TMI and a Giveaway (girls only)

Alright, ladies, we are going to have a chat.  Sorry fellas, this post will probably gross you out if you keep reading.

Running on your period is a complete pain in the ass.  Pads chafe, tampons leak and Heaven help you if you have a heavy flow and a long run scheduled.

When I first got serious about training for a half, I began to look around for some magical menstrual product that wouldn’t annoy the crap out of me.  I stumbled on to a Runner’s World forum where a number of women suggested the DivaCup.  The reviews were glowing, everyone loved it.  I figured it sounded kind of squicky, but worth a try, especially since the DivaCup only costs $40 and is reuseable for abou a year.  Money saved!

I went to my local Whole Foods and invested in the DivaCup and the DivaWash (you don’t have to buy the special soap, but I thought it was worth it for the sake of my lady bits and it’s only $11 and lasts forever).  The first time I inserted it took about 5 minutes, but once it was in, I was set!  At this point, I can insert the cup in about 30 seconds with no difficulty.  There is a stem on the cup that can be trimmed to fit the individual woman and the cup comes in 2 sizes, size 1 for under 30 and no children and size 2 for over 30 and/or have children (even if you had a c-section).

Care of this thing is super easy.  You take it out about once every 12 hours (and this is probably TMI, but I NEVER get blood on my hands because all of the blood is in the cup), wash it with DivaWash or mild soap and water and put it back in.  I wear mine for my entire cycle with no problems or discomfort.  Right before my cycle is due, I boil it for 10 minutes and I’m ready to go for my entire cycle.

I have never noticed my DivaCup while running and it has never leaked.  I was so miserable using pads or tampons that I considered skipping runs on my period, but no more!  Also, the DivaCup hold A LOT more than disposable menstrual products, so no need to interrupt a long run to deal with my business.

For those of you crunchy types, the DivaCup is great for the environment and is made of 100% silicone so it is phthalate-free, latex-free, plastic-free, and BPA-free and, of course, none of the products are tested on animals.

Animal testing makes Delilah pout in a suitcase. She's also pissed about no longer being able to dig bloody tampons out of the garbage for snack time.

Health wise, the ounce markings on the DivaCup were how I could tell my gynecologist exactly how much blood I was losing the last time I had to go to the hospital.  It’s so much easier to tell heavy from light with this thing because you see the volume collect.  It sounds gross, but my doctors really appreciated me being able to tell them exactly what was going on.

If you can’t wait to see if you win, or you don’t win, you can find a retailer for the DivaCup HERE. You can also find online retailers HERE.

So, on to the giveaway!  DivaCup has delightfully agreed to send a DivaCup to one lucky winner!  To win, you must be a follower (leave me a comment telling me how you follow and what size cup you would require). Optional entries:
1.   Tweet this giveaway and leave me a comment telling me that you did.  Make sure to tweet to @RunningonWords and @DivaCup so I know you did it!
2.  Blog about this contest and leave me the link in a comment
3.  Check out the FAQs page on the DivaCup site and tell me one interesting thing you learned.
4.  Follow me on Twitter and leave me a comment telling me that you do.
5.  Follow DivaCup on Twitter and leave me a comment that you do.

Edited to add: I’m leaving the giveaway open until July 19 at 7 PM.  I’ll draw a winner the next day.  Good luck!

Note: DivaCup did not solicit this review.  I happened to buy a DivaCup and contacted them for a giveaway because I love it so much.  And I must add that the customer service was delightful and the person I talked to was very helpful and sweet!

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Giveaway. Bookmark the permalink.

91 Responses to TMI and a Giveaway (girls only)

  1. Pahla says:

    I have never heard of this product and NEED to try one now!! I am a follower on here via email and of course I follow you on “the Twitter,” too. I am waaaaay over thirty and have two kids, so that would be a big ol’ size 2. Thank you so much for this review and giveaway, even if I don’t win! I love learning new stuff!

  2. Kara says:

    Oh man, I shouldn’t have read this before dinner. I think I just threw up in my mouth a little. Especially with the ounce markings thing.

    So what exactly has having a kid done to me that I need a different size?? Is it just like throwing a hot dog down a hallway down there now?? Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

    • Emily says:

      Kara I know some under 30-year olds who are probably way more “hallway” down there than women over 30 with several children.

    • Tracy says:

      Kara, do you want a real answer? It’s like fitting a diaphragm – it has to do with the size of your cervix, which gets stretched out by having a kid. No hotdogs in hallways. And I was kind of skeeved out by the ounces thing at first, but then I’ve actually had (yeah, kind of icky) uses for it when I’ve told my doctor that my period was heavy and she was all, “how heavy,” and I could be all, “xxx oz. in yyy time.” Not a conversation I particularly wanted to have, no, but…

      (Sarah, don’t count this as an entry because I actually already have and love a diva cup!)

