Hydration and Heat Stroke

Ever since I started blogging, I LOVE when the mail comes!

Oh, hello gently used Camelback!

I posted recently about wanting to try a Camelback and the lovely Kara offered to send me one that she doesn’t use (bloggers are the most generous people I’ve ever met not met).  It got here today and I did not walk around with it on my back chugging water all evening.

And by didn't, I mean this is an action shot from a random hallway in my apartment.

And then the random poachers stepped in and started stealing water out of my pack.

Trust me when I say that you DO NOT want to enlarge this picture. I think I found a booger. Also, he's studying for the bar, be kind.

In retrospect, I probably should have cleaned it before drinking 2-3 liters of water out of it.  I’m gonna do that tomorrow.  Also, I can’t help but chug water when it has water in it, so I think I should start carrying it around at work.  Or maybe I’ll just try this (since I’ll look slightly less crazy):

<a href=""" “>

1L Water Bobble for my drinking pleasure. I'll drink more water if it's sitting in front of me and requires less trips to the sink.

You may recall that I already owned the smaller size, but it’s a lot easier for me to keep track of drinking 4 of these, rather than 8 of the other bottles.  And yes, in this heat, my goal is about a gallon of water a day.  My skin is clearing up and I’m crashing less hard in the afternoon.  Along with my awesome run on Wednesday morning, I’m going to take this as evidence that I need a lot more water than skinny people and their 8 8-oz glasses.

So, as you may or may no know, I am in the end stages of a PhD in Physiology (specifically cardiovascular) at a College of Medicine.  I am NOT a physician, nor will I ever be, but I would like to remind you of the symptoms of heat stroke (quoted from Epocrates, parentheses are my additions):

Key Factors

  • presence of risk factors (that includes running when it’s a billionty degress)
  • hyperthermia
  • profound CNS disturbance (CNS=central nervous system)

Other Factors

  • headache
  • nausea and vomiting
  • anxiety
  • dizziness
  • tachycardia (heart beating too fast)
  • jaundice
  • muscle tenderness
  • hypotension (low blood pressure)
  • gastrointestinal bleeding
  • bruising and skin bleeding

If you’ve been outside in the heat, especially exercising and you start developing these symptoms, you may want to seek medical attention (but not from me because I am NOT a physician) .  Also, don’t forget that your body also needs electrolytes when you are sweating a lot (in this heat, I’m skipping water on even short runs and gym trips and moving straight to Nuun).  For more info, you might want to check out this article from Runner’s World on different drink options for runners.

And Ima fess up right here.  I did not run this morning.  It was 75+ degrees and 92 percent humidity.  I stayed in bed and got quality time with my husband.  I have horrible exerguilt, but I know I did the right thing.  My body was craving rest anyways.

So, what’s your hydration strategy of choice?  How are you staying cool in this crazy heat?  Anyone live somewhere cool that wants a houseguest?

And yes, I am watching more Teen Mom without pants on while writing this.  I. AM. AWESOME.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Friends, Gear, Medical, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Hydration and Heat Stroke

  1. Emily says:

    I’d be doing that with a camelback if I had one. When I’m lying down, often I need a drink. I’ve thought many times about getting a camelback for that purpose. True story. (plus I’m sure wine doesn’t taste too bad out of a CB either).

    And also I don’t blame you one bit for skipping an outdoor run today. I had trouble breathing and I was INside!!

  2. Kim (Book Worm Runs) says:

    I LOVE my Camelbak!!! 🙂 Yeah, it hit 100 degrees here today…not that I was out in it since I worked 12 hours but it was still pretty freakin’ hot. I am not complaining though…I love it! 🙂

  3. Jenn Murray says:

    Quote from DH tonight “do you adult friends know you watch this [teen mom]?” I said–yes, they do too. psssh, men.

  4. Kara says:

    I cleaned before I sent it, so you should be good. It’s easy to clean, as long as you only put water in there.

    Hot weather tip: Fill it with ice cubes and just touch of water. Keeps your back cool and cold water tastes better. 🙂

  5. Amy says:

    You. are. hysterical! Rich loves his camelbak and uses it when biking. I’ve mostly drink water and some iced tea (unsweetened or with splenda). You are welcome anytime!!! 🙂

  6. Katy says:

    I have a Camelback free from the military, but I haven’t used it in ages. I should clean/use it again, because you’re right. This heat is killer. 🙂

  7. michelle says:

    Thanks for the info! I haven’t tried a camelback but I feel like I want one. 🙂

  8. Sam Walton says:

    awww, how sweet!! i’m trying to drink about a gallon a day as well. gatorade type drinks always make me feel sick, so i need to find another alternative to those…

  9. Michelle says:

    Wait, what your saying is I just have to drop hints that I want something and someone will send it in the mail? Alright, let’s see if this works. I’ve really been interested in getting some dark chocolate lately… 🙂

    This heat is really getting to me. Yesterday I was out most of the day where there were no water fountains. Since I was too cheap to buy a water bottle and forgot mine at home, I noticed myself getting dehydrated. Not fun. So now I’m going to be smarter about it, getting up to grab water right now!

  10. Abby says:

    I seem to be having the opposite relationship with water these days. Most of the time I’m downing 20-ounce nalgenes like nobody’s business, but for some reason, now that the temperature has cracked 100, I can’t seem to fill it more than three or four times a day. Smart, huh?

  11. Raquelita says:

    I love my Camelbak and am definitely going to race with it during my August half-marathon. I usually drink lots of water and for runs longer than 6 miles I drink a diluted G2. I almost never add salt to things that I cook, but in the day or two before a long run a more likely to add a pinch here and there.

  12. Mandy says:

    I love my Camelbak – although I’ve never run with it because it bounces too much. For my long bike rides, it’s a must! Never tried a bobble.

    I have been having the same issue lately – not drinking enough water. Seems truly odd with the crazy heat stuff. Must. Do. Better.

  13. Sara W. says:

    I love my water Bobble!!

Leave a Reply

