing now.  My butt feels like ice, but the rest of me is warm.  It’s weird.  Luckily, this is a drop back week, but I have a race next Monday and a week from Saturday, so this needs to get better ASAP!

And, umm, here’s another cute Rufus picture because I feel like this post has nothing of interest for other people.

Rufus says I should quit annoying him.

Have you ever tried Pinkberry?  What’s your favorite fro yo topping?  Anything exciting happen this weekend?  Have you ever eaten Bojangles and did it make you want to die?

Bear with me, y’all, I have at least one giveaway coming up and work should slow down a little soon!

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Family, Medical, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Are there any good songs with North Carolina in the title?

  1. Emily says:

    Watermelon yogurt?! What are you doing to me? I am in love with frozen yogurt and watermelon sounds amazing!

    And also you were like 45 minutes from me. I live in pittsboro, NC. And yes, I had a similar experience the one and only time I had Bojangles. The thought gives me stomach cramps. Never again!

  2. Kara says:

    I have never eaten at Bojangles, but once I rode a pony named Mr. Bojangles. 🙂

    I’m a sucker for any frozen yogurt, but not the tart kind. Ugh. Give me sugar or give me nothing!

  3. Amy says:

    Glad you had a great time with your family! Looking forward to your giveaway! 🙂 Hope to see you soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Kim (Book Worm Runs) says:

    Sadly there is no Pinkberry near me 😦 But Watermelon flavor sounds divine!

  5. pawsitivelife says:

    You’vee had quite a “touching” experience. I have never heard of pinkberry but it seems like something that would be RIGHT up my alley

  6. Sam Walton says:

    bahahaha…loving the patdown recap.

    so i’m totally weird and don’t like toppings on my froyo. mixed textures bug me, especially when things are frozen cold. it’s just so confusing for my mouth.

    sending you healing thoughts!!!

  7. Sara W. says:

    I am in love with Rufus! Can you start another blog all about the snuggly pugglies? I would read it like the next bestseller too!!! Promise!

    I want to try that yogurt.

    Watching your pups was the highlight of my weekend and oh – I decided I want to go skydiving – want to do it with me??

  8. Raquelita says:

    That amount of leg room is absolutely obscene! I’ve never had Pinkberry – I’ll have to try if I come across it!

    I was in Boston this past weekend doing lots of exciting stuff, including running a 10K!

  9. Mandy says:

    Oohhhh.. Pinkberry sounds awesome!

    I think I’m jealous of your new girlfriend. LOL.

  10. Katy says:

    Awwww. I hope you feel better soon!! A pat-down, huh? Never had one of those in an airport. Lol.

Leave a Reply