  3. Emily says:

    I’ve never heard of this but I’m super intrigued! I’ll have to enter the contest when on my computer tomorrow. Now we discuss poop AND periods! Wee!

  4. Kim (Book Worm Runs) says:

    OMG!!!!! My night is now complete. Amazing.

  5. Michelle says:

    So I heard of the cup a while back but never had the nerve to try it out. But if it is as awesome as you say, then I’d love to have one (especially for running on my period which I do every month). And of course I subscribe to your blog. I’d want the under 30, no kids cup.

  6. Michelle says:

    I follow you on twitter.

  7. Michelle says:

    Interesting fact, apparently you can still wear the DivaCup while skydiving. Yeah, I’ll get right on that!

  8. elohorn says:

    wow, I feel.. overwhelmed by this new option! I had no idea.
    One weird girls only thing though, that I have wished for in the last couple days… I’ve been hiking in the wilderness so much & wishing I could pee in any old place but I’m not willing to go there. But I saw something on a blog once about a thing called a “GoGirl” that’s like.. a portable funnel for female usage?
    I’d hate keeping it w. me afterwards, but I can’t say what I would have given for one in the middle of the woods

  9. I’ve looked at this product before but am still kinda chicken sh!t about trying it. Your glowing review might sway me though. Tampons are really expensive and I hate being so wasteful. I’ll have to think about it!

  10. Abby says:

    I have a few friends who swear by these but I’ve always been skeptical… A giveaway, though? That’s enough to make me give it a try!

    I’m a follower – and I’m also 3 weeks into 30 and have never been pregnant… Does that make me size 1 or size 2? Honestly, my period’s so screwed up these days, who knows when I’d actually be able to use it…

  11. Abby says:

    I have a few friends who swear by these but I’ve always been skeptical… A giveaway, though? That’s enough to make me give it a try!

    I’m a follower – and I’m also 3 weeks into 30 and have never been pregnant… Does that make me size 1 or size 2? Honestly, my period’s so screwed up these days, who knows when I’d actually be able to use it… (how’s that for TMI? :))

  12. Abby says:

    Oops, I didnt realize that posted twice – sorry!

  13. Haley Rhine says:

    I’m interested. I’m following. size 2

  14. Haley Rhine says:

    I tweeted the giveaway as well

  15. Meredith Lovell-Thayer says:

    I follow you via email and would require a size 2.

  16. Meredith Lovell-Thayer says:

    I checked out the DivaCup site and was surprised to know cups have been around since the 1930s. SO grateful that they are no longer made of latex.

  17. I follow you via RSS google reader

    (aviewfromvenus@gmail dot com)

  18. Annika says:

    I am following you by email subscription 😀

  19. I follow Diva Cup on twitter @venusetc

    aviewfromvenus@gmail dot com

  20. i follow you on twitter @venusetc

    aviewfromvenus@gmail dot com

  21. Nurit says:

    Follow you via email. Thank you for the giveaway! I would need a size 2.

  22. Nurit says:

    Tweeted 🙂

  23. Brandy says:

    I’m a follower of Divacup 🙂 I’ve wanted to try a DivaCup for a long time, but we are a one-income family and I can’t afford the startup cost. I would LOVE to win one! I’d be a size 2. Thanks for doing this contest!!

  24. Nurit says:

    I learned that the medical grade silicone doesn’t harbor bacteria

  25. Nurit says:

    follow you on twitter

  26. Nurit says:

    follow DivaCup on twitter

  27. Nurit says:

    @nurit02

  28. Naomi says:

    I follow via Google Reader and need a size 1.

  29. Naomi says:

    Interesting fact: The diva cup originally contained latex, but was changed to silicone because there are so many allergic to latex. (size 1, please)

  30. Trisha B. says:

    I just signed up to follow e-mail
    one.luckymom at yahoo dot com

  31. Trisha B. says:

    general guideline is to replace it once a year. I would need a size 2

  32. Jennifer says:

    I found you through the Diva FB page and am now a WordPress subscriber. I’m almost old enough for the size 2, but based on other indications, I think I’d go for size 1!

  33. Jennifer says:

    I learned that reusable cups have been around since 1930, when they were made out of latex rubber. Where have they been my whole life?

  34. Jennifer says:

    Following DivaCup on Twitter @noteasy2begreen.

  35. aprilvak says:

    I tweeted!

  36. aprilvak says:

    I found you because I follow @DivaCup on twitter, but now I follow you as well! I’d be a size 2.

  37. Raquelita says:

    I follow your blog, but I do it by checking it randomly a few times a week. I should subscribe by email….

    I’m kind of skeptical about this, but I’d give it a shot if I won. I would be a size 2.

  38. Haley Rhine says:

    I follow diva cup on twitter

  39. CLove says:

    I really really hope you correct a mistake in your blog post. There is not a year limit on the life of the DivaCup. I’ve been using mine for at least 10yrs now. It’s all about keeping it clean, the silicone wont break down. PLEASE correct your post, I don’t want all your blog followers mistaken about this awesome reality of the DivaCup.

