A Little Slice of Awesome…in my mailbox!

I was not having a good morning.  I was pretty much sulkng in bed when the mail came and then, behold!

Rufus in his new manly collar

Who doesn't love dinosaurs!?

We match. I am quite pleased with this development. Because I am weird. I have to wear headbands when I run because of poor choices made involving bangs. I hate my bangs.

Delilah would not cooperate for pictures, but she looks great in her new owl collar.

My sweet mushroom headband. It makes me feel like I'm cool like Emily. Also, pregnancy is making my skin break out, so you might not want to enlarge this picture.

I am so excited!  I like things that are colorful and fun and their old nylon solid black and solid red collars were not doing it for me.  You all can check out Emily’s stuff at A Little Slice of Awesome, which is my favoritest Etsy shop.  Emily also has headbands, which I love for exercise.  They are similar to Sweaty Bands, Bic Bands, etc, but I think she makes hers a little bigger because they don’t snap off my head the way the other ones tend to.  I highly recommend the Halloween ribbon for your fall races.

Anyways, that’s pretty much all the excitement around here.  Work has been…work, but I don’t feel comfortable talking about it here.  I’m worried about the amount of stress and the constant emotional roller coaster I’ve been on.  It’s not good for the baby (or for me either).  I woke up from my nap in a blind panic that something was wrong with the baby and I feel like it’s just from my stress level being so high all the time.  I see the new doctor on Thursday, so hopefully that will be reassuring.

Oh, and I felt the need to sleep with a garbage can nearby last night.  That’s reassuring, right?

Moving on, Netflix has season 1 of Rock of Love on Instant.  I never actually saw the first half of the season, so I may have wasted a chunk of the day watching some of the early episodes.  My taste in TV is absolutely abysmal.  I also watched an episode of Teen Mom and I’m chomping at the bit to watch the new all stars season of Top Model.  How are you people still friends with me?

So, what is your favorite reality show?  And what’s your line in the sand (show you absolutely will not compromise yourself by watching)?

What’s a good relaxation thing?  I’m not allowed to get a massage or do pre-natal yoga until 12 weeks.  And I’m poor.  And I suck at meditating.

What was your long run this weekend?  I’m living vicariously through you guys right now.

Emily didn’t pay me, or even ask me, to review her collars and headbands.  I just really love her work and think she has the best customer service on the internet.  And now the puggles and I look boss.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Gear, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Little Slice of Awesome…in my mailbox!

  1. Kara says:

    If you’re waking up feeling really sick, try keeping some pretzels or crackers by your bed and have a few before you even try to sit up. It helps, I promise. 🙂 Also, by 14 weeks, you’ll start to feel a LOT better.

    I’m headed out for a morning of fun in the muddy woods with Alyssa tomorrow. 20 miles doesn’t seem so bad in the woods as it does on the road!

  2. aprilvak says:

    Those are all so cute! I used to watch Top Model, no shame in that. I was super excited to find RuPaul’s Drag Race on Netflix Instant last night! What I really miss is the Discovery Health channel tho. I had to watch most of those shows alone cause hubby’s squeamish.

    Here’s my relaxation technique. If possible, I lie down on my back, but sitting comfortably is okay too. I close my eyes, and starting at my toes, I imagine a massage. First one foot, then the other, then each lower leg, then each thigh, then up my body, then each hand and arm, then neck, then head. The important thing is quiet, with no distractions. It really helps me with migraines since I’m allergic to all the good stuff. If meditation is not for you this may not be either, but it only takes a few minutes.

  3. Army Amy says:

    I love the matching dog collar and head band! Fun! I also adore crappy tv. I will be watching me some ANTM later this week!*

  4. Elle says:

    So cute! My only reality tv is the Biggest Loser… can’t wait for Tuesday night!

  5. michelle says:

    Rock of Love! What a good time!

  6. Katy says:

    First of all. I LOVED Rock of Love. It’s the only dating/love finding show I’ve ever liked, but I loved it. Something about white trash stripper girls really entertains me. Haha. Two, yay for new headbands/collars! Woohoo. My little angel woke us up one night darting across the room choking, and somehow had gotten her collar stuck in her mouth like a horse bridle and was panicking. So no more collars for her. But since she is an indoor cat, it’s ok. It was really only there because her mommy wanted the decoration, haha.

  7. Those are so adorable! I think I have to check them out now.

    My favorite reality show is Top Chef: Just Desserts because I love pastry. I’ve secretly always wanted to be a pastry chef but I certainly do not have the artistic talent so I stick to home baking.

  8. mariss says:

    pretzels always helped me.

    long run? Ha, 4 miles is all I can push out these days…I gotta kick it up in the next few weeks 🙂

  9. If you want to do prenatal yoga later – I have a DVD I bought and never even took the plastic off the cover. LOL.

    LOVE YOU!

  10. Emily is the greatest person ever!

  11. Abby says:

    When I was in college, my friends and I got together every Monday night for Joe Millionaire. Perfect guilty pleasure and so much fun to publicly mock.

    (Though I have to say, Real World Seattle will always hold a special place in my heart)

  12. Kate says:

    I loved Rock of Love! I spend a shameful amount of time watching bad TV as well (though it’s nowhere near as bad as it used to be). Recently I’ve been catching up on Secret Life of the American Teenager. It’s ridiculously bad, but I can’t turn away.

  13. amandasvids says:

    There is nothing better than opening up your mailbox and finding a fun package instead of bills:-)
    I don’t watch much TV, but I did find myself being sucked into Teen Mom last week…why, oh why?!

  14. I love the headbands/collars – the dinosaurs are so cute!

    I love Hell’s Kitchen. So does Michael, but he wouldn’t admit it to anyone! I will never watch Big Brother. I don’t know why, I just won’t. I don’t watch too much TV anyway, but Hell’s Kitchen is a must – and Masterchef and Kitchen Nightmares – just maybe I have a thing for Chef Ramsey! 😉

  15. I totally didn’t long run at all this weekend. I got in a 5k and that was it. Better than nothing I guess!

  16. Sam says:

    how cute are the headbands and collars?! love them all.

    hmm, relaxation…number 1 for me is wine, which probably isn’t the best for you given your current condition. do you like baths? or sitting in a new coffee shop people watching and reading a good book? i’ll try to think of others…i fell asleep in my yoga class today (again), so obviously that’s high on my list too!

  17. Jill says:

    Headbands are awesome. Sadly, I have been slacking off…I mean resting ..so my last long run was a week ago. It’s a new day tomorrow…

  18. Christina says:

    Hang tough, mama! I’m sorry you’re dealing with so much stress right now.

    LOVE the headbands! I just dropped some bucks on Sweaty Bands, and after seeing your girl’s prices, I feel silly for paying so much. Thanks for sharing her site! I’m totally going to make a purchase.

    My long run this weekend was the Air Force Marathon, and it was pretty sweet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

