Stuff and things, I heart winning free stuff edition.

I’m not feeling it.

And by it, I mean anything.  Blogging, running, working (especially working) all seems like too much work.  Watching tv and sleeping are about all I have the energy for.  I’m tired and I haven’t been able to get warm in days.  I feel achy in various body parts (I’m constantly icing some part of my legs) and I’m hungry all the time.

I feel like I’m on the receiving end of a cruel joke from nature.

I guess I do have a half marathon coming up.  That probably explains a lot.  Emerald City Half Marathon s 9/7, which means we are less than 3 weeks away.  1 more long run and then taper time.  I’m quite apprehensive about this race considering my experience last time.  My short run times have gotten quite a bit faster, but my long run times still hover around 13:30/mile.  Which would admittedly put my finish time under 3 hours, but still, it’s frustrating to know I can run 11:30 miles, but not for more than a few.  I’m pretty sure I will be spending most of this race alone, which is disconcerting, but I’ve lived through worse, right?

And the amazing goose girl promised to meet me at undisclosed points in a goose costume.

In other news, I got lots of mail already this week:

EA Sports Active 2 for the PS3 from Dubya Wife

An iFitness belt from the Bitchy Runners

I’ve been wanting a small belt for phone and keys for a long time, so I was pretty stoked to win this.  I’ll let you know how it works.

I do believe you all are on to something living in my chimney.  There were no insects in the vicinity, so I guess we need to get maintenance out here to examine the chimney for critters.

I really am planning to run another giveaway this week, but I’m struggling with my product review.  Husband also claims he will write me a guest post in the near future, so things really should get interesting around here again soon.

Anyone tried a fitness video game?  What did you think?

How much slower is your half marathon mile time from your 5K mile time?

What’s your must have running accessory?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Gear, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Stuff and things, I heart winning free stuff edition.

  1. Raquelita says:

    I get your frustration — my 5k mile time is about 90 seconds faster than my most recent half marathon average mile time.

  2. Kara says:

    Aw, if I lived near you I’d come run with you so you didn’t have to run alone.

    Uh, I run 5Ks at a WAY faster pace than my normal races. MY approach to 5Ks is “run until you puke or pass out” and I am more conservative with longer distances. 🙂

  3. Pahla says:

    I’m with Raquelita – about a minute slower per mile. Getting faster at the half-marathon distance takes so much more work than going faster for a 5K! Sorry you’re not feelin’ it, hope it comes back soon!

  4. Kate says:

    I’d never be able to run anywhere without my music. That’s a lie – I’ve done it – but I would be not as delighted about the whole thing. I have a bunch of exercise video games and always lose patience/interest pretty fast. Maybe if I got other people in on the fun?

    I get the blahs sometimes too. You’ll get it back. No need to be “on” all the time – that would be exhausting.

  5. I’m with Kate. I get the blahs sometimes too, but it goes away eventually and things seem fun again. 🙂

    I only run 5 & 10Ks but my pace difference has been almost negligible lately. I haven’t been training as thoroughly as I wanted to for my 5 miler on Saturday. Stupid work and a cold messed everything up.

  6. April says:

    All I can comment on with any authority is the fitness video games. I looove my Wii Fit. I’ve been a fan of Dance Dance Revolution for probably ten years now, and it’s still my all time favorite, but I love all the other things Wii Fit does besides count time and calories. I’ve only got the original, so I don’t know about any of the add-ons or sequels, but there’s enough variety in this one for me. I’m so not a social person and can’t stand going to a gym or even walking with someone, but I’m super competitive, so I love beating my own records and easily tracking my progress. Now I can’t wait for the in-laws to leave so I can go play!

  7. pawsitivelife says:

    My half are slloooowwww, which means my marathon will be very slow. UGH. Must have run accessory is definitly a hat since my hair is always in my face, bahumbug

  8. Army Amy says:

    My 5k is much faster than my half. I can run a 5k with 8:30 mile splits. I’ve never done near that well on a half.*

  9. Michelle says:

    You are going to do awesome, Emerald has a fantastic course. Have you been adding any speed work into your workouts to try to change things up?
    My timing has gotten pretty bad recently. Last October I had a fantastic half marathon and kicked my own rear at a 4 miler, but these days it is getting pretty hairy. I realized that my next half is in six weeks so it is about time I get in gear.
    As for accessories I can’t live without, I’d definitely put Garmie and my iPod in that category.

