Weight Loss Wednesday #3

Weight: 217.0 lb (-1.8 lbs this week, -9 lbs total)

According to my measurements, I’ve gained inches, but my pants were falling off on the stairs this afternoon.  Guess I’ve got the post-dinner bloat?

I’m officially at the point of being bored with counting calories.  It’s time consuming and I tend to eat the same things everyday because it’s easier to input it.  I’m also starting to have weird cravings (Trader Joe’s Mac and Cheese).  I don’t think I’m eating enough carbohydrates based on the numbers I’m seeing and my cravings.  It’s hard, though, to stay within the calorie limit and eat all the protein Rebecca recommends (148g a day).

Sidenote if you are new: I’m currently doing the Strong Body by Rebecca cyber training for a month.  I’m about 2.5 weeks in to the program, which includes diet and workouts e-mailed to me at the beginning of the month.

Speaking of protein, it felt like an angry baby gremlin was punching me in the kidney all yesterday.  My father and sister both get horrible kidney stones, so I really know better than to consumer this much protein without a lot of water.  And for some reason, my water intake has drastically slowed despite the heat.  It’s kind of annoying to have to go refill my Bobble every hour, so I think I might invest in the liter size.

The bad news is that my piriformis/IT band (right side) are too injured for me to run Warrior Dash on 7/31.  My doctor gave me the impression that Warrior Dash isn’t particularly safe when you aren’t injured and I have to say that Sara and I had some pretty negative experiences with the company even before this, so I don’t think either of us will sign up again.  Maybe I can do Hell Run this fall instead?  I’ll probably do a 5K that day instead since it counts for Race Club.

The neutral news is that we finally found out why all my hair is falling out (seriously, I pull clumps out of my ponytail).  My Synthroid was too high and I basically had drug-induced hyperthyroidism.  Too bad it didn’t make me skinny.  The doctor adjusted my dose, so hopefully that’ll also help with my appetite (too much thyroid hormone can make you hungry).

Things that are awesome:

Yay, we didn't waste thousands of dollars in student loans on law school! Husband got his official notice that he may take the bar in exactly 1 week.

Rufus wants you to know that this is how you listen to an iPod. Also, he's going to devour your soul.

 

Finally, the winner of the DivaCup giveaway is:
SAM from Walk a Mile in My Boots!

Sam, you have 72 hours to e-mail me at scs 1114 (at) gmail (dot) com to claim your prize!  Thanks to everyone who entered and I hope you’ll stick around!

Look for another giveaway next week (unisex this time, I promise!).

So, what’s your threshold for running outside?  This morning was tough at 75 degrees and a millionty percent humidity, but I had a great run.  Tomorrow is supposed to be significantly hotter, but I’m probably too stupid to can the run.

Does anyone else watch Teen Mom?  I’m so ashamed that I can’t stop watching this show!

What song is Rufus listening to on his iPod?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Giveaway, Medical, Training, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Weight Loss Wednesday #3

  1. Emily says:

    Oh my Rufus! How adorable. I want to snuggle him til he growls at me.

    My threshold for running outside is way before a millionth percent humidity. I don’t mind running in the heat, but I just can’t do it in the humidity. I can’t catch my breath. Thank goodness for my gym membership.

    Good job on the pants falling off 🙂 I don’t weigh myself. I don’t even look when they weigh me at the doc. I go off how my clothes fit. What I don’t know can’t hurt me! So go buy some new pants to celebrate!

    Also remember everything in moderation. A few bites of Mac and cheese won’t hurt!

  2. Pahla says:

    Totally bummed I didn’t win. Waah! But congrats to SAM.
    Yay for the weight loss! Measuring yourself is way too hard. I work at a gym and measure people all the time – it’s tough to find the exact same spot on a person to get accurate results. I think the falling off pants are all the measurement you need!
    Good luck to your hubby on the bar exam!

  3. Kara says:

    Um, that is an ungodly amount of protein. Around here, homey don’t play dat.

    I watch Teen Mom and I also love reading the recaps on this site: http://www.imbringingbloggingback.com/

    It makes me giggle.

  4. nice job on dropping some pounds!! i’m majorly married to carbs, so i would be a very angry bear without enough. i saw the “Sam” next to giveaway winner and had a minor freakout until i kept reading…next time perhaps 🙂

  5. Lisa says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! That seems like a LOT of protein to aim for. How are you managing it?.

    My threshold for running inside. Let’s see. So far this year I ran inside on a treadmill exactly 3 times. It was the week we had highs in the negative degrees. So I’d say, it has to be pretty darned cold for me to resort to a treadmill. I’m okay down to about 20 deg. Under that and it gets dicey. I usually just quit running at that point. High temps, I don’t care much for running when it’s over body temp. We don’t have much humidity and the mornings are much cooler here, so I’m probably spoiled. Even if it’s 100 deg in the evening, it’s something like 70 in the morning. If I lived someplace humid, it would be a different story probably.

    Sorry for writing a book for a comment.

