Weight Loss Wednesday #5, Illness Edition

Weight: 214.2 lb (-1.6 lbs this week, -11.8 lbs total)

Emily promised me a present at 200 pounds.  I’m excited and it will probably only take another 1-1.5 months!  Maybe less since half marathon training is really gearing up fast.

I'm really just posting this again for Emily. And yes, Rufus' lip is stuck on his massive underbite. Don't judge.

Tragically, I think I mostly lost muscle this week. I’m a giant baby when I’m sick and I’ve had a bad head cold/maybe flu/turning in to sinus and ear infections since Sunday afternoon. I’ve also developed a raging case of illness induced anorexia. It’s hard to force myself to eat when I’m already having trouble finding time to eat because of my crazy work schedule. My diet is mostly liquid and semi-solid right now cause it’s easier to choke down.

I made this awesome fruit salad and I've eaten none of it. I started feeling sick right after I made it and I haven't been hungry since. Does anyone else get really bored when bloggers post food pictures?

That picture reminds me, I tried blueberries and raspberries for the first time last week.  Yummy and I didn’t die of anaphylaxis, so I think that’s another food on my list of food that won’t kill me.

Anywhoodle, this cold also means I haven’t run since Sunday or lifted since Monday and I’m honestly to0 sick to have the jitters from lack of exercise. I’m hoping to be well enough for my 7 mile long run on Saturday, but I doubt I’ll be up to running again before that.  I feel like all of my momentum is completely shot in the foot.  I’m sleeping in as late as possible (I still have to go to work) and I spend all my time not at work in bed.  And yes, it’s been 3 days but I’m a totally drama queen.

The dogs do not appreciate having to share the bed with me.

I’m hoping antibiotics from Boston doctor will happen tomorrow so I can cut this sinus infection off at the pass.  The problem with antibiotics is that they usually make me really sick to my stomach and I’ve had Clostridium difficle from them (bacteria in the intestine that can only grow when you kill off the natural flora with antibiotics).  Still, if I can’t exercise soon I’m going to go crazy from the exerguilt.

My dad is supposed to be coming in this weekend for the Dublin Irish Festival.  I HAVE to be healthy by then, so I’m taking homeopathic medicine right now too.  Desperation thy name is Sarah.

I found Mr. Big Pants a sweet retirement home out behind our apartment. He did not seem impressed.

In other news, there is still time to enter my Everstride giveaway!

Anyone else got the summer creeping crud?  It seems to be going around.  What do you do to feel better fast?  Any advice on when to start running again?  I assume I should wait until I’m not dizzy all the time.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Food, Medical, Training, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Weight Loss Wednesday #5, Illness Edition

  1. chelsea says:

    Ugh, summer flu is going around here w/ the parents in the office. Stay away from me kthx!

    I’m going crazy not being able to exercise. And also it’s finally decent weather here so I am drinking a ton. WHEEE. Bloatymcbloaterson.

    Whatever. I’m over it.

    OOO Blue Angels are flying around outside of my office building! OOOSHINY!

  2. Sam Walton says:

    any “mr. big pants” references always leave me in fits of giggles.

  3. Kara says:

    Ugh, being sick is awful. It hardly ever happens to me, but when it does, I’m a huge wimp.

    I hope you’re back up and running soon!

    Also, how the hell did you avoid eating raspberries before now??

  4. Emily says:

    Ugh! I hope you feel better really really soon! I’d probably hold off on working out again until you can eat. I think it’s illegal to have exerguilt while you’re sick.

    I LOVE that picture of the dogs. They look so annoyed 🙂

    I’m still thinking about what your 200-pound present shall be. I want it to be epically awesome.

  5. Michelle says:

    There is no way you lost muscle mass in one week, I’m pretty sure that isn’t how the body works. And congrats on another awesome loss. Perhaps when you hit 200 you can give yourself a trip around the world (or just to California).

    Hope you feel better soon. Eat more chocolate, I hear it helps.

  6. Christina says:

    Nice job with the weight loss! That fruit salad looks amazing. I hope you feel better soon!

