POST 100!!!

Well, can I admit I’m sort of amazed I made it to 100?  Not only that, but I actually have about 50 followers and a bunch of regular commenters.  Great success!  I’m actually considering moving to self hosting, but I’m really lazy, so don’t hold your breath.

I was going to do a 100 post giveaway, but I have a few sponsored ones lined up, so I figure I’ll make you wait for 200 posts for another grab bag of awesome.  Sorry, I’m just cool like that, but I promise more giveaways soon (and these will be unisex).  In the meanwhile, you have one more day to enter my current GIVEAWAY.

In other news, I did something crazy today (like this is news).  Kara and Emily were talking about the Hot Chocolate 15K in Washington DC in December and I mentioned I was jealous.  Emily wrote a fantastic post this morning HERE about all the encouragement she gets from her online friends, and I guess that inspired me to sign up for the race and meet a bunch of my favorite bloggers.  I’m so excited!  I have 2 months post-second fall half to stay in shape for this, so my goal is to do at least a few 7 mile long runs alone to get ready because I think my biggest challenge will be that I’m not used to running more than 3 miles alone.  And omigosh, I cannot wait to run in the cold again.  The 90 degree heat index for three miles this morning was brutal!

And we get sweet race jackets!

My race schedule may be getting slightly out of control.  I kind of forgot I have a 5K on Sunday.  I’m still not sure about Warrior Dash on 7/31 because of my stupid hip.  I thought my doctor’s appointment was this morning, but it turns out it is tomorrow.  I felt supremely stupid when I ran screaming out of the house to get there on time and then the appointment was tomorrow.  Also, I caught my next-door neighbor peeing on my apartment (we have the end unit in a row of townhomes) wearing nothing but a towel while smoking a cigarette.  I have never seen a man in a towel run off so fast in my life.  I want to complain to the leasing office, but I also don’t want to start a war.  This guy is weird as all get out.  Advice?  I’d like to add that his apartment has 2 people living in it and 3 toilets.

In a fantastic coincidence, Sara nominated me for my first blog award (I don’t think she knew this was a milestone post!

So now I’m obligated to tell you 7 random things about myself:

1.  I have really creepy thumbs.  I’ve been informed that they aren’t supposed to bend back like that.

This doesn't really show you the full extent of my creepy thumbs.

2.  I have horrible road rage.  I’m so boned once I have impressionable children listening from the car seat.

3.  I think cheese is it’s own food group.  I love it even more than chocolate.

4.  I really love hockey…but only live.  I even own my local (crappy) team’s sweatshirt.

5.  I love to make people laugh and will go to some pretty extreme lengths to do so.  Too bad I’ve accidentally hurt a lot of feelings that way (sorry!).

6.  I love holding babies, but I usually go home and cry after I give them back.

7.  I’m writing this pantsless.  Most of my blogs are written sans pants.  I hate pants (and bras).

Ok, my 7 recipients are (and feel free to ignore this):

Can I admit there were about 5 other people I desperately wanted to tag?  If I missed you, it was not a snub!
How do you feel on the subject of pants?  What’s your favorite destination race?  Is Kara gonna turn out to be a40 year old man who thinks I have “a real purtty mouth”?
About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Friends, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to POST 100!!!

  1. Pahla says:

    You really only have to be careful about the road rage for the first few years when they don’t understand that you will give them a cookie if they don’t say F&^% in front of Grandma. Then you’re golden.
    Congrats on 100 posts!

  2. Emily says:

    LoL! Ok first, I hate pants too! I once dated a guy who was in Iraq and I’d email him every morning right after my shower with no pants on. Just underwear. He thought that was weird. Clearly I should’ve known it wouldn’t work out.

    Thanks for the shout-out 😉 I think I’m at around 130 posts now and I have a whopping 15 followers! Wee! I’m so looking forward to Dec 3. I have a lot of training to do before then. I’m glad you’re as crazy as me 🙂

  3. My thumbs do the same thing. My arms don’t make straight lines when I extend them out fully either. It creeps people out.

