Sleep, that’s where I’m a viking!

I know I owe you guys some real posting, but I am so tired.

It’s like that bone tired, can’t think, can’t move tired.  And I keep waking up before 5 AM on my own.  It’s rough.  And I’m not getting my work writing done because I can’t concentrate from being so stressed out and tired.  And then I get more stressed out and more tired.  Vicious cycle.

Anyways, I very stupidly did a 9 mile run yesterday when I knew (and was told) that I really only had something shorter in me.  I should learn to take the advice I ask for instead of trying to plow ahead.  I’m just so torn between my desire to finish this half in 2 weeks and my need to actually take care of myself.

For the record, everything is fine, but I was too tired after and it sucked.  I will be consulting my physician this week to rethink my race schedule.  Because half marathons will still be there when I’m feeling better.  It’s not like they are going to stop having them all the sudden.

And now, I’m going to bed in hopes I wake up at a normal time tomorrow actually feeling refreshed.  Sometimes you just have to give yourself permission to read blogs later and finish your paper in the morning.  It’s going to be a long week anyways, might as well start it feeling like a human being.

Also, sleeping means I get to cuddle the puggles.

All Rufus wants is your love and affection. Or your eggs. I should know better than to eat breakfast in bed.

How I spent all my free time (what little I had) this weekend. Cuddling and writing a paper. And for the record, I hate Iowa, but that blanket is warm and husband is a huge fan and he's upset that we can't afford to turn the cable back on for football season.

So tell me, internetz, what’s new with you?  Anyone else ever have to can some races for the sake of sanity and overall well-being?  What did you do this weekend.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Dogs, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sleep, that’s where I’m a viking!

  1. Kara says:

    How dare you disregard my pre-6am twitter medical advice! 🙂

    I hope you wake up tomorrow feeling rested and ready to tackle the week!

  2. Army Amy says:

    I can’t get over the cuteness that is your dogs!

    When you are really motivated, it’s hard to scale back and take it easy even if you know you should. I hope you are able to get some sleep and take it easy!*

  3. Yeah, you are definitely allowed to skip blogs in favor of the pups and sleep! i hope you feel better in the morning 🙂

  4. aprilvak says:

    You poor thing, I was napping when you posted this, I’m so tired! We all have those days (or weeks, or months). It’ll get better!

  5. Kate says:

    I also did a stupid run this weekend. What was with the lack of good sense this weekend? Good grief. Any shot of dropping down in any of those races? Like a 5 or 10k instead of a half? Hope you feel better soon!

  6. biz319 says:

    Hope you got a good nights sleep!

  7. Sam says:

    we just finished house sitting/dog sitting for a week. i don’t know how you dog owners sleep with a dog in the bed – they are so wiggly!

    Sam @ fitness food & faith

  8. amandasvids says:

    Cuddling puppies is the best!

  9. I ran 8.75 miles with you! Feel better soon, friend!!

  10. Take care of yourself….or I will have to cut you!

  11. Michelle says:

    Glad you are having plenty of puppy cuddling! Now go get some serious rest.
    I spent my weekend in Philadelphia at HLS and I’m currently exploring New York with bloggers. It is fantastic, but I can’t say anything positive about my eating… Speaking of which, I think it is time to eat my Peanut Butter & Co. sandwich (with fluffernutter).

  12. Raquelita says:

    Chica, I canned to half-marathons the spring of the year that I finished my dissertation. I was just too overwhelmed with work (finishing the diss and teaching at two institutions). I thought I would be able to still fit in training when I signed up for them, but I could really only fit 2-3 miles in 2-3 times a week. It was better to DNS than to get injured or start to hate running.

    I hope you feel better soon. Get some rest and enjoy the puppy snuggles!

  13. Raquelita says:

    And that should be two not to…. I despise typos.

  14. sleep trumps everything in my world!

    I am excited and terribly nervous for my next half on 9.3. OMG that is so soon!

  15. Mandy says:

    Take care of yourself or I will have to limit your Avery time! :~P

    Ok. In all seriousness though – get some rest!

  16. Michelle says:

    I just saw we have our first halves on the same day! Very good luck to you. I hope you feel more prepared than i do! I hear you on the tired. I am barely able to keep my eyes open these days and struggling with it!! I wish you the best and cant wait to hear all about your race!

Leave a Reply