  7. Raquelita says:

    Sorry to hear that you’re sick! I have learned my lesson about pushing too hard, too soon and staying sick for longer than I would have if I had just taken a few days off and rested. If my physician gives me antibiotics, I usually won’t run for 3-4 days even if I’m feeling better after 2.

    I rarely tire of food pictures.

  8. I freaking love the pups! Even if they are ridiculous.

    How have you never had those berries before?? I LIVE on fruit in the summer.

    Hopefully you start feeling better. Being sick is the worst. I’m a giant baby too.

  9. elohorn says:

    Congrats on your weight loss, hope you feel better soon!

    It is hard to be motivated to eat when you’re sick, but I figure as long as you drink lots of fluids, you’re golden, right? All the antioxidants in those berries can’t hurt either! :] Also, it’s the strangest thing, but am I the only person in the world confused by the extraneous letter ‘p’ in raspberries?

  10. TriGirl says:

    Ooohhhhh, I have that exact thing. It started with swollen tonsils/sore throat/painful swallowing. Then I lost my voice for THREE days. Nada. Zip. (i’m a speech therapist…no bueno). Then it moved into my ears and there it has sat for the past 3 weeks. I’m now on my second course of antibiotics. I have a new appreciation for all the kiddoes i see who have ear infections. It’s painful, disorienting, isolating…blech. After 2 weeks I couldn’t get away from myself, all i could hear was my breathing and swallowing. My advice is to lay low…I raced in the midst of this, before antibiotics. Probably not my smartest decision 😛

    Hope you feel better soon!!

  11. hope you feel better soon. 😦 got strep throat twice last summer for two weeks each time and I had a head cold this summer. yuck!

    congrats on the loss, despite the sickness!

  12. Sara W. says:

    Congrats on the loss, but I am sorry to hear you are sick!! Those berries look fabulous by the way and no, I don’t really get bored with blogger food pictures. I just get hungry and jealous – especially when it is food like that.

    We are going to the festival on Sunday.

    I love the snugglys. Sadie has an underbite too! She could open a beer bottle with her snaggle tooth, I am afraid!

    Make sure you are hydrating (dug) and please do not run until you feel back to normal. Take it slow or less on Saturday if you decide to run. You don’t want to push your body back to being sick before it is fully recovered. Skipping a long run now won’t hurt you later – you will be just fine!!

  13. Mandy says:

    I hate being sick and am an uber sick wimp. I’m with the rest that say – take the time now to rest and get well. You don’t want to do what others that we know and love have done…run too soon and be out of commission for weeks! You won’t lose your conditioning that quickly. Promise!

    Feel better soon!!! (And no, I have no problem with blog food pictures.)

  14. Yay for being down almost 12 pounds!!!! You are VERY close to 200! Congrats!

  15. Kate says:

    Oh my word, those dogs are adorable. And YOU are a total rockstar and making me seriously jealous but mostly just super impressed at your weight loss success. Get it, girl!!

  16. Deanne says:

    I know this isn’t what you want to hear, but I’ve always been told that if your sickness is chest or above, to go ahead and exercise. if it’s below your chest, take time off. My husband always told me that and I never believed him. I would force myself to go out and do my run and felt better that I did, afterwards. Good luck! I hope you feel better soon

  17. Kelley says:

    Let me first start by saying, get your butt up and stop complaining! Just kidding!!! Sorry you’re under the weather, that sucks! Your weight loss however is awesome! The fruit salad, even more awesome! The pups are beyond awesome! I hope you feel better to run on Saturday, if not there are plenty of days ahead so keep your cooties to yo’self!! 🙂

  18. Rebecca says:

    I hope you feel better soon…I have found that drinking Kombucha helps settle my stomach, though I can’t really explain why. Possibly it’s just a placebo but it might be worth a try? Get lots of rest; you’ll be running again in no time.

  19. Christina says:

    You are rocking the weight loss! Personally, I love blogger food pics. Your fruit looks pretty tasty, and your dogs are too cute! I hope you feel better soon. 🙂

  20. Candice says:

    I so hope you get feeling better. I had a cold for over two weeks (the cough is still lingering), so I feel your pain.

    Your dogs look a lot like my brother’s. They are actually in a pic on my Q&A post yesterday.

Leave a Reply