    I’d say 50 followers + more than 3 regular commenters is pretty darn good for 100 posts. 🙂

  4. Kim (Book Worm Runs) says:

    OMG!! That Hot Chocolate race sounds like so much fun!!! So jealous you all get to meet each other…you will have a blast!! 🙂 Too bad I am about 6 hours from DC or I would so be there!

    And pants are way over rated. I change into my PJ’s pretty much as soon as I walk in the door every night.

    Congrats on 100 posts!!!

  5. Kara says:

    Hehehe….yer reaaaaal purty.

    That made me actually laugh out loud. You’ve seen video of me now thanks to Alyssa, so rest assured I am just a creepy chick, not a creepy 50 year old dude. Now my husband on the other hand….

  6. Emily says:

    OH I forgot to mention that once I drove 45 minutes to a dentist appointment only to find out it was actually the next day and the office was closed the day I showed up.

    And also, I’m from northernVA near DC. I have road rage in my blood! I seriously would die of embarrassment if my mom saw how I drive on a daily basis. It’s just not fun unless you’re straddling that line between “driving fast” and “if there’s a cop around the corner, I’m probably going to jail.”

  7. Ashley says:

    I did a Hot Chocolate 5k in Chicago..it was really fun!

  8. marissa says:

    congrats on 100th post AND your 5K! You’ll do great, especially with that super cool jacket you guys will take home 🙂 HAVE FUN!

  9. kbates6 says:

    That’s amazing 100 posts. Congratulations! I am really just starting blogging and interested in getting consistent at posting. Have any advice? Ready for the next 100 posts.

  10. Abby says:

    I have to admit – I’d be enticed to sign up for a race by cool shwag. I love the jacket 🙂

    Thanks for the shoutout! I don’t have creepy thumbs, but I do have creepy pinkies. They top joint of both of them bends inward – just like this: http://nslog.com/2006/08/10/my_bent_pinky_fingers.

    And the midwife who delivered me had the same thing!

  11. Jennifer says:

    Congrats! I love your seven random things. I don’t have super flexible thumbs, but I used to be able to do a human pretzel. Haven’t tried for a while…slightly concerned I’ll get stuck!

  12. elohorn says:

    congratulations on the 100th post!! that’s exciting, to see your writing get out into the world & have people interact with it :]

    and it’s funny, i always use the phrase “real purty mouth” when i’m trying to be creepy too, haha!

  13. Mandy says:

    Congrats on 100 posts!!! Some day I will be as cool as you. 😉
    That is a super sweet race jacket.
    Oh…and I hate bras too. Ha!

  14. Michelle says:

    Take it back, take it back! Cheese is not better than chocolate! I love cheese, very much so, but I don’t think anything will trump chocolate for me.
    And road rage? Yeah, don’t get in a car with me. My parents are New Yorkers and I inherited their bad habits.
    I hate pants. Wait, I hate all clothes. I have a second floor apartment so no one can see me walking around sans clothes, it is glorious.
    Thanks for the award, I’m flattered. 🙂

  15. Sam Walton says:

    thanks for the award!!! love all these facts about you. cheese is seriously the best. thing. ever.

  16. RunningMoose says:

    Congrats on the 100th post! That jacket does look really awesome! As for the peeing guy? He started it- definitely complain. If it happens again, call the police- that’s just weird and creepy. Pants? Eh, I’m just wearing boxers right now, it happens. It’s too hot to wear clothes!

  17. Candice says:

    That jacket is awesome. Pretty sure I can’t talk the hubs into flying me out there for that race though =(

    Cheese is great. Holding babies is perfection. And I am all about taking off my pants.

  18. Raquelita says:

    Ah that race sounds so fun, but I definitely can’t afford another trip between now and January, as I’m going to two conferences in the late summer/fall and to Chicago in October and January. Gah! Jealousy!

    Congrats on the milestone post!

    I’m pretty sure that my blood is made up of molecules of cheese and wine. 🙂

  19. Lisa says:

    pantsless posting. you could start a trend!

  20. Sara says:

    Yay for 100!

    You already know how I feel about pants and blogging! HAHA!

    Are you sure we are not twins??

Leave a Reply