  10. Christina says:

    I haven’t done a 5k since November, so I’ll compare my 5k time to my half time from around then. 5k pace: 9:05. Half pace: 10:45. I think I’ve actually gotten slower since then. 🙂 I kept a 12:40 pace on my 20-miler last night, and I think I’m going to aim for a 12:00 pace for my marathon next month. If your short runs are getting faster, but your long runs aren’t, try pushing the pace on a middle-distance run. You are going to have a great next half marathon!!!

  11. Christina says:

    Note: When I ran my half at a 10:45 pace, I did my long runs at a 12:00-12:30 pace. When I ran that 5k at 9:05 pace, I’d never come close to that pace for even a single mile. I always race much faster than I run in training.

  12. Kim (Book Worm Runs) says:

    Oh, man, it is like we could be twins! You know I haven’t been feeling anything lately, either. All I have been doing is coming home, plopping my big butt on the couch and waiting until a socially acceptable hour to go to bed (uh, 8 pm is socially acceptable, right??). Hang in there!!

    I so wish we lived closer because I would totally run with you!! We would be great running partners 🙂

    I would say must have running accessory is my Garmin and/or my water bottle/camelbak!

  13. emily says:

    I have a Wii active game. It was…okay. I got a little frustrated that the “weights” workout is using resistance bands and I hate resistance bands. Let us know what you think!

  14. My half marathon pace is WAY slower than my 5k pace. I can’t run like I’m going to throw up for 13 miles, but 3 is no problem.

  15. Katy says:

    Yay for free stuff! And I feel you on not wanting to do anything lately. Blah! 🙂 I’ve never tried a fitness game, but the boy bought a Kinect, and I am wanting to try the yoga….

  16. I am dealing with the blahs myself and don’t know why. We should blah together!

    Must have running stuff is a tie between my favorite hat and my amphipod water bottle.

  17. Yay! I ❤ you! I am still your biggest fan! Hang in there, friend, I know how you feel! I don't feel like doing much of anything either and I feel slugglish. I did get out and run this morning, though, which felt good. Of course, Daily Mile won't record it so I guess it didn't happen!?! Why is that? When did I let technology dictate whether or not I ran!?! Do you ever get like that?

    I am running the EC 1/4 so I will be there to cheer you on. Just remember, no matter how slow you run, you run faster than me on both days! You are supposed to run shorter distances faster than the long. I learned that on Saturday – if we ran that fast during a long run, it would not be good per Fearless Leader. You are doing awesome right where you are! Hang in there!!

    I tried the Wii Fitness with my MIL and SIL – not fun, not even fun.

  18. JenWa098 says:

    I haven’t raced enough to know and my first half wasn’t that stellar because it was such a tough course. I am training for my second half followed by a 5k a few weeks later and I’ll get back to ya!

    I love my hydration belt for long runs. I don’t listen to music when running. I have thought about it, but I am afraid I would lolligag along because I don’t multitask well. I also love my shoes. I have stockpiled an additional two pair. (Adidas Kanadia TR 3…a trail running shoe). They are a cheaper shoe, but they are the most comfortable I have ever worn. I love them because I run a lot of dirt roads/logging roads that aren’t maintained and they have terrific traction.

  19. I am that slow runner who has the same 5K mile split as a half marathon mile split…I am lucky like that. Besides the running necessities: ipod, gu…I love my hydration belt. I am one of those crazy drinkers…I have to be drinking all damn day so while I run is no different.

  20. Sam says:

    my HM time is quite a bit slower – maybe 1min to 1:30 slower pace. i’m sorry you’re achy and work sucks. maybe you’ll get a killer HM time and feel back to normal instantly!

    Sam @ fitness food & faith

  21. Abby says:

    I have the opposite problem. I’ve never actually run a 5k, but I’m such a terrible sprinter that I’m pretty sure my 5k pace would be really similar to my 13.1 pace, which is strikingly close to my 26.2 pace. It’s a little pathetic, actually.

  22. marissa says:

    I did Jillian on the wii a few years ago and thought it was BORING. But hopefully yours is a better experience. I felt like it wasn’t really a “workout”, more like a game. Which I guess is good? I just didn’t sweat near enough or feel the burn like I Should have. Woohoo, I am feeling the same way…weather is sending me in a deep running funk! Ugh.

Leave a Reply