  6. Kim (Book Worm Runs) says:

    Woo-hoo!! Congrats on the weight loss!!! 🙂

    To be honest I am kinds bummed Kara didn’t win…I can just imagine the blog post that would have occured 😉

    And LOL at Rufus…such a badass!! 😉

  7. I have watched Teen Mom on and off. I do love 16 and Pregnant. It’s so sad that it makes me feel so much better about my life and my choices. How bad does that sound?

  8. Sara says:

    Great job — almost 10 lbs! Hey, I consider that awesome. I, too, am getting sick of eating the same thing over & over again, but I’m worried if I don’t that some Rasin Canes will be on my plate. :-/ I’m going out of town this weekend and I’m afraid my friends Beer & Vodka may make this a BAD weigh in.

    Oh and Teem Mom is my guilty pleasure. I’m actually watching it right now!

  9. I’m horrible at running in the heat! I can’t do it! I used to be a lot better, but any more I just head to the tread.

  10. 9 pounds?? That’s awesome!! I can’t wait to go back and read about your weigh in’s so far!!

  11. elohorn says:

    I totally agree that wearing smaller pants is better than seeing a smaller number on a tape measure or scale anyday! congrats on your week, & thanks for inspiring me!

  12. Raina says:

    Sounds like you are on the right track with the nutrition…and LOTS of water when eating that much protein is pretty essential. My kidneys act up without enough too.
    10K is a fun distance. I have specifically trained for a marathon, and have raced several 10Ks- but have never use a training plan for one. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed my 10K special :))

  13. Kim says:

    Way to go on the weight loss!!! 🙂 It is so hard to drink enough water in this weather! I found myself getting dehydrated yesterday and I drink a ton of water!

    I would love to do a Warrior Dash or Tough Mudder one day, but I am scared of injuring myself! LOL!

    It is so hard to get that much protein. I track my food to make sure I get enough protein (I haven’t lately) and calories. Sure I could get enough calories if I ate crap, but we all know that won’t help us preform like we want to with running. I just have no desire to cook in this weather – I want to eat fruit, fruit & more fruit and that just won’t cut it.

    Best of luck to your hubby on the bar exam!!!

  14. Amy says:

    WhoooHoooo, Sarah!!! 🙂 I don’t always track my calories, I just go by the meals she planned out and figure they are close to where I need to be. I do use Spark People, though, so I can obsess about the numbers if I let myself! That does seem like a lot of protein…I’m usually around 105g by the end of the day. I love greek yogurt and peanut butter…two big sources for me! 🙂

    Glad they will get your Synthroid leveled out! My hair is doing the same thing, but for me, it’s the iron I need to up.

    I’ve seen Teen Mom before…train wreck! Let me know if you need a break from the bar…you can hang out here or we can head out to dinner, etc!

  15. Sara says:

    Is it bad that I can’t remember the last time I ran outside? I am REALLY struggling this summer – I usually don’t mind the heat, but this is just out of control. If my job did not start at 8:00 a.m. I think it would be easier for me to run in the mornings. How is it summertime and I am STILL stuck on the treadmill?!

    Rufus is listening to ‘Don’t Stop Believin’ by Journey because he knows in his heart he will see me and Grace again!

  16. Congrats on your weight loss and good luck with the ITBand! I had problems with that before as well. I hope you use a foam roller…

  17. I’m so addicted to Teen mom…..and Teen mom 2….and 16 & Pregnant…… no I am not 16…. 😦

  18. Michelle says:

    Congrats on your weight loss, that is absolutely awesome!

    Running outside in this weather is dreadful. I don’t think I’ll be waking up early enough to run in cooler temps, so I’ll stick with indoor workouts for now. Perhaps I’ll make it outside again when the temperatures cool down next week.

    If I had cable, I’d watch MTV all the time. Teen Mom, 16 & Pregnant, Made, True Life, some serious favorites of mine.

  19. Abby says:

    This morning I walked outside at 5:45 AM to find steam coming off the ground. I opted for the treadmill.

  20. WOW, that is a lot of protein. How come the training plan requires so much?

    • Rebecca says, “I see that you say you are eating a lot of protein when actually your body needs about .5-.8 grams per pound for performance and health, since you are running I would put that right around .65g. That would put your needed intake level at around 148g’s of protein.”

  21. Haha, I am also embarrassed to say I am addicted to Teen Mom! I am sorry to hear about the injury and not being able to run Warrior Dash:( Doing RunAmuck definitely made my sprained foot worse…so I think it’s good advice, though:/

  22. Mandy says:

    I cannot believe I’m so behind on your blog! Three whole posts to catch up on – where I have I been??? Probably napping. LOL!
    Yikes on the meds! Glad it’s fixed up now.
    Um – Congrats to Keith? LOL! I hope you both survive this week!
    Good call on the warrior dash – I’ve never been a fan of that idea. 😉

    My heat tolerance – especially now – is not real high for running. Last summer – I started waking up before the sunrise – when I had no other reason to be up that early – just to get my runs in before 80. 80 seems to be my cutoff point for outdoor running. Hard to believe that as a kid – I played soccer in the summer in Txas.

Leave a Reply

