Weight Loss Wednesday #1

Weight: 222.8 lb (-3 lbs, approx)

My plan is to weigh-in weekly and then take my measurements every 2 weeks.  Mostly because I’m too lazy to take them every week.

I started by weighing myself on the Wii Fit, which is what I was planning to use.  It informed me I weighed 183 lbs.  While I’ve obviously lost weight, I haven’t lost that much.  We actually just ran out to get a scale, which said 222.8, we’ll go with that.  It’s only been 5 days and I’ve lost an inch on my waist and an inch and a half on my hips, so obviously something is working.  My pants went from being tight to falling off (woo!).

Things I learned this week:

  • Chelsea is an amazing source for eating tips (and also just plain awesome).  I took her advice and got a food scale (should be here today).  I’ve also been using her trick of chewing sugar free gum when I’m dying for something sweet or when I want to mindlessly eat.
  • SparkPeople.com is a great way to track my food.  I can use my iPhone to track at work and I can pretty easily find my food on there.  So far I’ve only eaten one thing not in their database and that was a local marinara sauce, so I would have been a bit surprised if it was in there.
  • When I eat simple, healthy food, tracking it is a whole lot easier.  The time I used SparkPeople before, I was trying to eat the same horrible processed food, just less of it.  I was constantly inputting information and it made me crazy.
  • I have to take a friggin’ rest day.  Rebecca told me to take rest days, but I didn’t listen and this morning after 5 solid days of working out (both running and weights some days), my body told me where to stick it.  I felt tired and ill and achy all over.  So I took today off (despite the horrendous exerguilt).
  • I can still eat the things I want (in moderation).  I had a DQ mini blizzard one night and Fazoli’s for dinner another all without going over my calories.  The Fazoli’s was actually because I slept through lunch and needed to eat something (oops), but still, I can plan and eat a small treat if I want to.
  • It is so much easier to stay accountable with a trainer!  I know I have to report back to Rebecca at the end of the week (Sunday), so I’m less inclined to skip workouts and cheat, even if I’m not meeting with her in person.
Can I admit I’m hungry sometimes?  I wasn’t for the first few days, but now that I’ve been working out so much, I’m starting to get hungry.  I’ve started pre-planning my meals so I feel like I can eat my snacks throughout the day without worrying that I’ll go over my daily allowance at dinner.  I’m also sticking to the Strong Body by Rebecca Cyber Training plan meals of protein, veggie, and starch.  Simple and not filled with calories.
In other news, tomorrow night is my “cheat” meal.  We have a Groupon to a nice Italian restaurant that expires on Monday and Rebecca said it’s ok to cheat once a week.  I’ll also have a cheat meal the following week for my anniversary, but after that I’d like to go at least a week without cheating.  And by cheating I mean eating a meal that I can’t figure out the calorie count.
Any advice?  Is there something I should be doing to get less hungry?  Most importantly, does anyone know of a good protein bar without soy?
About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Training, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Weight Loss Wednesday #1

  1. Chelsea says:

    I was always staaaarving after my long run or tempo run days. I usually didn’t eat all of my calories on those days, so I added in a piece of fruit or something filling.

    YAY foodscale. I thought mine died this morning and I almost broke down.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Awesome job on the loss!!

    You have the right mentality & are working hard, awesome! I keep telling myself how much faster I’ll run when I drop the pounds, so it will all be worth it!!

    p.s. you also won my Running on Empty giveaway, check your email!

  3. Kara says:

    Great job! Why would you want to eat a protein bar? Yuck. Just find a piece of chalk and cover it in chocolate.

  4. Awesome job!!

    Go for protein rich foods to keep you from getting hungry. I have a hardboiled egg for a snack sometimes and that’ll hold you over for a while!

  5. TriGirl says:

    Wow! Way to kick off your first week!

  6. Kate says:

    I love a good protein shake, especially this time of year, but as far as soy-free options I’m not sure.

    I really enjoy these updates and have thought about doing something similar but I’m not brave enough to post my stats on the internet. I admire you so hardcore for your openness and willingness to share with all of us “faceless” readers. I’m sending all kinds of good thoughts your way!

  7. Sara says:

    Great job on the loss! You are off to a good start! 🙂 I’m so proud of you!!

    I enjoyed this post and reading about your accomplishments.

    PB goes a long way to fill me up when I am hungry (or almond butter) on a rice cake, cracker, apple, etc. Anything with protein! I like protein shakes b/c of the convenience, but like you, have not found anything decent that I can drink. We need to research that!

    Keep up the hard work – I am enjoying Weight Loss Wednesdays!

  8. Amy says:

    Awesome start, Sarah! I’ve found that I need to make sure that I get in all my meals and snacks or else I will be hungry, too. I’ve come to the realization that it is okay to have those hunger pains everyonce and a while. I don’t always need to feel “full.”

    I love the protein shake at the end of the day. I’ve read articles that say that it’s okay to have a serving of soy daily, even if you have thyroid issues. Natural peanut butter is my go-to protein. Like Sara said, it’s good on a lot of different things! 🙂

  9. Sam Walton says:

    girl, you are kicking some serious a$$.

    just found this girl’s blog today: http://www.canyoustayfordinner.com. she lost 135lbs and i feel super inspired!! if you need anymore online reading, check her out.

  10. Abby says:

    If you don’t mind, I’m going to share your blog with my little sister. She’s working on losing a fair bit of weight and feeling a little bit stuck.

  11. pawsitivelife says:

    Awesome Possum! Just so you know the first week always results in big loss, so dont get discuraged if next week is tougher. P.S you are a running mashins I think you ran more races this summer then i ever did

  12. congrats on the weight loss, that’s awesome!! Definitely be sure to take breaks…you’re more likely to be physically and mentally up for keeping up the hard work if you put some breaks in there. Hmm, not sure about the hunger thing, did you ask your trainer? I know when I am training for something and working out a lot I actually find it harder to lose weight because I get hungry, too. I usually just try to make sure and time my workouts/snacks/meals for within an hour of my workout so that I’m not consuming anything “extra”. And I drink a LOT of water. Good luck!

  13. elohorn says:

    congratulations! a good week always feels like a huge accomplishment 🙂

    it’s hard to deal with in between meal hunger since it just makes you think about food, right? for me, I just try to shoot for eating 5 or 6 times a day, anywhere from 2 1/2 to 3 1/2 hours apart. small meals but at least it means that food is never too far away 🙂

    also, drinking a lot of water and unsweetened iced tea & stuff like that

Leave a Reply