    • Courtney, there is no mistake in my post. According to Sandra at DivaCup, “Depending on the factors unique to each woman (like vaginal pH, how well and often the cup is cleaned, what cleansing agents are used, etc.), the lifespan varies. Since it is a personal hygienic product, a general guideline is to replace it once a year. Silicone is very durable, but we recommend that you inspect your cup regularly for signs or deterioration (such as a sticky or powdery film, severe discoloration or odor, etc.) or if you experience irritation. Ultimately, it is up to the consumer to decide when she feels it is necessary to replace the cup.” In my experience, a year seems right on for replacement and it’s still a great value. You are welcome to contact me by e-mail if you would like.

  40. I follow you on twitter! @amileinmyboots

  41. I now also follow Diva Cup on twitter!

  42. I’ve always wanted to try one but never got around to buying one. I find it interesting you can measure your flow with the cup.

  43. Tracy says:

    I just twweted about it. @_mycrazy4

  44. Tracy says:

    I follow you on twitter. 🙂

  45. lace says:

    I’ve subscribed to your rss feed. size 1

  46. Tracy says:

    i follow @divacup on twitter too.

  47. Sam Walton says:

    never heard of this, but it sounds AWESOME!! of course i’m a follower and i would be the under 30 no kids category. great giveaway 🙂

  48. Tracy says:

    Just came across your blog from @divacup on twitter. New follower.

    I would be size 2.

  49. Jenn Murray says:

    stalk you on twitter

  50. Jenn Murray says:

    follow divacup on twitter

  51. Tracy says:

    I learned you can wear it up to 12 hours.

  52. Jenn Murray says:

    random fact I learned: if you have a tilted uterus, you can wear divacup. More random: mine is retroverted. talk about TMI

  53. Pingback: Weight Loss Wednesday #2 | Running On Words

  54. melony bush says:

    I’v wanted to try since you guys started this product, I love the idea, about reusing them, and helping save the planet :), but haven’t got the funds yet- but I would love to try them out
    -I would take size 2
    -sooooooooo excitted

  55. Effa Desa says:

    What a refreshing and amusing review! Makes me wanna go out and buy it. But gonna try my luck and see if I can win it here first. 🙂 Never tried the Diva, let alone any cup but have been pondering about it the past year! Interesting fact: You just need to change it minimum twice a day, depending on your flow. Talk about convenience! =D

  56. crazyrunner says:

    I follow you on Twitter 🙂

  57. Kendra says:

    I follow via email and need a size 2

  58. Kendra says:

    I learned that diva cup is the only menstrual cup available in Canada

  59. Kendra says:

    I follow diva cup on twitter (kendra_jaclynn)

  60. crazyrunner says:

    Tweeted about your giveaway!

  61. crazyrunner says:

    I drove to EVERY store on their list of where it’s carried around here. It took three hours and not one of the stores had it, so I am really hoping that I win your giveaway 🙂

  62. Brandy C. says:

    Would love to win a Diva Cup! (Size 2) I just recently heard about them and kinda anxious to try it out. I recently started getting my period again and I forgot how icky I can feel in the summer heat with it.

    Subscribed by email and following you on twitter 😀

  63. Pingback: Some days you just need a good brain dump | Running On Words

  64. Tannis says:

    I follow via google reader
    tannis_z at excite dot com

  65. Tannis says:

    I learned that the diva cup is made of silicone
    tannis_z at excite dot com

  66. Tannis says:

    follow diva cup on twitter
    @green_twiggy
    tannis_z at excite dot com

  67. Karen K says:

    I have heard about the Diva cup and have always wanted to try it. I would need a size 2.

  68. Karen K says:

    I learned that you can leave the diva cupin for up to 12 hours and that you can sleep with it in.

  69. Karen K says:

    I follow you on Twitter – mrsrudyjax.

  70. Tracy says:

    I blogged about this giveaway. http://WWW.mycrazy4.com

  71. I tweeted about your Giveaway for the Diva Cup.

  72. I am following DIVA CUP on Twitter

  73. I am NOW following you on the wonderful world of Twitter

  74. I learned alot recently about the risk’s of TSS and how the diva cup can really take some of that risk away. Also I have learned that my wife says there are more comfortable and really easy to use once you get used to them

  75. I am now following you! Love the blog – and the rest of the blog! I look forward to reading and finding some motivation as I too have just started running for my health (and sanity) lol!

  76. Also read the FAQ’s on Diva Cup website…..I LOVE LOVE LOVE that you can sleep in it with no worries! I hate the late night pad/tampon changes (and I dont sleep soundly during “that time” because Im so afraid of a leak!) Thanks for introducing this great product to me!

  77. Pingback: POST 100!!! | Running On Words

  78. Pingback: Friday Confessions !!! | Walk A Mile In My Boots

Leave a Reply

