Dogs, hip injuries, and creepers.

It’s been a week.

Puggles guard each other.

The other day, Delilah managed to eat a pack of sugar-free gum.  Sugar-free gum contains Xylitol, a chemical that can cause severe hypoglycemia, seizures, and death in dogs (note the Oxford comma.  Screw you whoever said it is not acceptable, I love the Oxford comma and I’m keeping it!).  We induced vomiting with hydrogen peroxide, meaning we had to jam a syringe of H2O2 down her throat repeatedly.  She finally vomited all over the carpet despite us taking her out side repeatedly.  Luckily, she threw up the gum and wrappers and seemed fine.

Until the garbage truck came a little later.  Normally when she hears the garbage truck, Delilah will try to hide next to the toilet or in the refrigerator (depending on what room I’m in) and then hightail it up to under our bed.  For some reason this particular week, she couldn’t stand the idea of being away from me and decided I must be holding her at all times.  She actually jumped out of Keith’s arms to get to me.

I was in a huge hurry while she was jumping at me.  I had just finished boiling Chinese tea on the stove and was trying to leave.  I ignored her while packing my lunch thinking she’d eventually go under the bed.  She didn’t and she finally jumped on the stove to get my attention.

The stove that had just been on to boil tea.

The dog was so panicked that she actually would have stayed on the stove had I not ripped her off of it.  Her paw now has singe marks on multiple pads, but she seems ok.  She finally threw herself under the bed because we were yelling (not at her, just in terror), but husband says she came flying out in terror as soon as she heard me leave.

I really don’t know what to do for this dog.

Delilah in her new favorite bed.

In other news, my right piriformis is now messed up.  This whole time I’ve been having problems with the left, which finally feels under control again.  I went for a 2 miler on Thursday and I felt achy towards the end on the right hip, but I ignored it because that isn’t my injured hip and either way I had to get home.  I could barely walk to rest of the day.  I have no idea if I’ll be able to race tomorrow, even with tape.  I am bereft.

Also, on my run yesterday, something creepy happened.  I was running up the main road near my apartment when a car honked at me as it passed me from behind (I was on the sidewalk).  I ignored it, but the guy stopped at the stop sign up ahead for an inappropriately long time, almost like he was waiting for me.  He only started to move when we realized a cop was approaching from the other direction (the cop was the only other vehicle).  Maybe it was nothing, but it scared me.

What do you think, am I just paranoid?

Sorry this blog is so poorly thought out!  I spent all my free time this afternoon finishing Divergent (READ IT NOW!) and now I am booked all evening.  I have a super awesome giveaway coming up this week (I’m thinking Monday).  Anyone have any exciting plans this weekend?  Is anyone else on Goodreads?  If you are, come find me HERE so I can shamelessly creep on your library (I always need something new to read).  Ari is my only friend on there, but she has an awesome library and I’ve already found a bunch of books I want to read!

Also, I’m on DailyMile and Twitter if we aren’t already friends.  Is it annoying when bloggers beg for followers?  I feel like a toolbox right now.  But seriously, I have 3 giveaways coming up, so be my friend.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Dogs, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dogs, hip injuries, and creepers.

  1. Your life is crazier than mine and thats saying a lot. Sometimes I really think of putting some benadryl in Nauticas dish to calm her down. Since Im already your best firend forever on all the random things i look forward to your giveaways

  2. Stinks about the hip! 😦

    I just finished Divergent last night actually! I couldn’t put it down, stayed up much too late. I don’t know what’s next on my reading list though. 🙂

  3. Abby says:

    Yep, that definitely would have creeped me out, too. Glad that the cop pulled up when he did, even if it was nothing!

  4. That would totally creep me out too.

    Seriously, I get weird when someone waves too long, know what I mean? You can never be tooo careful, right?

    I am not on twitter or daily mile else I would follow you. Sorry 😦

  5. Raquelita says:

    Poor Deliliah!

    That would creep me out, as well. Do you run with a cell phone and/or pepper spray?

    Friended you on twitter and daily mile.

  6. Michelle says:

    Sorry to hear about your injury. Hope you were able to make it out for your race! And perhaps I’ll see you at Turtle Thursday this week?

    I’m pretty sure that would creep me out. Little things like that make me reconsider running with my rape whistle.

  7. Kim says:

    So glad that Delilah is okay! How scary!

  8. Kara says:

    That sounds creepy. I usually go with “If it feels creepy, then it’s creepy” I’m glad there was a cop there!

    Oooh, giveaways. I like.

  9. Oh wow, your poor puppy! One of my cats is a little bit of a crazy when it comes to being scared of stuff, so I feel your pain. I am sorry about the stove incident, though…poor thing! And yeah, I would totally be creeped out by that, too. I bought a running pepper spray thing at the running store a while ago, but I usually forget to bring it with me. That’s the kind of stuff that makes me want to bring it, though!

    I didn’t realize I didn’t follow you on twitter! I just fixed that:).

  10. Yikes, your dogs are so crazy! Seriously makes for good stories though!

    I probably would have had the same weird paranoid thoughts about the guy in the car too…but then, maybe we’re both weirdos.

  11. Mandy says:

    What a week you’ve had!!! ((HUGS))

    And yes. Totally creepy. I personally like this philosophy mentioned in an earlier comment, “If it feels creepy, then it’s creepy”

  12. Katy says:

    Whew. I’m finally catching up on blog reading. It appears i missed a lot!! I hope everything is going is better and the puppy is doing better!! I’m going to check out this reading site now!!

Leave a Reply

