DNS x2 and a tantrum

So, I have 2 races scheduled this weekend.  The Emerald City Quarter Marathon is Sunday and then the Run 4 the Health of it Four Miler on Monday.  I will not be racing in either.  Actually, I don’t know when I’ll be running again, but it looks like it will be a very long time.  I’m on bed rest until Tuesday and then limited activity until we don’t know when.  I’m guessing Oktoberfest Miler Vier is out at the end of the month too.

This is why you shouldn’t push yourself too hard.  I knew something was wrong and I chose to ignore it.

I’m trying really hard not to be upset, but the finisher’s medal for that quarter marathon was pretty awesome.  I mean, not that I’m in it for the hardware, but you’d want it too.  I also have no idea how to explain this to nosy people since we aren’t ready to talk about what is going on.

In other news, Kathrine Switzer, author of Marathon Woman and the first woman to run the Boston Marathon is speaking and signing her book tomorrow.  I can’t go.  I am incredibly disappointed about this.  People in town are already posting pictures with her and I can’t even go get a book and have it signed.

Yes, I am having a tantrum.  Do you know how friggin’ boring it is to spend a day in bed?  I’ve watched over a season of Teen Mom today.  My back aches, my muscles are wasting away and I can feel myself gaining weight.  I never thought I’d want to go to work so badly, but it’s hard to even get much work on the computer done right now.  I’m not sorry that I’m doing what my body needs and taking a rest, but it’s hard to focus on why this is the right thing to do when I’m such a mess.

At least I have this face for company?

My husband started a 2 week temp job yesterday (yay, money!), so he was at work all day, but at least he’ll be home to watch Angel (season 3) and Buffy (season 6) with me all weekend.  Cause I’ve run out of Teen Mom.

So thanks for sticking around.  Updates may be light as I run out of things to talk about (and viable brain cells).  I also still think the basement cat is trying to kill me.

He is ashamed that Kara figured out his secret. Or that we are watching the Buffy musical episode.

So tell me friends, what else do you guys hate besides flossing and cats?  Any good (cheap) books I should read while trapped here?  Movies I should watch (preferably on Netflix Instant)?  Anyone want to guest post about their infinitely more interesting weekend?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to DNS x2 and a tantrum

  1. aprilvak says:

    Oh, you poor thing. Bed rest IS boring. As for the nosies, my top three are ‘just not feeling well,’ ‘we’re not sure yet what’s wrong but I’ll let you know,’ and ‘none of your beeswax.’

    Boy howdy, I can fix you up with Netflix Instant though!! No cable for years over here. Try ‘TiMER’ and ‘The Man From Earth.’ Have you seen ‘Heroes?’ Really good show, but I’ll admit we petered out there toward the end. Still, there’s a solid 60 episodes of goodness.

  2. Kara says:

    Bed rest is the pits. I had a week of it once and I just about went bat shit crazy. My husband was so lucky he was away on travel. I literally went feral and ended up living on plain ramen and despair.

    My weekend is going to be pretty exciting. I’m leaving the kid with her grandparents for the first time and my husband and I are actually going to stay in a hotel. A Holiday Inn Express, but at least Pit Bull sings about it and they have cinnamon rolls.

    I’ll take lots of pictures of my husband’s reunion and my hoochy trophy wife outfit. Go ahead and get excited now.

  3. Kara says:

    Also, if you haven’t seen the Firefly series, that’s on Netflix instant watch. I recommend it!

  4. Sara says:

    OMG — I am so sorry! From someone who *barely* (and I mean that!!) survived NINE FRICKEN LONG WEEKS of strict — I’m talking almost hospital — bedrest when I was pregnant with my twins . . . I am so sorry! Is there anything I can do to help? I know we’ve only passed on the trails once (or maybe twice?), but I would be happy to bring you lunch or keep you company! Seriously, that was the only thing that kept me sane (or honestly, from having panic attacks) was to have company. TV – no matter how many movies or TV shows you get sucked into — gets old really fast. So does reading. Honeslty, company was the only thing that saved me. And I would be happy to bore you as much as you’d like if you need the company! I’m sorry about the races, too . . . that just plain sucks! Feel better soon!!

  5. Army Amy says:

    Bed rest sounds like the opposite of fun, so I’d be having a tantrum too if I was you. I hope that you find some good tv shows (May I suggest Battlestar Galactica) and that it goes by fast.*

  6. Tanya says:

    The angle of that last photo of your cat makes him look like a GIANT. Either that or you live in a teeny tiny house 🙂

  7. emily says:

    Hmm..when I have a migraine that sidelines me for a day or more, I get so insanely bored. Lying in a dark room for two days straight is a new kind of pain. I hope you find some fun things to fill your boredom. Do you like crossword puzzles or Sudoku or board games? I was thinking of maybe sending you a bed rest care package. What would you want in it if I did?!

    My weekend will be a PDF or six miles this morning (once my breakfast is digested), a baby shower (ugh), and then the rest of the weekend is up for grabs. If only you were in NC I’d plan a visit.

  8. marissa says:

    resting is best…hang in there 🙂

  9. Kim says:

    ((HUGS)) Sarah!! I am so sorry to hear this! I am sending you lots of P & PT.

    I watch Make it or Break it on Netflix streaming…I am in to season 2 now. Might be something to do.
    On a positive note, I know someone looking for a bib to walk the quarter Deb Vesco Michel on FB or Deb M on Daily Mile.

  10. Heather says:

    Sarah,
    I am so sorry about the bedrest. I will be praying for you.

    As for netflix I just discovered Hawaii 5 0 this summer and I am in love! Some serious eye candy there!

  11. Mandy says:

    If it’s any consolation – she ran out of books long before most of us got there. She’d probably mail you one, as she is me. I love you!!!!!! I’ll come visit if you want company! Of course, Avery may scream the entire time. I can bring books or DVDs too. You may be ready to kick me out pretty quick. BIG HUGS!

    And yes – confession time – I loved the Buffy musical. Not gonna lie.

  12. michelle says:

    Bummer… 😦
    I’m so sorry you have to be on bed rest. Freedocumentaries.org and http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/ were entertaining for me to kill time when I was recovering from surgery. You can learn about all sorts of weirdness there.

  13. Michelle says:

    Sorry to hear you are on bed rest. Hope you get better soon.

    I just read The Art of Racing in the Rain and thought it was cute. As for Netflix, I suggest watching Dexter because it is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

