Weight Loss Wednesday #7

Weight: 211 lb (-2 lbs this week, -15 lbs total)–closer to 200 than to my starting weight!

15 pounds in just under 7 weeks!  I’m right on track as far as “healthy” weight loss, although I still want to see more NOW.  It’s not helping that I’m bloated, so even though I’ve finally started losing inches in my arms and legs, my hips and waist stayed the same this week.  And my chest grew to epic proportions.

It’s been about 3 weeks since I last lifted.  I know, I know.  I was sick and now I have some personal stuff and I’m going to get back to it next week.  I just hope I’m not losing a lot of muscle mass.

Still, 15 pounds, you guys!  I was hoping to be able to get a FitBit as my 15 pound reward, but my car cost me $700 today, so I’ll be lucky if I can pay that off.  Ever.  Sheesh.

I’m currently in the phase of half marathon training where I’m hungry ALL THE TIME.  Considering that I have 3 long races left this year (9/4, 10/16, and 12/3), I’m guessing I’m just going to be hungry for the rest of the year.  And lately, my hunger makes me think about cheese nonstop.  I love cheese so much it hurts when we are apart (and that’s why I didn’t last as a vegan).

Umm, really, that’s all I’ve got in me today.  I’m drained, my stomach is killing me, and I’m at the end of the two week wait, which is making me particularly insane this month.  I want to be excited about losing 15 pounds, but right now it doesn’t seem like enough.  Actually, nothing I do feels like enough.  I feel stagnant and in desperate need of a change, but I’m not sure what that would be.  Kate made a great point about not always needing to be on, but honestly, the only time I don’t have to be on is at home with my husband.

Well, maybe cute pictures of my dogs can cheer me up?

Maybe if I hide behind Delilah no one will notice me.

Delilah is dreaming of eating your soul.

Rufus doesn't understand how I think you will accept this instead of real blogging.

Bedtime! I made that blanket, BTW. It's an Iowa Hawkeyes throw for my husband who is from Iowa. And Texas.

Um, right, so on that note, what do you do to get out of a funk?

What’s your favorite kind of cheese?  Favorite cheesy dish?  I’ve been daydreaming about pizza forever (the problem is the pizza in this city, quite frankly, blows).

OH!  I almost forgot, husband has an interview at a law firm tomorrow afternoon!!!  We are arguing over what he should say his biggest weakness is.  Any suggestions?  Suggestions that aren’t cliche?  And if you are the praying type, we could use it.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Dogs, Food, Marriage, Training, TTC, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Weight Loss Wednesday #7

  1. michelle says:

    Congrats on the loss! You’re doing great!! 🙂

    I hear you with the needing a change. I’ve been feeling like that a lot lately. I recently started reading a great book by Tara Brach called Radical Acceptance. She’s a Buddhist meditation teacher and psychologist. I’m not a Buddhist (I’m a practicing Catholic) and I still find her message and her techniques to be helpful. If you’re not ready for a book or something, I do recommend her podcasts. They are free online at iTunes or at imcw.org. Whenever I listen to her talks I feel better and can kinda get what’s making me feel “off.” Like I said, you don’t have to be a Buddhist to get it- it’s really helpful for me and a few of my friends who listen regularly.

    I love goat cheese and any cheese that’s spicy!

    I’m sending thoughts, prayers, vibes, and good luck to your husband tomorrow!!

  2. Kim (Book Worm Runs) says:

    Holy cow, woman, you are a rock star!! Keep up the amazing work!! 🙂

    Much thoughts and prayers to your husband in his interview and for you during the 2WW!! xoxo

  3. Christina says:

    Nice loss this week! You are doing awesome!

    What kind of change do you want? Be the change you want to see. 🙂

    Good luck to your hubby! I’m the horribly honest type, so in interviews I’ll share that my weakness is that I’m not very sociable (seriously, I even try to avoid eye contact with most of the neighbors).

  4. Kara says:

    Awesome weight reduction!!

    I love mac and cheese and cheese sandwiches. I’m a wild one.

    I always say my biggest weakness is working too hard and not knowing how to stop working and thinking about work all the time. It’s such BS, but they love it.

  5. aprilvak says:

    Great job on your weight loss! I’m really proud of you!

    I have been on this Cabot Extra Sharp Cheddar kick for a while now. It is fantastic in slices with some maple syrup, just trust me on this.

    Good luck to your hubby!!!

  6. Mollie says:

    congrats on the weight loss! 🙂 you look dead sexy to me (HAH! get it? dead? since we’re vampire partners?)

