Wellness in the Woods 2 miler 2011 Race Report

Date: July 24, 2011
Location: Scioto-Audubon Park, Columbus, OH
Distance: 2 miles
Time: 25:18
Gimmick: Something to do with green living?  The race sponsor, Greenswell, says this race series is to “showcase the wellness activities at your Metro Parks.”  It worked, because I had no idea this park was here before this race.

I didn’t even know 2 mile races existed before this.  I originally signed up for the 5K, but I just needed a break from 5Ks, so I dropped down to the 2 miler.  According to the results, I ran a 5K with 8 something minute miles because they didn’t actually change my registration.

Truthfully, I was a little disappointed with my time.  Judi and I walked some in this race because the heat was giving her some serious heart rate drift.  The course had absolutely no shade, so it was rough (the sun, of course, same up just in time for the race).  I always feel like a failure when I walk in a race.  This is not a healthy mind set.

We must have run pretty fast, though, because we still finished with a 12:40 average pace despite the walking.  I actually caught up to Judi a little past the turnaround.  I went to a good form running clinic yesterday at my local Fleet Feet and the fellow from Newton shoes giving the clinic talked a bit about cadence.  He was saying cadence should be in triplet time, which really clicked with me (I considered a music major for awhile and I was taking organ lessons last fall and winter).  I focused on my cadence for a little while and went down to about a 10:50 mile.  It felt quite a bit more sustainable than I expected and really powered me up a steep hill.  I will be playing with this in my weekly runs, I think.

Anywhoodle, we finished and it sounds like we were pretty close to placing in our gender.  I got first in my age group because there were only 2 people in my age group for this distance.  Of course, there are no medals or plaques for AG in this race and I would have to be listed in the right race, but still, win.  There was water at least, but the post race snacks were kind of obnoxious.  The packs of trail mix were unopenable, especially with sweaty hands, so I ended up drooling all over some random dude’s trail mix pack because I had to open it with my teeth.  I warned him this might happen and I think he ate it anyways.

The park this race was held at is super nice.  There was a rock climbing wall near the start that looked, ok, truthfully, scary as all get out, but my friends assured me this is a “fun” thing to do.  I’m secretly a mega wuss.

I stole this photo from Fleet Feet Race Club 2011. Husband skipped the race, so this is the only picture I have. You can see the rock climbing wall and we are sitting on the ledge in front of it (I'm wearing the 13.1 Sweatyband)

Oh, and a note about the bikers.  I guess this race must have been on what is normally a bike path.  The entrance from the woods was coned off, but I listened to 2 stupid bikers announce that no one said they couldn’t ride on to the course.  Isn’t that what the cones mean morons?  And yes, I said that out loud.   The other incident was at the turnaround where 2 asshats on bikes informed me that were running on the wrong side of the road (the side we were told to stay on).  I may have called her a b*tch.  I kinda get road ragey when I’m racing, but honestly, she deserved it.  I will never understand why cyclists treat runners as second class citizens, especially when they are always treated that way by motorists.

Overall, this was a cute little race (around 100 runners total), but I would have preferred it an hour earlier (7:30 AM instead of 8:30 AM), with better post-race refreshments and with better “crowd” control.  I could, however, see doing more races in this series if my dance card wasn’t already full up for the summer.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Race Recap, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Wellness in the Woods 2 miler 2011 Race Report

  1. Lisa says:

    I’ve never had an opportunity to run a 2 mile race. I think I’d like that.

    Some of our races are on bike paths. Always seems to irritate the cyclists.

  2. TriGirl says:

    You are definitely in full swing of race season! Nice work! Yeah, there is definitely a hierarchy on the trails: fast cyclists–>slow cyclists–>runners –>walkers. Everyone faster than you is a maniac and everyone slower is an idiot 😛 But really, if there’s a race then the racers always have the right of way…maniacs 😉

  3. Katy says:

    Wow, I can’t believe the bikers were so rude! I would have said something too. Well, maybe not. But that’s cuz I’m a pansy…. Haha.

  4. Michelle says:

    You should probably give me a lecture on this “cadence” thing, I could use all the help I can get to increase my speed.

    I’m proud of you for getting out there this morning, it takes a lot of chutzpah to run in this weather. I went to the gym and attempted the treadmill so I could avoid swimming in the humidity, it wasn’t fun. Wish I could have been there with you guys this morn!

  5. Abby says:

    8:30 in the morning? Definitely too late for a summer race start!

  6. Kim (Book Worm Runs) says:

    I have never heard of a 2 mile race before, either. Congrats on the 1st in AG!!! That is pretty sweet 🙂 And I agree…8:30 is too late to start in the Summer!

  7. Kara says:

    Congrats on the AG win! I wish you had been with us for the 50K so you could have yelled at bikers for us 🙂

  8. Mandy says:

    I love that you said the comment about the cones. You’re my hero. 🙂
    I’ve never done a 2 mile race – congrats on the AG win!
    I am still in awe of all those running races in this heat….instead, I am impersonating my cat and taking impressive naps. 🙂

  9. Sara W. says:

    Nice review! I really liked this race – except for the blazing heat and lack of shade – not the organizers fault, though. I actually didn’t mind the snacks (I get freaked out about germs, so I liked the pre-packaged), but I guess THAT is negated by the fact that you also opened mine with…um…your teeth? Yeah, I know I don’t make sense.

    I liked the 2 miler. It was a good distance after MIT on Saturday. You are not a failure if you walk – don’t you always tell me that? And what in the world does that make ME? Ha! It was a good race – I am going to sign up for the one at Alton-Darby out by me. It is really pretty (and shaded!) out there!

  10. Sam Walton says:

    you are a racing machine!! great time for a brutally hot run.

  11. Lizzy says:

    I’ve never seen a 2 mile race before either! Congrats on making it through during this hot sweaty July. I think you should be proud for just running outside in the heat, such an accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

