Today=Full of the Winning

Holy crap, you guys, guess what I am doing right now!

If you guessed watching Star Trek: the Next Generation on Netflix while blogging, you get a medal.  I think I might pee myself in excitement (I’m kind of like a puppy).  Oh, Captain Picard, I love your shiny bald head.  Ok, truthfully, I’m like 5 minutes in to the first episode and I haven’t seen this show since I was young, so this could be horribly disappointing.  Also, I’m super ADHD, so I always have the tv on while blogging.  It’s a thing.

Anywhoodle, this was the first run I’ve had get rained out.  I was actually finishing up by the time Fearless Leader came to get everyone off of the trails, so I got my 2 miles in (fall back week FTW), but the lightning was a little scary.  Not scary enough that I wouldn’t have finished a longer run, but I think we’ve established that I lack the common sense gene.  I heard that the 14 mile marathon group finished their run, though.

After our run, we went to First Watch (don’t worry, Rebecca, Amy and I checked the menu last night and ordered the tri-athlete omelet).  Apparently, we chased off a couple with our shenanigans.  Judi informed me they were glaring the entire time.  I’d say I feel bad about it, but that would be a lie.  Mollie didn’t even make any goose noises, so I don’t know what they were so pissed about (maybe it was the smell?).

In other news, I got a haircut.  I go back and forth on how I feel about it, but a quick session with the flat iron might fix things.

The humidity is making my hair rather uncooperative.

My haircut happened to be right near Columbus Running Company, so I stopped in to pick up some KT tape.  I also inquired about Turtle Thursdays, which the lovely Michelle has been inviting me to.  I’m hoping to make it out in the next week or so, although I feel like I’m cheating on MIT.  Don’t judge me, I’ve gotta sow my wild oats (or something)!

I arrived home to another package (I love packages!).  This one was a prize I won for the virtual 5K for Autism from Alicia.  I was told I was getting a surprise, so I had absolutely no idea what to expect.  It was a tiny package, so I was really wondering what could be inside.  Any guesses?

Hmm, never heard of this company, but I know a jewelry box when I see one!

My new "run." pendant. It's sterling silver and I love it!

And because all of the pictures are unreadable, the necklace is from Endure and here’s a picture from their web site.  And I could genuinely never afford this necklace on my own, so thanks again, Alicia!  Question for you all, should I use a silver chain or a black cord?

This is getting long, but really, thanks so much for all of the support and advice on my last post!  I will have to stick to this weight loss plan, because, frankly some of you guys scare me a little.  I still can’t believe I posted those pictures, but I’m not ashamed of them.  And I still love myself (maybe a little too much).  I’m going to declare “Weight-Loss Wednesdays” so people who aren’t interested aren’t forced to skim.  I’m keeping a list of things to write about.

I’ll be running (another) 5K on Monday.  What are your 4th of July plans?  Anyone else running a race?

Edited to add: I thought I published this 4 hours ago.  Awesome job, self.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Friends, Gear, Training, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Today=Full of the Winning

  1. Kara says:

    Your hair looks nicer than mine on a good day, so bite me. 🙂

    I love that necklace! I’d wear it on a silver chain (if the baby actually allowed me wear jewelry).

    I’m a huge fan of Star Trek. My husband calls me a dork. You’d think marrying an engineer would automatically make me the “cool one” but I usually lose that contest.

  2. themadbohemian says:

    I love Endure jewelry…I have 2 of their necklaces and just love ’em. Love, love, LOVE the haircut. I think it looks fantastic!

    Breakfast is always fun with you. I think Mr. Grumpypants would have had a coronary if Mollie had started doing goose noises. Then again, that might have been worth it 🙂

  3. Michael says:

    Congrats on the “surprise”….I love that necklace. I think you could wear it on either and it would look great, just depends on the look you want. The black cord would be “sportier”.

    I love First Watch!!

  4. Running Girl says:

    Definitely love that necklace on the silver chain. It’s beautiful! And, cute hair cut.

  5. Katy says:

    I was supposed to run a race the 15th, but now I’m fying to NC to see the boy. ❤ Love the pendant! It's ad!orable

  6. Marissa says:

    SO happy that you’ll join my 5K! Email me your race time-when completed and then a picture of you before, during or after the race for an extra entry 🙂 Good luck and HAVE FUN!

    Love your blog by the way! The “run” pendant is TOO cute! I’ve had an emotional relationship with food for most of my life. I used to eat because I could control that while other things were out of my control…I battle it each and every day! That’s why I love running, it’s an alternate way to channel my emotions!

  7. Mandy says:

    I absolutely love the necklace!!!!!!!!! And your haircut look way cuter than mine in the humidity. 🙂

    And those people at breakfast, they were just jealous because they don’t have as many friends. 🙂

  8. pawsitivelife says:

    Fabulous hair. Cannot wait toread weight loss wednesady. This morning the scale told me that I cannot indulge in alcohol and chips on a long weekend without consequences…who knew?

  9. Raquelita says:

    OMG! Is TNG instant streaming on Netflix now?!? If so, there goes my July productivity….

    I hope your 5k was great! I did an 8K this morning and the rest of the day I’ll spend working on an aticle until we grill in the evening.

  10. Kim (Book Worm Runs) says:

    Umm, Turtle Thursdays???? WHY can’t there be something like that here?? Wahh!! 😦

  11. I used to have a HUGE thing for Wil Wheaton in middle school and watched all of Next Generation. Not coincidentally, getting into that show also scored me my first nerdy boyfriend. Oh, and definitely the silver chain.

  12. Sara says:

    I love your hair – it looks great on you!! I need to get mine cut too, but I never just suck it up and do it. I also like the charm you won – so pretty! I would probably wear it on a silver chain.

    You’ll have to let me know if you like Turtle Thursdays – I am just happy to hear there are other slow people out there! Because then there’s me who seems to be getting slower and slower. Yes!

    I had a great time with you this weekend! Breakfast was awesome and so was the race! 🙂

Leave a Reply

