Five Reasons I Love Myself (really, I’m only allowed to pick five?)

Sarah tagged me to post 5 things I love about myself. I don’t know if you guys know this, but besides my weight, I’m a really big fan of myself. My dad recently accused me of having hating myself and I laughed in his face because, honestly, I think I’m awesome.

I think you are all awesome too, for the record.

And no, this isn’t my way of saying I’m perfect or better than anyone else, this is me saying I know who I am and I’ve accepted that person. I went years being who I though everyone else wanted me to be. I was a vegan wearing a “No Blood for Oil” shirt. I was a slut (not really, but I let everyone think that way because they seemed to want it to be true). I was a nerd. I was stuck-up. I was a lot of labels, but none of them were me (I mean, yeah, I wore the t-shirt, but I didn’t really understand why at the time).

Then, one day, I woke up and realized I was myself and nothing was ever going to change that again. I say what I want and only censor myself if I’m at work or around small children. I allow myself to have my own opinions (animal products are ridiculously tasty. I promise to never do that to you again, cheese) and no one get to tell me who I am or who I should be.

Anywhoodle, in no particular order, 5 things I love about myself:

1. I may be overweight, but I’ve been saying for years that I like my face. Sure it gets acne (a lot these days) and these are some less great angles, but I’m no butterface. I also love how expressive I can make my face cause it’s kind of elastic-y.

 

 

 

 

I iz not an uggo.

2. My eyes. I’ve been told more than once that people recognize me by my strong eyes. I don’t even know what friggin color they are because it changes depending on all sorts of things, but I love all of the colors they take on and I really do think they are the window to my soul.

Eyeballs are for eating.

3. My legs. Why? Well, they are strong and they’ve carried my body over 13 miles in one run! Thanks, legs, I owe you an Epsom salt soak and a massage.
4. My sense of humor. I love to make people laugh (thus the blogging, obviously) and would be a stand-up comedian if I thought I could. Everyone in theater always said comedy is much harder than drama, but I never understood that. Laughter is how I communicate and it’s made me much more easygoing because I can just laugh at whatever is going wrong.

One of the usual victims of my insanity. I once made her laugh so hard she couldn't keep running. That was a proud moment.

5. I like my ability to teach people things.  I’m a good teacher (when I feel like it( and I’m really proud of that.  I just wish there was a way to apply that right now since we aren’t allowed to TA in my graduate program.

So how about you, what do you love about yourself? I get to tag 5 of you to blog 5 things, so I’m tagging:

Can I admit I feel like an arrogant yutz for posting this?  Do you feel awkward bragging on the internet?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Five Reasons I Love Myself (really, I’m only allowed to pick five?)

  1. Kara says:

    Oh man, I am going to have fun with this one.

    Your eyes are really purty. Can’t wait to see them in person one day. (Was that creepy enough?)

  2. hehehe, you can admit it. I felt a little awkward too!

    These are really good! Reading about them makes me smile. Go positive energy! 🙂

  3. elohorn says:

    I think listing your best qualities isn’t arrogant, it’s just a healthy show of love :]

    being able to teach is such a beautiful trait! it requires empathy, and patience, and intelligence. yay for teachers!!

  4. Mandy says:

    Only 5??? There are way more cool things about you than that.

    No – I don’t think it’s arrogant. It’s fun, for me, to see the things my friends like about themselves. I know what I like about you – but it’s pretty cool to see what you like about you. 🙂

  5. Mollie says:

    baaaah… this should be interesting… why meeee?

    def your humor is my fave. probably because i don’t have to censor myself b/c chances are you can (and will) up the ante, or cross that line. i love it!!

    and the zoo it is. we can see which animals communicate with me. there are geese at the zoo, right?

  6. andrea says:

    It’s easier to brag on the Internet than in real life!

  7. Don’t ever feel ‘arrogant’ about identifying your strengths. I think it’s a very good practice that we all need to do every once in a while. We spend so much time ‘stroking’ the other people in our life, we deserve a little “me time”. Your blog is great. I love your sense of humor and attitude.

  8. Sara says:

    I like this post! I think it is awesome that you can point out things you love about yourself – we don’t do that often enough, and we are way too hard on ourselves most of the time. I agree with all of these and I am one who definitely appreciates that you make me laugh!

  9. This is such a great and inspiring post! You are so beautiful:)

  10. Abby says:

    I’m late to the party but I love this post! Never apologize for a little self-love – we all spend enough time time being hard on ourselves!

Leave a Reply

