Dead snail and know-it-all crackers

In the last 2 days I have had 24 spam comments.

That means I’ve hit the big time, right?  Right?

As per usual I am 8 years behind on your blogs, but I super pinky promise to catch up by Sunday (again).  Things have just been crazy, especially at work.  Also, I sleep and pee pretty much nonstop, so you know there’s also that.

Anyways, as my brilliant friend Mandy told me, every day you tell someone new.  I don’t mean to tell people about my pregnancy, but it slips out.  A lot.  My dad’s entire family knows at this point (admittedly I’ve gotten a lot closer with them in the last year).  All 6 of the parental units know.  My sister (and presumably her husband know).  My running friends know.  Some friends from undergrad know.

I think the moral here is I cannot be trusted with secrets.  I don’t really have a lot of them because I cannot keep my mouth shut.  If I’m specifically told not to repeat things then I can usually keep them to myself, but I struggle.  I will never ever make it as a super spy or member of the witness protection program.

In other news, I got an obvious “fortune” cookie (more like know-it-all cracker).

Wait a second, I'm poor!? Thanks for rubbing it in fortune cookie. You can suck my nonexistent left nut.

Between you and me, I’m struggling with being poor.  It’s not even so much the money as it is the uncertainty.  I don’t know if I’ll have to go back to work after this baby (I don’t want to), and even if I do, I don’t know that I’ll have a job to go back to.  And while we have been very luck that my husband can find temp work, that does not set us up with wads of cash and decent benefits.

Is it obvious that I have no idea what to do with this blog now that I’m not running for the next EIGHT months or so?  I’m too tired to go for a walk right now and every time I run, I bleed.  Which sucks.  Especially for my mental health.

This post is in loving memory of my snail Colonel Nick Fury. I found him liquified in the tank. That's not my tank for the record, it just sits on my desk at work. I moved the Colonel in there after my fish died and I broke the tank.

Anyone else totally unable to keep a secret?  If you have kids, how long did you manage to not tell people about your pregnancy?

Anyone else who can’t stop killing snails?  I’m done with tanks for a while because I suck at them.

What new hobby should I take up until I can run again?  I checked, underwater basket-weaving is full.  Perhaps if I try each of your suggestions I will find some entertaining blog post material.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Pregnancy, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Dead snail and know-it-all crackers

  1. Pahla says:

    Sorry about your dead snail. Our two guppies just died and I am feeling like a terrible awful fish-killer. 😦
    I called my mom and told her I was pregnant about two seconds after peeing on the stick. Don’t ever trust me with secrets!

  2. Army Amy says:

    I used to be a bad secret keeper, but as I’ve gotten older, my secret skills have improved. My problem is that my face sometimes betrays me. If someone asks me point blank about a secret, I might say ‘no’ but my face says ‘yes.’*

  3. Kara says:

    I don’t do well with secrets! I tried to keep Faith’s name a secret, mostly because I didn’t want to hear everyone’s opinion about it, but that was a fail.

    I think you shouldn’t worry about blog content. I come here for giggles, either about running, dogs or vagina related material. Blog on. 🙂

  4. Laurie says:

    I am terrible with secrets too – especially ones I am excited about!! I can’t say I blame you at all!

    I am with Kara – I like your posts – they amuse me and I think I get a laugh every time. Hobby wise? How about cross-stitching?? Now that sounds joyous!

  5. JenWa098 says:

    I had another blog…but when my interest changed I started a new blog. Sometimes I am sorry I deleted the other one, because blogs are work and now it’s gone! I say just keep blogging as you feel like it! Also, if you do decide to “bag it” just let your blog buddies know. I just disappeared from mine and I feel kinda crappy I did that to people I had kinda/sorta gotten to know, though I didn’t think about it at the time.

    The sleepiness gets better and then worse again later…but the good times are coming soon!

  6. TriGirl says:

    24 spam comments! Whoa…move over Lady Gaga! 😉 Well, i’m not pregnant but can’t run for a while either. It sucks doesn’t it? At least you get a baby at the end of it! Isn’t blogging a hobby in and of itself??

  7. emily says:

    Uhm…I never knew snails could liquefy. I learn so much from you.

    I’m a pretty good secret keeper, well, with keeping OTHER peoples’ secrets. Not with keeping my own. That’s just weird. Why am I like that?

    I think you should start teaching your dogs fun tricks and posting videos. I want to teach Pippi to bring me food. Teach your dogs that and then tell me how you did it. K? Thanks!

  8. I’m pretty terrible with secrets. I usually give people their christmas presents in November because I”m so excited about them, I can’t keep a secret. I’ve started shopping right before Christmas now.

  9. I’m good at secrets that matter (in my mind), if they’re other people’s secrets. My own secrets are basically just a trial and error. Some things I want to keep secret I do, others I don’t end up being able to keep to myself. Other things I keep to myself and then people are shocked when they find them out.

    Personally I’m miserable at planning hobbies. I just kind of accumulate them. Are you crafty at all? I could suggest some craft projects if that’s your thing.

  10. Jennifer says:

    My two favorite hobbies are pottery and baking bread — I like very calm, solitary, centering activities that allow my brain to stop bugging me while my hands are busy. Baking bread might not be great for weight loss, but may I recommend pottery?

  11. The hard part about this secret – is that it is a good one. And, it’s one that part of you WANTS to shout from the rooftops. 🙂

    Now you know my problem from earlier about blogs! For the record (not that you don’t already know this) It’s good for you to keep walking! I think walks with me and Avery should be your new hobby. Hehehe, Or we could start a band? I have a ren fair flute and a trombone. HA!

  12. April says:

    I’m thinking about getting back into knitting. I never progressed beyond potholders, but it seems we can never have too many of those in this house. One day, I really intend to finish cataloging and organizing the thousands of books in this house. I tell myself not to start anything else until I do that, but I don’t listen.

  13. Raquelita says:

    I know lots of bloggers who swear by pre-natal yoga and I think my sister-in-law did a water aerobics class while she was pregnant (no swimming involved).

    I have to admit that I do find it a little weird how quickly people seem to announce their pregnancies these days. My sister posted it on FB within a week of finding out.

  14. Prenatal yoga or aquatic zumba!

    Most people that I know have waited quite a long time to announce their pregnancies but I’m sure it’ll change over the next couple of years. I think this is only the first wave of people I went to college with getting pregnant.

  15. “more like know-it-all cracker.” HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I ❤ you! You crack me up!!!!!!

    You could read books and write reviews? You could read MY books and write reviews – I have so much to read! 😉 Just kidding, of course! Keep your blog like it is! It is still inspiring to know you are a real woman and have real-life issues and this is a new chapter in your running and non-running life! I, for one, will still follow! 🙂

  16. Pingback: A Giveaway from Someone Else « Where Do We Go From Here?

Leave a Reply