    ….ANYwho. i’ve been dreaming of that queso we had the other day. NOM NOM NOM. and i keep hearing hound dog pizza (on campus?) is good, but i’ve never been so i can’t really comment. plus, i’m a big fan of chain pizza, so i’m easy to please.

    GOOD LUCK HUBBY! for “weakness” the idea is to make it sound like an opportunity for growth or something, so think of it from that angle. i said my biggest weakness is lack of experience. why? ’cause it’s true! straight out of college the only “experience” i have is classroom “real world” group projects, so obviously compared to more tenured professionals i don’t stack up when it comes to real world application. (plus someone told me to give that answer lol, i think it was a guest lecturer).

    hope it helps and CANNOTWAITTOSEEYOU!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Michelle says:

    Two more pounds?! You are a rock star! Keep up the awesome work, you’ll be down past 200 before you know it.

    Cheese is one of the best things on this planet. You know that whole, would you give up cheese or oral sex debate? There is no way in hell I’d give up cheese. Also, take Mollie’s advice, Hound dogs is absolutely fantastic and they are open 24 hours a day! Check out their website for some coupons – http://hounddogspizza.com/

    Good luck to husband!

  8. Hmm, when people ask me what my weakness is, I often say that I tend to be a perfectionist… and it’s the truth. That question is like a death trap. If necessary, give a brief scenario of when it happened and how you overcame it or are overcoming it.

  9. emily says:

    15 pounds…sweet!! I need to order your gift soon 🙂

    Mmmm cheese. I love swiss and provolone. And now I’m craving pizza. Totally your fault.

    The dogs are so cute! Oh and I got the metal buckles, by the way. We need to talk about the designs you’d like for Rufus and Delilah! (I’m so glad we have fun pet names…i mean..names for our pets. heh)

  10. I love any kind of cheese. If it’s cheese, I’ll eat it.

    Awesome job on your weight loss! 15 lbs is AWESOME!!!!

    Good luck to your husband on his interview 🙂

  11. JenWa098 says:

    I used to work for a job service for displaced workers…NEVER tell an employer anything that puts you in a bad light. A biggest weakness might be “I put in long hours” or “I’m a perfectionist”. Tell them something that is actually a “positive” for them. NEVER say things like, “Well, I have a hard time getting out of bed” or anything that is actually negative. Also, if your husband has a chance…look over the law firms website or do some checking into anything “extra” they do (like some law firms have their lawyers volunteer time in the community) and try to mention how much he wants to be a part of that. It will impress them that he checked into them.

  12. Amy says:

    Awesome results, Sarah!!!! 😀 Praying for Keith’s interview today! Keep us posted!

  13. Sam says:

    pizza
    lasagna
    cheese sticks
    grilled cheese
    cheese on crackers
    cheddar cheese and apples
    cottage cheese and tomatoes
    cheese whiz straight in the mouth

    oh man, i LOVE my cheese!!!

    great job on the weightloss 🙂

    Sam @ fitness food & faith

  14. pawsitivelife says:

    You have not plateaued …you are doing amazing but I totally understand when it doesnt FEEL like enough, dont let it become a problem and still remember to enjoy life

  15. Jen says:

    You are doing amazing. Sometimes no matter what you do it will just suck. KEEP IT UP!!! Way to go. =)

    To get out of a funk I typically have to just throw myself into whatever it is I need to do. Literally throw myself into it.

  16. SNUGGLIES MAKE EVERYTHING BETTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am super-proud of your 15 lb weight loss. Every pound matters – just like every step when we are running. You will get there! I have plateaued (and fallen off the wagon!) and that is just hard to “digest” if you will!

    I don’t know how to get out of a funk when it seems to never end. Hanging out with you usually makes me feel better and get in a laugh or two!

    I want that Queso!

  17. Your weight loss is incredible! Seriously. Also, YOUR DOG. I can never get enough.

  18. jen says:

    15 pounds is awesome!! Congrats, girl!

    I know that feeling of always being hungry in the middle of training. So annoying but just keep on fueling on good stuff.

    MMMM cheese. I love cheese. I love the usual suspects but also enjoy a fruit, nut and cheese platter with a little (or a lot) of red wine.

  19. Megan says:

    Oh my gosh, GOOD FOR YOU, girl!! That is amazing!!!!!!!

    Your puppies are SO SO adorable. They totally made me smile!

  20. Mandy says:

    Mmmmm. Cheese.

    Awesome job on the weight loss!

Leave a Reply

