Some days you just need a good brain dump

Well, I got a positive pregnancy test this morning…and started bleeding 5 minutes later.  6 miles hurt and I’m refusing to get out of bed until work on Monday because any position besides laying down makes the cramps worse.  This is officially getting tiresome.

Sidenote: Someone just Tweeted this link about (in)fertility etiquette and all I can say is OMG, YES!  Read it and stop asking married people when they are going to have kids for the love of all that is good and holy.

In other news, the anniversary was very nice, but we were about 40 years too young for the restaurant.  I’m pretty sure everyone else there was old enough to at least by our grandparents.  The food was decent, but I’m not sure we’ll go back just because the atmosphere didn’t do anything for us.  That day for lunch, however, my lab went to The Thurman Cafe (everyone calls it Thurman’s).  Thurman’s is famous for the Thurminator, a burger that consists of “Bottom bun, mayo, lettuce, tomato, pickle, banana peppers, 12 ounce burger, bacon, cheddar, another 12 oz burger, sautéed mushrooms & onions, ham, mozzarella & American cheese, top bun served with fries”

Two guys decided to eat Thurminators.

One succeeded. He then drank a medium chocolate milkshake from McDonald's. Oh to have the metabolism of a 20 year old boy.

I had the blue cheese burger, which was 12 oz of beef covered in blue cheese dressing, lettuce, grilled onions and pickles.  I think I technically had two cheat meals on Thursday, but the wait for Thurman’s is at least 40 minutes, so I felt like this may be the only time I got to eat there.  Sorry, Rebecca.

On an unrelated note, has anyone ever gotten back pain from their hydration belt?  I settled on an Amphipod 2 bottle belt, which I love, but I’ve noticed some crampy feelings right under the belt.  I’m not sure if it’s the belt or my bad back, though.  I am really tempted to get a Camelback for the summer, because I drank about 15-17oz of fluid on my 6 mile run+8-10oz at the water stop+10-15oz when I finished.  I think when I hit 12 miles I’m going to want 3-4 bottles, which is doable since Amphipod allows for expansion (that’s why I bought it).

Rufus on my leather Fossil messenger bag. This is why I can't have nice things.

Delilah got a Carb Boom Vanilla-Orange gel off of my belt last week.  I love the gel holders on the outside, but they might be too easy access for her.  We seem to be back in the puppy phase (her 4th birthday is August 1) because this week she has eaten a pack of gum, pre-natal vitamins and countless pieces of plastic.  She can’t stop chewing on everything she sees, meaning we may have bought wood furniture a little too early.  This has led to 2 mornings with hydrogen peroxide induced

I’m just about out of space on WordPress and half out of space on Picassa.  Where do you all store your photos for blogging?  I need to solve this if you want more dog pictures.

Alright, I’m going to go watch the finale of “Friday Night Lights” (we hardly knew ye) and feel bad for myself (I’m entitled to a little misery time, dangit).  What are your plans this weekend?  Any other FNL fans out there?  What’s the most ridiculous meal you have ever eaten?  Bonus points if it has been featured on “Man vs. Food” (the Thurminator has been on that show).

Oh, and I might watch this video about 800 more times.  It makes me laugh like an idiot.

PS: There’s still time to enter my DivaCup giveaway!

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Dogs, Food, Gear, Training, TTC. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Some days you just need a good brain dump

  1. Kim says:

    I am sorry about your pregnancy test! 😦 My sister has gone through a lot with infertility. ((HUGS)) and hang in there! I hope you feel better soon.

    Kim

  2. Kim (Book Worm Runs) says:

    UGH!! I soooo feel your pain..both literally and figuratively. Trying to get pregnant/infertility is such an emotional roller coaster and I have been there so I totally get it. {{{big hugs}}}

    On another note…holy freakin’ burger batman!! Eeek!

  3. Kara says:

    That pregnancy test thing is awful, I’m sorry.

    I happen to have a 1 liter Camelbak (for women) that I don’t use. If you want it, we can make that happen.

  4. emily says:

    Sorry about the pregnancy issues. I haven’t ‘been there’, but I feel for you. Consider yourself hugged from NC, too.

    I’m kind of glad I don’t like red meat, because I’m sure my mouth would be watering, looking at that picture, if I did! I think today I’ve pretty much eaten my weight in peanut butter, though. Peanut butter is my Thurminator!

  5. Oh, Sarah…I’m sorry about the pregnancy issues and all emotions and physical pain surrounding it. I couldn’t agree with your friend’s thoughts on infertility etiquette more–there should be a don’t ask, don’t tell policy. During the ten years I was married, we both got so annoyed with the ongoing questions. From friends I could handle, but people who hardly knew me? Not okay!

    On a totally different note, there is so many wrong things about the sex bomb video, I don’t know where to begin except to say that is HILARIOUS. It’s like Blades of Glory live 🙂

  6. Ugh, yeah my mother in law has been asking us when we’re going to have kids since BEFORE WE WERE ENGAGED. Not cool! And now that we’re married, everyone has joined in on the ‘fun’.

  7. Sara says:

    I’m sorry about the test, Sarah.Thinking of you!

    That burger looks phenomenal! I want one!

    Michael uses a Cambelbak when hiking/backpacking, but I’m not sure how i would feel about something on my back when I am running since I already sweat horribly as it is. I see several runners with them, though.

    I still want to try that all-you-can-eat Sushi place for sure! That would be just plain crazy! 😉

  8. 😦 so sorry about the P test. I can’t imagine how that feels.

    I totally agree that people should NOT ask you about pregnancy stuff. It’s too..weird/personal/sometimes just plain painful.

    And i use Flickr…I pay for the space – it’s like $20/year.

  9. pawsitivelife says:

    Get that running belt with four mini bottles…amazing! Sorry about your Preg test. If it makes you feel better everyone is on my case to get married and stop living in sin…which is not part of our plan, but everytime I see peeps they aways look for a rock on the finger

  10. Sam Walton says:

    you’re making me STARVING!

    and i’m bad about running hydration. seriously, i need to look into that.

  11. Mandy says:

    ((HUGS)).

    On the food – I have been to one Man v. Food place in Ann Arbor – best sandwiches EVER. I’m so up for a future to Thurman’s. 🙂

    Etiquette post – full agreement. One of the things my mom gave me last weekend – she bought right after Mark and I got married – 10 years ago.

    That video was something else!!!!!!!!!!! LOL!

  12. Raquelita says:

    I’m really sorry about the test! I wish I could offer more than words.

Leave a Reply

